Join us, help bring some life and laughter to our home in Gers, France



Enregistré comme favori 36 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We are a family of four living in France. I am Sarah 32 years of age I have just moved out to France to live and support my Mother, Sue 56. We are both currently caring for my Stepfather Bernard 76 (Bernard is disabled and spends a lot of time in his room at the end of the house).
    We need some life and laughter, music and noise, we need people to help us complete and finish the house and to help look after the land but most importantly to enjoy this beautiful house alongside us. We would like to meet people from all walks of life, our home has many beautiful qualities and can be a very quiet, tranquil environment, we are finding ourselves very isolated with our situation of having to care for my stepfather and would really love to have more communication with people, we want the house to feel lived in and we would also benefit from having the freedom to do things ourselves knowing someone can be here.

    I have a 4 year old daughter Niolla she is full of energy and life, she will be starting school in September. She needs to learn French as does the rest of the family so a french speaking person would always be a bonus. I came to France with 5 dogs of my own all of them have been rescued, my mum also has rescued a number of dogs since being here, I worked with dogs back in the UK, I ran my own boarding house, dog walking and training business I also did a lot of fostering and rehoming for a number of rescues. We have a very elderly cat and chickens and ducks. We love our animals and want people that love animals as well. If you're not comfortable sharing the sofa with a dog, this isn't the place for you. I love sports such as swimming, tennis, dancing. I also practice yoga when not working with the animals and the land, I taught Zumba and ballet in the UK, I also have 3 brothers that are ballet dancers they visit at different times throughout the year.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a beautiful home over looking the mountains in South West France. This is an ideal setting for an artist, yoga, nature loving person. Anyone that has experience in planting vegetables and living off the land would be great, anyone with carpentry or building experience would also be very welcome. We speak English and are keen to learn French and other languages, my brothers speak a number of languages between them but are only ever home for short duration. There is a lovely swimming pool on site with a heat exchanger so can be used all year round and lots of beautiful areas to visit locally. We live in a very remote, small village, we have over 20 acres of land with all sorts of wildlife around. It is our little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We are an English family living in the South West of France. We would like people to come and help with our animals, we have a lot of rescue dogs so whoever is applying needs to be very dog savvy and happy to share the sofa with one or two dogs. We also have ducks and chickens and we keep horses on our land. We need people who are keen to be outside working with our land strimming and using the ride-on mower, making high rise beds for planting fruits and veg, helping with walking and feeding the animals, building work, cooking and cleaning and general household chores. Anyone with any experience of care work would be very welcome. My stepfather is tetraplegic, diabetic and it is myself and my mum who looks after him full time. To have someone that can sit and spend time at the house so we can go out ourselves without worrying about him being here alone would be incredible - care experience is not essential, all the manual handling will still be done by us.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Beautiful double bedrooms available with stunning views of the countryside and the Pyrenees mountains, everyone who visits our home has said how special it is and we would like to open it up to share it with others. It is a new home built 12 years ago and the builder was looking to make it as eco friendly as possible, there are some areas that are unfinished but that doesn't take away from the house at all, we are still having work done so any extra help with this would be fantastic. The front of the house is all glass sliding doors which looks out over the mountains and the countryside. It is a big 5 bedroom house, all open plan with the kitchen leading to the living room. There is one main bathroom that visitors can use. We have no set mealtimes, breakfast will be a help yourself situation, cereals, eggs, yogurts, toast and fruits are always available, lunch we have between 12 and 2pm this is generally our main meal, it can be something easy like a salad or a cooked lunch such as a curry or paella and in the evenings everyone again eats at different times and different things. We are trying to transition to a vegetarian lifestyle so would benefit from learning some new dishes. Help with preperation of meals would be appreciated and the odd cooked meal would be terrific.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a couple of vehicles on site, there is a LHD Renault Clio that can be used by visitors. We have the mountains within an hour and a half from the property and the beach is around 2 hours from us. We have some beautiful towns surrounding us, Mirande has facilities for kayaking and canoeing, there are tennis courts and swimming areas all over. Lots of places to practice yoga, beautiful scenery all around for any keen artists. Auch has an incredible cathedral that anyone visiting should go and see, it also has a good shopping centre. Toulouse is around 1 hour 20 minutes from us, Bordeaux around 3 hours. We have an endless list of places we would like to visit ourselves and always discovering more.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a room separate from all the others with our Wifi in for people to use. In the summer months it is sometimes too hot to work outside during the day so to be able to work online in the day and assist in the evenings outside is really helpful.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have over 20 acres of land with beautiful views all around us. If someone would like to park their campervan on our land we have a number of options as to where they can put it.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 579845225839