Help with some projects at our home, 30 min from the beach, San Diego Countryside, El Cajon, Southern California, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 664 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Summer in San Diego! Right now, middle of July, we are so busy with our own Summer vacations and fishing trips that we are not making any reservations for July - September. I am a college professor and have very crazy schedule for those months. We MAY take short term notice visitors as our plans firm up.

    With both sons home for summer, this is when we plan our own vacations, but you can always ask on short notice. We do not book reservations in advance for June - August, since we are unsure about our own vacations at that time, but we will accept workers after we know our plans. Also this year, I (Clif, as a college professor) will be on a Sabbatical in the Fall, so I really do not know what my home plans are. We will take workers, I am sure, but I don't know the dates right now.

    After a wonderful first year of WorkAway, we are being a little more picky about our helpers. For my wife it is usually best if there are two people, a couple or two friends, as this way she does not feel any need to 'entertain' people and she is usually the one at home with the 'boys' away at college or work. If you are very independent, it may be fine as well. We also require that Workers speak enough English for a real conversation, as that is wonderful and a big part of why we do this. Typically we ask for older workawayers, but this summer, much work will be organized with our two sons, who are 19 and 20, so any age is fine. We do take Americans as well, but the priority is usually for foreign visitors.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We just decided, based on wise advise, that any Workers must have some sort of Travel Medical Insurance, such as the one recommended by WorkAway, at: . For anyone who does not know, unlike Europe and most of the modern world, Medical services are not free in the USA.
    ----------------

    We are a married couple with two sons and a dog and a few cats. Happy hour is a daily observance on most days.

    This is a 2.5 acre house in the local country, about 1/2 hour to the beach. 25 minutes to downtown San Diego.

    We have a large room with private bath for 1 or 2 people and we just recently built our "Swiss Chalet" above the garage. This is in the bottom photo. Excellent food is available, with pool and toys, such as surfboards, mountain bikes, fishing gear, guitars, trampoline, volleyball court, etc. (Since we do have a pool, no children please.)

    We have numerous projects on-going such as landscaping the yard, setting up or dealing with gardens, depending on the skill level, possibly painting or light carpentry. If you are a good cook, that is wonderful. We can get any ingredients.

    A few necessary details:

    - Since we already have a dog and cats, we can't accept helpers with pets.

    - No cigarettes on the property. Seriously, if you smoke regular cigarettes, that is not cool here and you will be asked to leave. We are not anti-smoking, just anti-cigarettes.

    - We do have fast Internet, as well as a TV and Netflix, etc.

    - We are not very close to public transportation, at over 2 miles, but transportation can be arranged. A car would be handy, but not needed.

    - we have added our photos to our profile, and we prefer to see a helper's photos on their profile as well.

    - In general, a one week to 10-day maximum stay is preferred, as we are not a farm or a business, and we just have many projects.

    Thanks for reading! And we hope all have wonderful experiences. So far we have been thrilled with our experience with our visitors. We are world travelers stuck in a home for awhile, so enjoy your journeys!

    Also, if you have read this far, here is a BIG HINT, for us and for other nice places.... in your message, say WHY you want this particular place. Good hosts get many requests, and we can tell many are very generic, being sent to many places. We always respond, but the personalized messages get a MUCH better response. Cheers!

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Between my wife and I, we have traveled to all the continents at least 5 times, with Australia only twice, and not Antarctica. My wife is Canadian and in general, we are pretty well-traveled. Yet, we are here in San Diego for longer due to work, family, etc. So, we are open to both learn from others as well as share our experiences. We can provide a great room and really healthy food and we think a pretty nice spot to be. If anyone plays music, we can play together perhaps.

  • Aide

    Aide

    My wife will have a list of about ten possibilities. Travelers choose the tasks they enjoy and feel comfortable with. Over the past many months we have had tasks such as endless gardening, cooking dinners, tile work, trimming trees, re-modeling a barn, creative art landscaping, weeding, painting a variety of places. We are not a farm or a hostel or a business, just a big house on 2.5 acres with some tiny homes, a variety of gardens, and we enjoy learning about faraway places, sharing meals, and showing off San Diego.

    We do not want a whole bunch of visitors at once, but rather 2 or 3 at a time.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, some Spanish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    At the moment, we have a very large private bedroom with private bathroom as well as a smaller room we recently added above the garage. The large room is is our oldest son's room and it is available when he is away at college. The house has a pool, trampoline, volleyball court, and other nice things. As for food and work, we don't have an official time clock, but in general the trade is about 4 hours of your time per day for food and lodging. As mentioned elsewhere, happy hour observed most days as well. Many visitors prefer to work for a full day one day and the next day go to San Diego or the beaches.

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    With time off, wow..... we are about 30 minutes drive from downtown San Diego or the beaches. If you are taking trolley, it is a bit longer, of course. Beaches, city, and anything in San Diego is possible. From our house, we are close to hiking, mountain biking, a lake is a few minutes away, as well as unlimited videos, wi-fi, of course. In general, one or two of us drive most days past a trolley line, and arrangements can be made to drop or pick-up.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)







































N° de référence hôte : 559535895546