Organic farm surrounded by olive groves and lavender fields near Florence, Italy

Country

Italie

Enregistré comme favori 544 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    03.12.2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *****PLEASE NOTE: unless stated that there are any beds available, we are only welcoming people with their own van/tent. I have beds available and once they are all full people can still come in their own tent/van.

    NO AVAILABILITY UNTIL MARCH 2023


    IMPORTANT: we are inundated with requests and will only be responding to those who have clearly read our whole profile and are specifying the time period *****



    After six years in London, I decided to move back to Florence, Italy, where I was born and take care of some abandoned fields that belonged to my family. We have olive groves, which make an amazing extra virgin olive oil, lavender fields and bees as well as a vegetable garden. The produce is mostly for self-sufficiency purposes, but we'll also be using it to host dinners + a series of meals organised with local producers and chefs to promote organic, sustainable and healthy food.
    Our entire production is organic, following sustainable and low intervention agricultural practices - I am very lucky because as the fields were left unattended for a long time, the land is completely wild and the soil is incredibly active and forgiving. We practice yoga on our wooden platform in the fields - and from time to time we host yoga retreats/days. In Spring/summer we usually put on a variety of events (dinners, picnics, aperitivi, concerts, etc) where people can come and experience the farm.

    We aim to promote Tuscan agriculture and in general, a sustainable approach to agriculture as well as to our everyday life. We make organic and sustainable products - extra virgin olive oil, lavender beer, lavender essential oil and lavender honey - with a plan to expand our offering in the near future; dinners, tastings and workshops where people are able to meet the producers/learn more about sustainability/learn more about food/wine and how it’s made.

    I have a lot of ideas and projects for the future, this is why I always emphasise that I want to convey “oneness” or a sort of coming together of many things - because I want it to be a place of exchange, where people are encouraged to bring their own ideas and to leave their mark. What’s beautiful about our place is that once you’re here, you feel like you’re in the open countryside, but you’re only a 10 minute drive from the city centre.

    Collaboration, attention and care for the process, the notion that everything is interconnected and so are we - as humans, as animals - to the planet, to other animals.

    #freepalestine
    #blm
    #btlm

    if any of these ^ is a problem, please don't come :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Here you can learn about Italian , and more specifically, Tuscan culture, our food, and our lifestyle. You can discover all the endemic plants and herbs and you'll be able to relax surrounded by olive groves, go for walks on the land or in the surrounding areas. On weekends, if I have time we can go for short trips around Tuscany, discovering the Chianti wine region, the incredible Val D'orcia, natural hot springs and when it's nice weather go to the seaside! I am an avid sourdough baker and I LOVE cooking, so do expect to be eating a lot of my creations

    Mostly, as I have written before, if any of this sounds a bit like your dream too, or something that you have thought about before, you'll be able to really leave a mark. I listed the help I know I will need, but nothing stops me / us from coming up with new ideas. If you have some knowledge and skills that you think could be helpful in a setting like ours, please feel free to share! I am always open to new perspectives, new projects, new ideas

  • Aide

    Aide

    In general, I am looking for people that can
    - build things /DIY/ carpentry
    - tend to the vegetable garden
    - help during our events
    + any other odd gardening /that needs doing around the fields

    In March we will be dedicating most of our time to preparing the new vegetable garden
    In May/June it's all about weeding, maintenance, events
    In June/July it's all about lavender picking + events
    in September it's mostly preparing for the olive harvest, maintenance and gardening jobs as well as events

    extra/bonus =late October / November we have some insanely busy / crazy / stressful (but in a good way) weeks as it's olive harvest season! Picking olives, loading the boxes in the car, driving to where we press them and then bringing them back to ours. It's hard work but it's a really fun Italian tradition and I promise you, that first drop of extra virgin olive oil on our homemade bread is going to make it all worth it and some. You can come with us to the "Frantoio" and see how olive oil is made, chat with the people who run it, meet all the other producers, it's a truly fascinating experience!

    I need people who are able to work independently without being assisted in every step, ideally someone who has already been on a few exchanges and knows what they are doing, and can take initiative. I expect people to work hard and get dirty, that is the reality of working the land. I trust volunteers to get tasks done without someone checking on them. Even if you have never been in such an environment before, all I need from you is enthusiasm and eagerness to learn, no fear of getting your clothes dirty (you might want to bring some work clothes if you don't wanna ruin your usual clothes).

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will either stay in our campervan or you can bring your own tent/van. This will depend a lot on when you are coming / what's happening, so do get in touch and I can give you more concrete info.

    All meals will be provided, cooked by me. We'll be sharing meals and using this time as an opportunity to come together and talk about the to-do's for the days, get to know each other better, share impressions, etc, etc. (Please note - if you decide to go and explore places you'll have to arrange your own meals as I don't have the capacity to prepare packed lunches etc). I don't typically eat breakfast and usually get up early and get to work, so if you're a breakfast person you will have to think about providing your own breakfast food. (there is a cafe a 1 min walk from the house)

    We are plant based but not vegan nor vegetarian - we eat meat usually once every two weeks, bought from local producers we know and trust. However, most of our meals are vegetarian, usually vegan, so we welcome vegans and vegetarians and if you're staying with us, we will adjust our recipes so that you can eat everything. don't do dairy except for some really good artisanal cheese here and there. We avoid all processed food and soda, etc. We only drink tap water (and wine;) and beer;). We are unable to accomodate people with allergies / special diets due to the risk of cross-contamination etc. We are a small reality so all meals are cooked together in the same space; for similar reasons, we are unable to accomodate picky eaters.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It feels perhaps redundant to add this, but our home is open to all those who are actively engaged in the unlearning of the many harmful dynamics that pervade our society. Discrimination, ego-driven people, hate or violence of any sort will not be tolerated.

    There is a bus stop right in front of our gate that takes you straight into the centre of Florence in about 15 mins, ticket is 1.50 euro. There you can visit many museums or just stroll around the city, it truly is an incredible place. I can give you all sorts of recommendations for bars, restaurants, etc. If you are not coming with a car, you can also take buses and trains to other nearby cities and towns, or we can organise trips and go all together in my car!

    We try to reduce our waste as much as possible (and fight against agromafia) by avoiding supermarkets and relying primarily on what we can grow and what local producers around us offer. You will be eating food that's grown where you are, in Florence, sometimes in other parts of Tuscany, always in Italy.

    Before getting in touch, please make sure you have read all of the above and please please please make sure to clearly include in your message what your skills are, your past experiences and anything else that might be relevant. As previously stated, we are inundated with messages and only reply to those providing the necessary info.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You can set up in a field. Message me and let me know about your vehicle and let's see what we can do

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours / day

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 669278972756