Come join us on our way to become self sufficient with food in Dokka, Norway

Country

Norvège

Enregistré comme favori 124 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.09.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family of three people that aims to be self-sufficient with food. Our farm is located near Dokka in Innlandet. On the farm lives Marte (31), Ole (31) and our little baby Vilje, who will turn one year in September 2022. We also have a dog: Mister, a little Miniature Pinscher-mix and Sansa, a farmcat, that usually lives outside in the summer.

    We have a big house, where your will live with us. We have two large bedrooms on the first floor, here you will sleep and be able to draw yourself back if you need to. Our family loves to cook and make meals from scratch every day, and we would very much like you to inspire us with your best recipes!

    We seek to live in an environmental friendly way and try to use locally sourced resources, preferably from our own farm. The farm is 3 ha (7,4 acres), with a large vegetable garden, a greenhouse and a lot of pastures, that are at the moment not in use, but we hope that they will be this summer. Our goal for this season is to get 4-6 sheep and maybe some pigs. So there will be some with getting up new fences.

    We value the use of animals on the farm. For us, they are an important part of our own farm-ecosystem. The sheep will graze and improve the soil, while the pigs will till the soil as well as eat the vegetables scraps that our garden produce.

    In our greenhouse you will find: tomatoes, sweet and hot peppers, eggplant, beans, basil, cucumbers and sweet potato. Our garden consist of: broccoli, cauliflower, kale, cabbage, carrot, parsley, parsnip, peas, beans, rutabaga, Asian greens, turnips, radish, lettuce, pickling cucumbers, soy beans,

    The last two years we have tried to be 100 % self sufficient with vegetables and have done so ¾ of the year. Our goal is to manage all winter season, from august 2022.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Hanssvea aims to be ecological sustainable, so that people in 1000 years can do agriculture the same was as we do today. By mimicking nature, we can enhance biodiverty in the area and at the same time get much higher yields than conventional farming do. You will learn how to grow a lot of organic vegetables in a cold climate and how to process these vegetables into delicious meals. You will also learn general farming tasks like building fences, greenhouse and other building tasks.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would love to include your in our daily work here at the farm. That will include feeding the animals, walking the dog, looking after the baby, gardening, cleaning the house, painting the house and making food.

    We aim to work as a team, because we know that everything just functions better when everybody contributes. So the work will vary trough the week and the year. Nevertheless, you will have lots of free time to do whatever you feel like doing - going for a hike, swim in the lake or take the bikes to Dokka town.

    April - There is still snow outside usually in April, so most of the gardening tasks will have to wait a little longer. But this month we will redesign our greenhouse on the inside. We will measure new beds and also start sowing in the greenhouse. We are also going to clean up in the barn, so it will be ready for our sheep!

    May - This month is gardening season. We are sowing and transplanting almost all of our crops. The snow usually disappear in the end of April, so there is a lot of stuff to be done in May! We will put compost into the greenhouse and the beds. We will also start with fencing for the sheep.

    June - There is a lot of gardening tasks this month, we are still transplanting warmth loving vegetables like squashes, zucchinis and cucumbers. This month we may start painting our house

    July - Many of the same tasks as in June, but the weather is usually warmer, so there is a nice time for taking swims in the lake. The harvest also starts this month.

    August - Harvest and preserving month. We are starting to ferment, making jams, drying and preparing food for the winter.

    September - Many of the same tasks as in i August.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian bokmål: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be living with us in the main house. Depending on how many people there will be here, you will either have your own room or share with one other.

    We eat both fish and meat, and are not able to host vegans, but vegetarians are fine :) The cupboards and fridge consist mainly of vegetables, grains, nuts, meat and fish – no ultraprocessed food comes into this house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There will be some time off everyday. We will be working together in the morning from and after lunch you will have spare time to do as you like or to continue with own projects. There are a lot of hiking opportunities nearby and it is an hour to beautiful Valdres and a little more than an hour from Huldreheimen. In about 1,5 – 2 hours you will be in Jotunheimen and there is opportunity to go there if you like.

    We have two bikes that you can borrow, so that you can go for a ride to Dokka center, or up on the hill for a great view!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 676994118266