1 / 5

Help us creating a self-sustaining community in SW Michigan, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 59 fois
  • Activité récente: 27.09.2022

Disponibilité

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are an intentional community starting up in SW Michigan, 15 min from Lake Michigan and dozens of others as well as Van Buren State Park. Our goal is to become a self-sustainable community with a communal garden, education, music studio, and eventually we would like to host public workshops as well as local and traveling musical guests.
    The land has been maintained for over a decade using permaculture techniques, and is filled with food trails that have blackberries, raspberries, elderberries, medicinal and culinary herbs, as well as 200 blueberry bushes.

    So far we have one family and one single member living on site, and another single member on the way, and our eventual goal is to build sustainable (preferably earthen) homes on site to house around 10 families/units. The family has one two and a half year old and one baby on the way in June, so children are welcome and encouraged if you don't mind all fitting in the tiny home!

    We have omnivores as well as vegans living here so we can accommodate either, and we have egg laying chickens and two ducks as well as a "rabitat" where we raise very happy colony style meat rabbits. We supplement with grass fed local beef and have a milk share with an Amish family for fresh raw cows milk weekly.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Organic farming, permaculture, herbalism, foraging, animal husbandry, butchering and working with rabbit fur, food preservation- dehydrating, canning, fermentation, bread making, sourdough, voice and piano lessons

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for volunteers to help us with starting up our garden (it's our first year,) and we hope to have an organic annual garden out front, a medicinal herb garden, along with starting some food forests on the property. We will also need help from volunteers harvesting blueberries when they are in season!
    We have one two year old on site and a baby on the way, so we would love help with teaching/arts & crafts/watching the older child while under supervision from other community members.
    We make our own preventative medicines, make skin products and soap, cook from scratch, bake bread, ferment, etc so we would also appreciate any help with that.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Sign language (American): Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I took six years of French in high school and college and spent time in France and was almost fluent, but over the last decade I have lost a lot of it! I love learning languages and tried to pick up ASL when having a baby and used it to begin teaching her language. I am interested in learning new languages and teaching what I know!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A tiny home with a lofted bed, picture included in photos section, food provided

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The land is 20 acres, and about a third of it is beautiful woods with walking trails. About 15 min away are numerous beaches and parks with hiking trails. We are 10-15 min away from South Haven, a cute beach tourist town in the summer with lots of little shops and beach activities. We are 30 min from Kalamazoo, a larger college city, an hour away from Grand Rapids- a very large city, and about two hours from Chicago. Bangor (where we are located) is an adorable little farm town as well.
    We share a car and a truck in the community, if you want to go off site we can give a ride on our off hours.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size van or camper, we have 20 acres of space with many campsites

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    As long as they have no history of aggression and are known to be good with small children, dogs and cats

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 589366923537

Photos

Feedback

Help with my daily organisation schedule while traveling to NYC and suburbs as well as DC, USA
Help on an old homestead that was formerly a gold mine in northern California, USA