Experience building a sandbag house on our smallholding in Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Country

Afrique du Sud

Enregistré comme favori 118 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 34 jours

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Dutch-South African family with three kids working towards a self sustainable lifestyle. Two year ago we changed our lifestyle from city to farm life. My husband is active with community development and handymen work on our farm. I do homeschooling, take care of my kids (9,6,4), grow vegetables and take care of the other animals. We are Christians.

    We have goats, chicken and pigs, all free range. We also have a vegetable garden.

    We live on a 9,8 hectare land with a stream and forest down hill. We have a nice view down the valley.

    We are 25 min from a beautiful beach and half an hour from Port Elizabeth.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider avec des éco-projets

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Want to have a break from the busy life? Experience a lifestyle more in harmony with nature? We are working towards a self sustainable lifestyle. You can learn and experience about growing veggies , how to make yoghurt, butter and cheese. How to bake your own bread. Besides to use our natural resources as much as possible like trees and stones.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We can use help with:

    No prior experience needed:
    We are currently building a sandbag house.
    You can help with filling the bags with sand and making the ground level. You do need to be fysical fit. This is quite heavy work.

    No prior experience needed
    -growing vegetables,
    - cooking food for volunteers and our family.

    No experience needed, just general handyman skill and physical strength
    -making fencing from invading trees like black wattle,
    - fixing stables,
    - cutting down invading trees like black wattle.

  • Langues parlées

    Afrikaans: Courant
    English: Courant
    Dutch: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You can bring your own tent or sleep in a dormitory room which we use for camps
    There is a toilet available.
    We can cook together and share lunch and evening meals during the week. We eat lots of vegetables and have regular a vegetarian meal. You will take care of your own breakfast, weekends everybody takes care of themselves.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Eastern Cape has a warm summers and mild winters. There are stunning beaches, beautiful mountains and a relaxing atmosphere.

    We go regular to Port Elizabeth we could give you a lift or if you have license you can use our car.
    We live 15 min away from a beautiful beach with huge sand dunes.
    There are a number of hikes available.
    Addo elephant park is 40 min away.
    Surfing, fishing and swimming is done at different beaches.
    We have a pony available for horse riding.
    There is plenty of wood to make a fire and just enjoy the sound of nature.
    Explore The Hills And stream, do rock climbing,
    And just enjoy life😃.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 872936369338