Appel aux workawayers jardiniers et bricoleurs : rejoignez-nous dans notre ferme durable près de la magnifique forêt indigène à Knysna, Afrique du Sud

Country

Afrique du Sud

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 339 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hay,

    Thanks for checking me put,

    I live on a farm and always need help with various projects.



    Secondly
    There is always a need for maintenance and carpentry.

    Môre general info about the space below..

    I have set u 6 spaces -3 Teepees, 2 Geodomes, and One sandbag house approximately 20 minutes from town (8km on a decent dirt road).

    After an 8 month break from volunteerism, I'm ready to upgrade spaces in a collaborative way with the beautiful souls that travel through the Workaway space.
    A large part of the farms evolution has been through and thanks to work aways.
    We are 4 years into the Journey to becoming a full eco training center and are looking for fresh input.


    Our immediate needs are for a person comfortable with the basics of electrickiry to help birth a brand new Solar Cooker working with US-based partners. Any skill level welcome



    A recent trip to J-bay has completely inspired me that painting the otherwise drab (whitewashed) long drops could be a complete game-changer for Airbnb client's nature experience.


    I stay alone except for 1 Malawian that does most of the heavy lifting and general farm work.
    I have 2 children (Quinn almost 5) and Laya 9 that visit every second weekend.
    Life is beautiful and buzzy

    In addition, there is amazing food growing in the garden and it would be great to get a smoothie a day out of the garden and share a beautiful dinner together each evening.

    I'm currently a flexitarian but happy to be vegan/veggie/omnivore - falling in line with the individual person's needs are.

    There is lots of alone time as I work full time on my Solar Cooking company during the day.
    Evenings are relatively free.

    Other tingz to note

    You will be located right next to the largest chunk of indigenous Forest anywhere in South Africa with an hour walk to a beautiful waterfall and other abundant Forest walks.
    You will have ample time to explore and enjoy what the location has to offer. People come here from all over the world to experience this raw nature - I just wish to make it more beautiful.

    There is great wifi on offer - you will most likely stay in a Teepee unless fully booked.

    I picked up some breathing challenges from some poor choices in my teenage days - so any knowledge on health/breathing exercises would be a huge bonus. Putting a big priority on Health in 20 22.

    Am also looking to re-create and decorate each space afresh - a spruce up and space clearing exercise.
    There is also an opportunity to get involved on the solar side - either with admin or heading up charity research.

    Basically, I'm looking for Self sufficient Eco Ninjas to come and play a part and join the growing international web of consciousness that comes with sustainable or natural living.

    There is also a new orchard and a large permaculture garden under development.
    Will be opening up spaces to longer-term rentals.
    I'm calling it "sustainability residencies" where one can practice in a real-life situation what living with the elements is actually like.
    Ideally, we would like to host workshops every 6 weeks on these topics.

    This is a snapshot of activities and needs.
    Please reach out to me if any of this sounds like what you are looking for.
    Strong work Ethic and self-motivation is a must.

    Thanks,

    Crosby


    Below is snippets from an older call out

    If you have webbing and photo editing skills that would also be super amazing

    Skills in permaculture, solar energy, plumbing - eco-building. And/or experience/qualifications with sustainable dev
    If you feel you have skills to share - we can also look at doing workshops at our venue to share with Garden Route locals

    Additionally, I have an upcoming project called the solar caravan which will require a multidisciplinary eco team to identify and assist with resolving some of the most pressing issues in South Africa (and globally) at this moment.
    Like an eco swat team.

    Please message me for more details...
    this kind of collaboration can always be done remotely at the moment.

    We are also especially interested in filmmakers and film editors
    Day to day help with life at the farm can include:
    Help with setting up Infrastructure (building, gardening, venue improvement, etc) and prettifying spaces
    Checking Guests in - showing them where/how it all functions
    Ensuring spaces are clean and ready to receive guests
    Gardening Projects
    Multi miscellaneous Farm Projects - building, installing chimneys for Firebaths maintenance etc

    A Little Background on me and the current situation:

    I moved down from Joburg 5 years ago.
    I have traveled 43 Countries and shared many magical moments helping/being helped along the way and believe in paying it forward, gifting economy, and all things along the line of a new world system - based on people and planet before profit.
    Happiness and keeping it light is important to me.

    I am done with living in cities and can only imagine visiting them for the Holidays.
    I have 2 Children (Quinn 3 and Laya 7) who I adore.
    They live close by with their mom and visit every second weekend.

    Also, there are 2 dogs who Love love.
    We have a large Veggie patch that always needs weeding/planting/seed saving activities etc.

    I live with Captain Joseph from Malawi who started full time in Dec 2018 and is an amazing man with an awesome work ethic. I run a solar company and can always use help with running the green dragon. Business admin and Systems Ninjas can apply, please.

    My - Long Term Vision for the farm is to turn it into an Eco training center, yoga retreat space, permaculture, upcycling, etc, etc...

    Essentially all aspects of sustainable living
    I Would Love to do more Yoga but need encouragement...:)

    Our place is exquisitely beautiful and situated with easy access to Forests, waterfalls, and 40 minutes from the beach.
    25 minutes from Knysna town.

    If you are interested in learning/ teaching or partaking in a journey towards sustainability.
    Please reach out and let's see what skills/knowledge/time we might share together

    We have high-speed WIFI and go into Knysna Town 2-3 times per week so we can arrange collections/drop-offs etc

    Thanks and Safe and Happy travels,

    Crosby

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am sure we will share lots of interesting conversations.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Could Also use a Good carpenter or Garden Ninja.....

    Looking for an artistic fairy to work on this project for at least 3 weeks - 4-6 hours per day would be amazing
    I'm putting a call out for an artistic person to come and paint murals on 5 Wooden Long drop toilets (sit inside) boxes to make them fabulous...!! (Still one left)

    At the moment the Garden is our Big Focus.
    We are just starting out with 4 Hectares of virgin land, we have an earth ship to complete, non-indigenous trees that need clearing - the list goes on.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Afrikaans: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Teepees, Geodomes, sandbag house and Tents.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Its Paradise next to an indigenous forest teeming with wildlife, a walker and nature lovers paradise

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Hi I run two businesses from here and we have full digital connection.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.4)










N° de référence hôte : 674913892872