mis à jour  

Help out with a vintage motel and bike tours on the agricultural island Ile d'Orléans, Quebec City, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 1577 fois
  • Activité récente: 12 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Bonjour! We in operation from May to October!

    For obvious reasons we prefer to have a long-term stay of at least ONE MONTH, we give priority to those participants who can stay the longest and to those who are BILINGUAL in French and English. When communicating please state clearly how long and when you want to come right from the start so it makes the communication more efficient.

    I am Francois, a former teacher, loving the outdoors and interacting with people. After living all over Canada, I returned to my roots in Ile d'Orleans, 15km from Quebec City. Here, I run a seasonal vintage motel with on-site scooter /bike rental and guided tours. I operate from May to October.

    CULTURAL EXCHANGE
    First, the island is the cradle of the French presence in North America (1645) and one the the first settlements from Europe. The whole island is protected by the Ministry of Culture of Québec. We will visit some historical landmarks. On your days off you might want to visit Québec City (1608) the most European city in North America, protected by the United Nations World Heritage Fund. We will exchange, eat, propose reading, music, etc. So when you leave the place you have a good sense of the Québécois Culture, most of the meals are taken together as a group.

    If you are an optimistic character, very outdoorsy, dynamic, feel comfortable sharing your time and space with other workers, can say "Hello " to our guests and communicate openly with me, whenever anything needs to be improved, I'd love you to join our team!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Being a curious person, appreciating nature and community living, you'll fall in love with this place!

    To many volunteers the atmopshere here feels like a family after a short time. Some of them extended and extended again their stay or came back - this makes me sooo happy and grateful! And some more would have loved to stay longer (and we would have liked to keep them too!), but they already committed to other hosts, even before coming here.

    So if I am are allowed to give you a little advise: do not plan your travels too tight, leave yourself some flexibility to enjoy your time here with the other guys, exploring the beautiful surroundings.

    The Ile d'Orleans is 67 km / 50 mi of vineyards and farms, historical architecture and a creative art scene.
    Amazing scenery, hiking paths in the forest and the St.Lawrence River for swimming or water sports!
    There is a little theatre as well as several art galleries and some small museums.
    I do have maps and provide tons of information - impossible to get bored!

    When the bikes are not rented you can cycle around for free. We work in a wide network of local partners and I can organise for free tastings and discounted activities.

    (We get so many requests so to make sure you read this far please type TONY THE PIZZA to the title of your message)

    Quebec City is only 15 km / 9.5 mi away and easy to reach on your days off: There's a bus (PLUmobile) that can pick you up at the bank Desjardin on the island, bringing you down town and back (you must change the schedule since it can change). And the city is just beautiful: European architecture, a filled agenda of events all year round, a cool foodies' scene and maple syrup all over!

    The island is not a party place. Some volunteers spend their evenings or days off in Quebec City partying. But without your own car, you rely on a bus that does not run during night time. I'd say that if you feel the urgent need to be in a city almost every day, you may consider volunteering in a city.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I'm looking for positive and motivated people to help me with :

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Housekeeping and maintenance:
    This is the main role, all season long. Cleaning rooms, making beds, vacuum and folding fresh laundry, starting from the morning until afternoon. This includes watering the flowers, cleaning our rental bikes and scooters and just making sure the property looks neat and inviting. You should be focused in order on the task and care about details.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Evening Reception:
    Availability may vary. Welcoming guests, renting rooms, giving information about the area, cashing money in, checking returning scooters in the afternoon/evening before closing all facilities for night.
    Bilingualism in French and English is a must!
    You have an easy smile, know how to dress and talk in public, so guests feel welcome and comfortable. Ideally, you have common sense for how to solve problems (make a TV work, opening up a folding bed, etc.).

    * Full-time Front Desk morning shift:
    Availability may vary. This person would help me renting bikes and scooters, answer the phone, checking out guests etc. Ideally, you already have Front Desk experience and a suitable personality to work with the public. I'll show you our reservation systems and how I'd like things to be done, and from there, you proactively take over and work independently by my side.

    * GUIDE for the ebike TOURS (good English skills; our participants are 90% anglophones)
    Availability may vary. This would be for somebody with an outgoing and responsible personality to guide a group of 4 - 8 people on a 12 km bike ride. You'll explain the sites along the way, answer questions about history and local day-to-day life. Upfront, you'll receive detailed information and do the tour a couple of times with Antonio.

    This is the perfect job if you plan to study tourism / business administration as you'll experience many aspects of owning a small business, working with the public, housekeeping, renting sport equipment, etc.

    I'll be able to give you references for university / future employments.
    Every month we produce a work schedule - so every thing is clear!

    For any role you get 2 days off per week. These days may vary, it could be consecutive or separated. I recognise the preferences of all workers onsite, while keeping in mind the tasks that need to be done.

    *Remuneration will be provided.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I welcome up to 6 helpers at the same time.

    You'll stay at the motel, SHARING A LOFT WITH BUNK BEDS (boys and girls together), two small bathrooms, heating and WiFi. The place is simple, but functional and clean. You can sit outside on a covered deck.

    There is also a fully equipped kitchen with stove and fridge, microwave, kettle and coffee maker.
    You'll find a washing machine and drying machine here too.

    Once a week you'll get (almost) whatever you like from the supermarket since we order groceries online and pick it up on the designated date. This covers for 3 meals a day, including your days off. If you have special dietary requirements remember you'll prepare your own meals and eat together with the other volunteers, perfect for vegetarians or vegans! Please be prepared to spend from your own pocket on sweets, alcohol and non-essentials.

    In general you'll spend most of your time with the other volunteers - be prepared to make a lot of new friends, eating new dishes, listening to music, playing games, learning languages and laughing a lot.

    I (or one of my trusted friends) will be onsite every day too and available in case of questions or problems, but we are mainly busy with keeping the project running. We will try our best to spend time with you, but we work intensely during the day and most evenings, so we just go home and recover. This is why we appreciate mature and independent personalities.

    Please do not apply if you are a smoker. All our premises are 100% non-smoking.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    VISA:
    Please do some research about the different types of visa BEFORE applying; I don't know what type of visa you are admissible for or what documents you need etc. ... AND I can't help getting you a visa.

    HOW TO GET HERE:
    From Montreal arrive to Quebec City Main Station GARE DU PALAIS by AmigoExpress (car sharing) or Orleans Express (bus) or VIARail (train).

    From Quebec City Airport YQB take a taxi to Quebec City main station GARE DU PALAIS (fixed price of 38$).

    From Quebec City Main Station GARE DU PALAIS, there is a public bus, called PLUmobile to our island ILE D'ORLEANS.
    Please look up their schedule online; they only run Mon - Fri.

    Once on the PLUmobile bus, tell the bus driver to let you get off the bus at the snackbar at the intersection of CHEMIN ROYAL AND ROUTE PREVOST, after having left the village of SAINTE PETRONILLE. You may walk uphill on ROUTE PREVOST, for some minutes until you see the motel on your right.

    If arriving on weekends / holidays or with HUGE luggage: From Quebec City Main Station GARE DU PALAIS, get on the public METROBUS 800, direction BEAUPORT until CHUTES DE MONTMORENCY (it's the last stop, you can't miss it ;)
    I may be able to arrange pick-up from there; make sure to get in contact with me upfront.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Digital Nomads are welcome as we offer a steady wifi connection.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    If you travel in a van, no problem! We provide an nice and quiet area for your van.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can accomodate traveller with pets, but needs to be discussed beforehand.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25h a week

N° de référence hôte : 576723582726

Feedback (47)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.7)




























































Come help with gardening, DIY and painting at our family home in Mansons Landing, Canada
Looking for a helping hand in Okanagan, Canada