Bring your skills and creativity to our beautiful old water mill in Central France

Country

France

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 551 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    97.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ---
    We are a British & German couple with two little ones, who decided to step out of City life and buy an old water mill in August 2020- perfect timing considering how the world has changed.

    We are well travelled and looking forward to meeting new interesting people who can enjoy our little paradise and leave some of their creativity, skills and passion ... their "footprint" on the mill by being here and contributing to its charm. Lina rescued a kitten from the river, so we now have a beautiful cat named by the kids as Mitten. We also have an outside cat (Molly) that inherited us when we bought the place.

    This huge Mill building replaced a centuries old flour mill, before being converted in the 1880s to produce high quality metalwork like medical instruments- a specialisation that has been famous in this area since Roman times. In addition to the main house, we also have a 4 bedroom guesthouse (see bedroom photos) with wooden beams & staircase where our guests can feel at home but also have some privacy. We just installed an external wood burning "Hobbit" sauna, and restored an old Swedish hot tub (needs some more attention)

    Set in 3 Hectares with a river, lots of rare birds including Kingfishers and many fruit & nut trees (plums, walnut, apples etc) and interesting plants (Hops, Oregano etc.) that we would like to uncover and understand.. . We also have Kayaks, a few bikes, fishing rods, a decent bow & arrow, VR goggles, Slackline, our exterior sauna / hot tub "spa area" etc for free time.

    The whole valley is also full of 300-400 million old fossils... the prehistoric sea base having been pushed up by the glacier that formed our valley. Next to the River also runs an old long boat canal between Champagne and Bourgogne.

    We have a napoleonic (?) fort on our land and have just spent a few weeks excavating it and learning about the past. Lots of nice finds with the metal detectors... There are neolithic walls and burial mounds also around our property which we have also started to map. At the top of the road is a long stretch of roman road crossing fields... . If you like history, you will be overwhelmed with the richness here. We have a good metal detector and it's hard not to make finds. We still hope to find a french speaking workawayer with a passion for research as there is a lot to discover in the archives and museums.

    Well trained dogs (and owners) are welcome - just bring your pooper scooper as we have little kids running about.

    IMPORTANT- we are a meat free environment. It is a simple positive contribution towards health, environment and animal ethics. Lina can share a lot of fascinating information about the advantages of plant based nutrition and cooks very well- but if you can't live without dairy products that's fine. Just no meat please.

    MAIN PROJECTS PLANNED OVER THE COMING MONTHS.


    Hydroponics Tunnel:
    We are in the final stages of installing our purpose designed 5m tall fully hydroponic greenhouse (tunnel) and our dream is to not only produce most of our own organic fruit & veggies using heirloom, non GM seeds, but also to be able to use the Mill as a base for learning about healthy eating and developing small hydroponic systems for balconies, cellars and gardens. The greenhouse plastic PE was unfortunately badly installed and needs redoing- which we are doing through June and then will set up the infrastructure. We also want to reroute a natural water source to the greenhouse. It is the start of this farming adventure and would welcome guests with some experience or interest.

    Part of this project is to knock down the old stables and turn into a Seedling nursery - we have a lots of glass / frames so if you want to flex some muscles and have basic DIY skills, you will be welcome.

    We also want to renovate the swimming area... the wooden deck etc.... and also develop a pontoon system that can be pulled in / out across the river.

    We want to install some new outside lights along the path to the sauna- so anyone with electrical experience would be well received.

    Every thing grows so quickly here so you can enjoy trying power tools and general landscaping... or chopping wood and helping with weeding etc etc.

    So something for everyone. We are not the typical workaway and we love to help people gather new experiences and expose them to country living. We offer new experiences... to try out things that you would never get the chance to in City life. Important though is to have guests that are independent and flexible and bring some energy with them.


    General Domestic Help.
    We spend as much quality time with our almost 4 year and 2 year old as we can but there is always something to do... if you are a e.g. a travelling single Mum or just okay to help with some household chores, this would be a huge help. We just need plenty of advance planning to make sure the group is right for your visit.

    The work needs to get done, but it should be fun and something that interests you. We are very flexible and want our guests to have a great experience. We are looking for people who are uncomplicated and do not bring stress with them. The guest house is really nice and you will feel respected- we just ask for the same back.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Guests benefit from seeing how country living is... the freedom, sense of nature and quality, rather than the consumerism and rush of city life. You can learn about the different plants, hydroponics, discover lots of new skills and explore prehistory which sits all around us.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The land has many special corners that we want to develop. We listed some of the tasks above- the skills or experience can be summarised below:

    General building / DIY
    Landscaping & Hydroponic farming
    Design, architecture
    Archeology (we are in the middle of neolithic settlements)
    Domestic support (childcare, cooking & cleaning)
    Physiotherapy/ massage as we both struggle due to work/small kids with tension and neck pain

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Russe: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We offer guests to stay in a separate 4 room guesthouse that is attached to the main building, where you have all you need. Two bathrooms, one of them with bath, both with showers and toilets, and four restored bedrooms in total (see photos).. The guesthouse has a communal area upstairs with a nice view on the garden and communal book / TV area. Also a fully equipped kitchen and eating area. We treat our guests with a lot of respect and flexibility- but just ask that they do the same back by keeping the guesthouse tidy and meat free.
    Normally the guests cook themselves from a well stocked kitchen... but we try and eat together a few times a weeks (as the kids schedules allow).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your free time you can enjoy your time the way you would like to. On our land there is plenty to do for anyone who loves nature, as we do :) Hiking, cycling, walking, running, inline skating (all along the famous path along the canal from Bourgogne to Champagne) , Kayak/canoe on the river, Swimming, join Yoga and stretching with Lina, Forest walks, Relaxing, Meditation, Rare bird watching, Metal Detecting, Archery, Sauna & Hot tub, Virtual Reality to only name a few options :)

    We live in the middle of nature, between Langres and Chaumont, two very nice old towns. Especially Langres is famous for its medieval flair and the history and philosophy of Diderot.
    Chaumont is supported by young vibes and influence such as street art and sports and quite modern. Both of the towns have weekly markets with local products. The region here is very natural and also has some lakes within 20 minutes drive.

    Here, you really can forget Covid. We do.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a fairly good connection- 30Mbit/s and coverage across most areas.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have 2 entrances to the main property but the main drive is very narrow. A normal panel van is fine, but more than that, you will be better to take the bumpy but much wider track. 7m is no problem... above that you might want to look on Google Maps first.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    well behaved pets (and owners).

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 productive hours a day, 5 days a week- flexible.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)
















N° de référence hôte : 693128995791