Help and have fun on a small wine grape farm and winery in the beautiful countryside near Todi, in Umbria, Italy



Enregistré comme favori 1672 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    We are an American/Italian couple living in an old tower house that we are restoring in the beautiful countryside near Todi, in Umbria. We are a small organic winery and bottle 7,000 to 8,000 bottles of high quality wine each year. We also have olives and a big orto (vegetable garden) and have two big dogs and three cats. Our son is studying at the university and will join us occasionally. We are looking for those with a real interest in wine and wine making. The help required is in the vineyard the garden and the winery. This is a great opportunity for someone to learn and experience what it takes to make wine. We work hard but try to have fun in the process.
    We are looking for help in Feb, March and April with work in the vineyard. May and June will be more vineyard work and some winery work. Sept, October is harvest and we will need help picking grapes and making wine.
    We view this as an opportunity for individuals who are beginning a career in wine or who may have some experience or interest and would like to expand their knowledge. The work is sometimes physical and maybe tiring for some but extremely rewarding if you can be open and leave your ego at the door. When there is no work in the vineyard or winery you will be working in the garden, mending fences etc.
    For further details do not hesitate to ask.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be living in the house with us, eating what we cook so if you are interested in traditional, simple, earthy farmers food you might like to experience it on a daily basis.
    You would be involved in our life, meet our friends, occasionally come with us and see places around.
    You can have your privacy if you prefer and stick to your separate apartment after work to be totally on yourself.
    We speak english at home so you will not have to deal with only italian speaking hosts but can definitely practice your Italian with Claudia and her friends if this is the purpose of your visit.
    Most of all you will be able to learn about grape growing and wine making in a completely organic and natural way from people who take it extremely passionately and seriously.

  • Aide


    We are looking for someone with a real interest in wine grapes and working on a small farm and should expect to work hard and have fun. Right now your endurance will be tested working in the field, hoeing the weeds in between young grape vines and green pruning, there will be some bottling too....Are you up to the challenge?

    Of course there are always miscellaneous projects throughout the year; work in the vineyard and winery, weed pulling, tending a vegetable garden, pruning, chopping and hauling firewood, house work and whatever else might come up. We will be mostly planting grapevines in March and pruning the orchard, take care of our olive trees and get the garden ready for spring. We expect our helpers to help about 5 hours per day generally in the morning, but depending on season it might be necessary to help all day (harvest for example) and will have a whole free day in exchange. Same thing if you want to take time off to travel around.
    We have three nice and friendly dogs but they are BIG and have a lot of love and excitement to share so if you feel that you are not comfortable around dogs maybe this is not the best choice for you.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have a small independent apartment that sleeps max. three with its own bathroom that can be occasionally shared with other helpers. We will have meals together and if you like to learn Italian cuisine or share your favorite recipes you are welcome to help in the kitchen. There is internet access via WIFI if you have a laptop or other WIFI device.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 1 1/2 hours from Rome and Florence, as well as a short trip to Perugia, Assisi, Gubbio, Spoleto and a lot of other beautiful places in Umbria. We try to show our helpers as much as we can, for other trips we can take you to the local train station (Todi Ponte Rio) we also have bikes that you can borrow. We are located in the Tiber Natural Park and there are many beautiful trails that you can walk in beautiful natural and panoramic setting. There often are local events (mostly food related with tastings of local yummy stuff) in many of the surrounding villages tough everything is done in a smaller, quieter pleasant style.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week flexible.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 662143441461