Conversion d'une grange au pied des Pyrénées, Chalabre, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 3 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.09.2021

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired English engineer who has owned property in France for 5 years and I have bought a small stone barn to convert. The barn is near the village of Puivert which is in the foothills of the Pyrenees about an hour south of Carcassone. Puivert is a lively village with a good bar, restaurants and a swimming lake. I’m staying 5 miles away with my partner in Chalabre which is a larger village with bars, restaurants, a small supermarket and a wonderful bakery.

    We have a spare double bedroom available for a workaway which could be a couple. I am looking for someone to help with simple building work, mixing cement etc, no experience necessary. Due to my age we will be working at a gentle pace and I am happy to be flexible so a workaway can have time to explore the area.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is an opportunity to engage in French village life and interact with French and other nationalities. By staying in one village and working in another there are plenty of opportunities to mix with locals and expats. Night markets are a feature of summer life in this part of France, you buy food and eat at communal tables although this is somewhat restricted by covid rules. A workaway will learn basic building skills and if English is a second language they can practice English and French.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am an engineer and have extensive building experience and skills which I am happy to share. I am looking for help with building work, cement mixing, help with roofing but I will not expect a workaway to be on the roof. Building stud walls and fixing plasterboard, painting. Laying out garden beds and planting. I really just need a extra pair of hands and in return I will teach them what I know.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Double bedroom with shared bathroom in village house or you can stay in the barn if you prefer. WiFi available but on 4G so not unlimited. Kitchen and open plan living room. We are happy to be flexible over food, we can cook or supply food for a workaway to cook if that’s is preferred.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are buses and trains so visiting Toulouse and Carcassone on day trips is possible and we also like to make trips to the beach and Spain and a workaway could join us. We can also provide a bike for local transport. We will offer visits to other local towns to buy building materials and food, we also visit local markets regularly

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Medium vans can park on site, larger vans at municipal aire nearby

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibility to have a dog if it gets along with other dogs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 665687196934