Help with our dogs and development of a productive garden, Bellarine Peninsula, Australia.



Enregistré comme favori 288 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description



    Thanks for your interest in our program - please check our calendar before sending an email as we are often fully booked. We have recently moved to the Bellarine Peninsula in Victoria and have had our first workawayers down South so to speak. While much of the feedback you might read about our program relates to when we lived in Brisbane and were very conveniently located close to Brisbane CBD, we have had volunteers stay recently that have been equally happy with our setup and opportunity which is in Victoria, rural and coastal. We (Peter and Tracey) make an effort to assist with transport where we can so that you can explore a little in your off time and there is loads to do if you have the motivation.

    We have a 5 acre property about 20 minutes east of Geelong and currently there is a mid century , 4 bedroom home on the property and a tennis court. We have recently renovated the guest wing so you have your own private bedroom with beautiful views and a private bathroom. Our orchard is in its infancy but our family lives locally and so we have access to seasonal home grown produce.

    Our volunteering is flexible and we try and make sure your time is spent productively but also allows time off for you to explore the area. In the Summer starts are early to avoid the heat so if you are not early risers (or happy to be temporarily) then this might not be the workaway experience for you. You can expect to help up to 5 hours a day though at times, we work short days / encourage time off so you can explore the local area. In my spare time, I am a nurse and a breeder of Australian Labradoodles so we will also need help with our dog breeding program when we have puppies. We welcome enthusiastic volunteers who might want to spend some quality time in the outdoors, who are not afraid to get their hands dirty and want to help rear our puppies. We also have a clutch of chickens who like to free range and keep us in supply of yummy eggs.

    Slowly we are landscaping the gardens and have a small productive garden. Other tasks on the "to do" list are weeding, planting, landscaping and general property maintenance. If you have specific handyman/ woman skills or e-publishing skills please let us know.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Over the years we have been involved with Workaway our volunteers have learnt lots about dogs, dog training and the importance of early puppy socialisation. They have expanded their appreciation of the time and effort that goes into a quality dog breeding program and some have even seen puppies being born - we don't promise that experience though :) In general we feel people share good food and conversation and heaps of puppy cuddles - many people miss their own dogs when they are travelling and we are happy to share ours with you!

  • Aide


    Help ranges from
    - Gardening: yard maintenance, working the compost heaps, planting seasonal productive gardens
    - Property maintenance: assistance with general rural maintenance tasks (fence work, collection of firewood)
    - Dog breeding program: general caring for our dogs and newborn puppies, walking dogs, socialising puppies, cleaning our puppy areas.

    You can also assist with photography, website stuff and general household cleaning / cooking.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have a spare room in our home and guest bathroom. We are 20 min drive from Geelong and about 4km from local shopping precinct. There is a regular bus service that runs past the door and the train from Melbourne to Geelong is frequent - we are happy to collect you from the train.
    There is plenty to do in your off time, especially if you have your own transport. If you don't, there are some good walking tracks, interesting towns on the bus route or within cycling distance. Beaches are plentiful - access to the surf coast, Bellarine Rail Trail, wineries (there is one across the road!!), maritime museum and marine centre (Queenscliff) ...

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Volunteers need to be self motivated once they have been shown what is required and be mature and responsible in the care of young animals.
    Our Labradoodles are non-shedding however as we have other pets, this help is not suitable for people who have allergies to animals, especially pet hair. Nor is it a task suitable for people who are timid or afraid of dogs.
    Our home is a non-smoking home and my partner and I generally appreciate some time to ourselves on the weekend as Peter works in Melbourne during the week.... our house easily accommodates that with 2 sitting areas.
    For meals, volunteers are welcome (and encouraged) to share the cooking. Basic breakfast, tea and coffee is always available and we have a well stocked pantry. Happy to accommodate vegetarians or those with specific dietary needs.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Variable - will negotiate with volunteers based on interests and experience 25 hours per week max

N° de référence hôte : 571242869756