Help on family homestead and discover unique culture in Bruvoll, Norway

Country

Norvège

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 28 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our midfifties living at a homestead since two years ago. The place consist mainly of log buildings from 1850'ies apart from two, semi-new log buildings (under construction). We share our household with four cats and hopefully there will be time to refurbish the former barn within the next couple of years so we can add a few hens and maybe a few goats or sheeps to our household.

    The entire building mass is in need of refurbishment, as well as the reconstruction and extension of a garden / vegetable garden (organic). We are a private homestead producing for our own consumption only, and we aim to be as selfsufficient as possible. Maybe even go off-grid in the future (work in progress, sort of).

    A litle more about us:

    Haakan (57): originally from Sweden, but have stayed in Norway since the late 1980's. His working career so far: has a degree in forestry, worked as a carpenter for several years, familliar with industriall work (i.e. welding / plumbing / steel-work / masonry), offshore experience as a diver (oil industry) and more. Haakan is a driven, handy and active man (turbo), and aim to see solutions instead of problems. He isn't too good at foreign languages, quote: "very good at offshore english" (mix of Swedish/Norwegian/English). Haakan is very social and outgoing.

    Me (Stina, 54): My working career (roughly summarized): mainly in the area of office and trade as secretary / caseworker / food safety coordinator. I have also been a housewife / staying at home mum for several years (I've got three adult children – one of them with special needs). Finally I worked part-time as office manager for a forwarding company before leaving ordinary work-life in 2016 due to health issues. Every now and then I have a "slow day" tending to paper work, baking, knitting / crochetering, reading and resting. I did, once upon a time, speak fluent English. Unfortunately I haven't been practicing for a while, so I'm looking forward to refresh my language skills and broaden my vocabulary. I'm a bit introvert and do need some time on my own during the day, but still social and outgoing when the company is right.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our lifestyle will be suitable for those who are interessted in self-sufficiency in various forms. In the evenings there will occationally be time to sit around the camp-fire, exchanging stories, learn more about each others cultures and way of life, or just contemplation for that matter.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Helping out with daily chores in addition to various ongoing projects. That'll say: housekeeping like making meals and cleaning, tending to the vegetable garden (weeding), regular gardening (lawn mowing), soil improvment / landscaping, chopping / packing wood, some minor forestry work, outdoor / indoor painting, foraging / harvesting, assist in renovating log buildings, renovation of furnitures, tidying and organizing etc. Most of this is manual work. A lot of projects and even more ideas!

    Projects for 2022/2023: completion of a log lean-in (the construction itself is done, just missing roof-tiles / tarring / some interiour work), completion of an oute-house (needs some stone-work in the foundation / tarring / cleaning / some interiour work), completion of a tiny log smokehouse for meat / fish (some masonry work left, roofing and tarring remains), rebuilding a log house / storage cage ( Haakan has a timber load carrier to do the heavy lifting). All these buildings are placed on a new yard we like to call "Haakan-tunet". Apart from that: the kitchen and living-room in the main building will be refurbished (indoor painting) during the autumn/winter.

    We have our own transportable / mobile band saw-mill and some acres of wood-land, so we do make most of the wooden construction materials by ourselves. Haakan has started the project of constructing a large shed to house the saw mill, but the completion of the shed is not scheduled until 2023. Please note that due to the risks working in heights (like roofing) and operating heavy machinery (i.e. the saw mill or the load carrier), workawayers will not be taking part in work that might compromise their personal safety.

    The original yard consists of four small log buildings. Two of the buildings were re-located in 2022 in order to preserve them, but the various cabins are not scheduled to be fully renovated until 2023 / 2024.

    Apart from buildings: the garden has been extended with a few square meters to make place for redcurrants, blackcurrants and gooseberries in 2022. The vegetable garden (organic) is also under extension, preparing the ground for a larger and more diverse crop for and in the future. Most of this is manual work,.

    So wether you want to take part in completion of buildings, or do gardening, or take on kitchen-duties like making dinner / bake a cake, or go foraging wild strawberries, raspberries cranberries, blueberries, chanterelles, herbs etc from the forrest (seasonal, of course), or groom the cats (they are all rescues from a shelter), or help me make wine or mead, or clean windows, or sew curtains, or... I could go on with the "or"s, but the point being: all contribution is welcome.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian bokmål: Courant
    Swedish: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I (Stina) would love to refresh my language skills in English, and maybe take up on French, German and Spanish if I get the opportunity later on. I'm happy to share my native tounge as well, and should be able to teach the basics of spoken Norwegian. Haakan understands English quite well and usually don't have a problem making himself understood. He is able to teach basics of spoken Swedish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A small, one-roomed log cabin from mid 1850's. No power/ electricity / wi-fi / running water, but a small woodstove that keeps the cabin heated. Suitable for 1 - 2 people.

    A small, one-roomed log cabin from mid 1850's (the former pig-house) will be fully restored / refurbished during spring 2023.. Suitable for 1 person.

    We welcome tenters. If you don't have a tent, we can supply a decent sized tent for one person. Or "glamping" in a more spaceous tent suitable for two people (picture will be posted later). Bedding will be provided.

    Workawayers are of course welcome to use the bathroom, kitchen and livingroom in the main-house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The farm is situated at Bruvoll (Nord-Odal) 54 kilometers from Gardermoen International Airport. The public transport opportunities are rather scarce, so I will of course provide transport to and from the nearest bus stop / train station / airport if and when needed.

    There are excellent opportunities for hiking.

    It would be nice if you would like to join me for an evening during the week-end, at a museum like i.e. "Eidsvollbygningen" or another museum of your liking (within reason regarding distance / travelling time).

    An important detail: we are not vaccinated (Covid 19) for medical reasons, and don't mind wether you are vaccinated or not (it will not be an issue of discussion either way).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have decent wi-fi connection in the main house, but the signals do unfortunately not reach our guest cabins.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accomodate any kind of motorhome.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes. However, due to the closeness to the forest and wildlife (in addition to visiting sheep / catle during July and August), dogs must be kept in a leach when outside.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 638176867984