Share our vision of an abundant life in the Himalayas, India

Country

Inde

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 187 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are a farmstay and inspiration centre at the start of its journey :). It's all about creating a place where internationals and locals can venture new ways for simple, creative, sustainable and abundant life. We have a longterm vision to help the position of community here as we go, providing a place of exchange, growth, skills and work. Think of programs like: organic farming, homestay running, empowering education for youth, waste management, local craftmenship activities like woodwork/pottery/tailoring, and a centre for yoga/music/arts. Our goal is to be a self reliant/self sustaining project one day.

    We are located near the lap of the Himalayas 5 hours ride from Rishikesh in a mountain town called Pauri. On a clear day, layers of mountains and The Himalayas greet us from our garden. Karan (India) and I (Lieke from Netherlands) started the project in April 2021 and we have done crowdfunding and some renovation work. Our main aim now is to get the homestay and organic garden up and running. We also started tuitions for a few children. In Pauri there are not many tourist facilities nor NGO's, so it's special to start here.

    Love,
    Karan and Lieke

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Exchange with culture and community is all around. We have a Nepalese family living nextdoor with whom we collaborate and share the farm. Karan comes from Pauri though he also lived in other places of India. His English is fluent. Lieke comes from The Netherlands. She has lived, travelled and worked in different countries and also her English is fluent.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for people to help us with:

    - Woodwork: if you are an enthousiastic carpenter you can help out a lot! Pick your project: kitchen interiors / making furniture (beds / couch / dining area) renovating windows and doors. We have the basic woodworking tools and machines like circular saw, jigsaw, orbital sander, drill driver, handsaws, clamps, hammer. If needed we can purchase any other tools necessary. You are welcome to think along with designs and efficient use of the rooms. We'd love to have a homestay with handcrafted wooden furniture that can inspire others.
    - Helping hands for preparing and painting indoor ceilings and walls.
    - Organic garden: it would be great to have someone with permaculture/gardening experience or passion who can help us with gardening. We need greenhouses (to protect crops from monkeys) and compost pits. You could help with some garden design (making pathways). Surrounding the house are terraces up and down, which will be used for organic farming. We have walnut, pear, orange and lemon trees. It's 1-1.5 acre so it's not very big, but it offers potential to create something beautiful and abundant! We want to show that it is possible to have a very productive garden despite size and monkeys.
    - Giving tuitions: at the moment we give tuitions to a small group of children (11-15 years old). It's a very free program: every day is different. We teach English, subjects about nature/sustainability, painting, yoga, playing games, etc. Our main focus is to support them in growing confidence about their own qualities and show them a variety of activities different from school. Learning by doing. You can come up with nice lessons.
    - Photographing, videographing, creating social media content, and so on. It would be helpful if you come with your own camera. Any ideas welcome!

    If you have any other skills and you feel like staying and sharing, please let us know and we can see if there are any possibilities.

    We invite people that share a vision of a more simple and abundant world and who'd like to bring in eco friendly ideas, and understand that life’s not perfect and we’re on a journey all together. Besides this we want to share and enjoy together with you a beautiful process of collaboration and doing good. We'd love to co-create this place with others.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    FACILITIES
    We have basic living conditions since not all amenities (like running water) are yet available. Safe drinking water, internet and electricity are available. We heat up water for a bath. All cooking facilities are available and dishwashing is done by our lovely didi Krishna every day.

    ROOM
    We will ensure you have a comfortable mattress and private/shared room depending on the amount of guests. Personally I have gained a lot of joy and confidence knowing that I can be happy living more basic, so it could be very enriching depending on who you are :).

    FOOD
    Since Karan is Indian and I am Dutch, we eat a mixture of Indian and western dishes. We both cook, and you too are welcome to cook! Breakfast is toast/egg/oats & chai/coffee/tea (everybody makes for themselves). Lunch is rice, dahl and veggies. Around 5pm there is chai/tea. Dinner is roti and veggies. IMPORTANT: If you have a specific diet, inform us so we can see if/what things are possible. Extra’s are at your own costs :).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    HOW TO GET HERE
    From Dehradun (AirPort) get a taxi/bus to Rishikesh. From Delhi, take a bus to Rishikesh. In the mornings there are buses and shared taxis going from Rishikesh to Pauri bus stand. Inform in Rishikesh where they take off. From Pauri bus stand to Adara Farmstay it’s a 20 minute walk.

    LEISURE TIME
    You can have a village walk to a church, a hike up to a small temple & forest, explore the mountain roads and villages by rented scooter, visit the market of Pauri, read a book, do yoga, draw or paint something, cook if you like, chat with us.. There are vegetable and market shops nearby. There is a nice little cafe with Indian-western dishes (10 minute walk).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a relative fast and stable internet connection through 4G. WiFi not (yet) available.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 572225443118