Help at our dog shelter in central Macedonia, Greece

Country

Grèce

Enregistré comme favori 155 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***PLEASE TAKE A LOOK AT OUR CALENDAR BEFORE TEXTING***


    We are a small animal welfare organization in central Macedonia, located one hour away from Thessaloniki. Our region is close to Mount Olymp where you can spend your free time.

    We are three women who founded this organization eight years ago. By now we are 15 (still mostly women). Most of us live in Austria or Germany but we come to Greece at least once a month. We do have four helpers on site, who live there and with whom you would spend most of the time. The main helping hand and who holds everything in place is a Greek power woman with whom you can learn to talk Greek and who wants to improve her English skills.

    Our goal is to get all the dogs from the streets into loving families. As some dogs are used to life on the streets, strong enough and get fed by locals we try to castrate them. For that reason the town is helping with castration-programs two times a year. (Which was a huge goal we reached together with the local shelter some years ago!)

    We built our first shelter in 2017 and just recently moved to another location. The place is 10 minutes outside of Veroia, where you can get everything you need. There is a small town center with a lot of nice restaurants and bars. The closest supermarket is 10 minutes by car.

    The closest Airport is SKG in Thessaloniki, where we can pick you up. There is a train to Thessaloniki which leaves two times a day and public buses which you can use to go from town to town.
    As we provide a car for the helpers you can also use it If you want to make any special trips. As example to go to the beach or to go for a hike in the mountains.
    The beach is about one hour away and we do take trips there once a month, to take a swim or to just enjoy a nice dinner at the coast. We don't really do hikes together but might join you if you do! You can also take a dog with you if you want to take a longer walk in the forest or around the reservoir.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travelers would learn about animal welfare in Greece. Laws in Greece and within the EU. How to treat dogs with special needs, as we do have disabled dogs or dogs who need medication. You will get to know about animal illnesses which just spread or are just common in southern European countries. You will learn basic Greek, will get to know the culture and traditional food.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In the dog shelter are currently around 50 - 80 dogs. Typical work would be to to feed the dogs, help clean the shelter and surrounding area, take them to the vet or to the airport.
    It would be important to train the dogs, take them on a leash and show them that a collar isn't dangerous. Some dogs are extra shy and need more love and time to open up. We only get them free for adoption if they are socialized.

    As we just moved to a new place our shelter is not perfect yet, some things still need to be build or fixed. If you have great ideas how we can improve, and what is to improve you are very welcome to let us know!

    You would also be a great help if you're good with social media!
    We are on Instagram and Facebook, we can give you access to both of our profiles as well of our Homepage. All of them need improvement.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Greek: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We just bough new containers. One is for our vet, the other one for accommodation. These are on the property of the shelter, so it's not always quiet. There is a bedroom with up to three beds, small bathroom and a living room with kitchen area. If there are more volunteers at the same time you can also sleep on the sofa bed in the living room or share the bedroom. You would have to cook there because we can't provide food everyday as we don't live on the same property. We are going to install solar panels on the roof so that we can guarantee for hot water. But it's still in the north of Greece and it gets cold and it even snows during wintertime. But we got some extra blankets!

    There is also an apartment we rent and which we would use for extra accommodation if there are more helpers at the same time.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As I mentioned before; we like to spend time together, to go out for drinks or to a nice restaurant. And we would love for you to join us!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size of car or van can park here.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.0)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (4.0)






N° de référence hôte : 633533553941