Help me renovate my 19th century farmhouse in Loire River Valley, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 53 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    279

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I am an American born woman of French ancestry, as both of my parents were born in France, so I speak French fairly well. I moved to the Loire River Valley in September of 2017 from Santa Barbara, California, and have just purchased an old manor house on 4 acres (2 hectares) with a poplar grove and several outbuildings.

    I am in the process of restoring the house, and all of the systems (heating, plumbing, electricals) need to be installed or renovated. These restorations are underway. I currently live in the house with my Maine Coon kitty Milo. (Yes I brought him with me from the States) I am a Landscape Architect by trade and am really looking forward to getting started on the gardens!

    I am 64 years old and have come to the Loire to retire (ha!) in what is in my view one of the most beautiful areas of France. I am the author and Executive Chef of 'The Gourmet Girls Go Camping' cookbook along with my daughter Lindsey and business partner Gail. I am an awesome cook if I do say so myself. I look forward to meeting you and enjoying many days of working side by side and enjoying wonderful meals together here in the French countryside.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Since I am fluent in French, I will be able to teach my travellers basic conversational French, or English if that is not their native language. I will be offering cooking classes once my house is completed, and would love to teach my helpers who may be interested how to cook. The Loire River Valley is the home to many beautiful chateaux that are within close proximity to my house, and are full of unique, historical value. The nearby cities of Tours and Angers offer theater, concerts and many other activities. I would be more than happy to take my travellers to visit these places.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I need help with some construction during the renovation of my house and outbuildings, as well as the clearing of land and the creation of my organic vegetable garden. I also want to build a hen house and create an outdoor, fenced area for the girls. My greatest need right now is for building and electrical skills.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    My house has 3 bedrooms and a huge attic with a high ceiling. I have a lovely huge room for my workaway guests equipped with a large, single bed, nightstand, and large armoire for your possessions. We would be sharing a bathroom until I can renovate the master bathroom.
    I will provide three meals a day, and did I mention that I am a great cook?

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On weekends I will be more than happy to drive helpers to visit nearby towns and chateaux, museums etc. If I am not available for some reason I will provide bus schedules or attempt to arrange alternate transportation. Your weekends are your time, and this will be respected. I do expect that my personal space is respected in turn.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 681497156419