Come to beautiful Northern Norway and help with our huskies and on our farm

Country

Norvège

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 1677 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 38 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *Note*
    Due to Covid 19 restrictions we are only able to consider applications from Workawayers already in Norway.

    We are not currently looking for help in our business but we are able to offer a traditional Workaway experience of an exchange of food and accommodation for a few hours help around the farm. These experiences are not paid work.

    We live 10 km from Alta city, near the famous Alta salmon river. Our house is in the woods close to some small mountains and lakes. There is good hiking, x-country skiing and mountain biking in the area. We have a fine dining restaurant, a bakery, some Polar cabins and we help to manage a fishing lodge. Johnny is a chef, he works in the restaurant at our lodge. Trine is a dog musher and takes care of her dogdriving business at home. We have 65 dogs in total. Hanna is Trine´s eldest daughter and she is currently preparing to race in the Worlds longest sled dog race. Most of us live here at the farm where we also have many chickens a large greenhouse and a beautiful Arctic garden. You can take a look at us on Instagram or Facebook to get an idea of who we are.

    In the summer we need help in the dog yard, the garden, the woodpile, berry and mushroom picking in the forest and on some of our building and repair projects (usually painting). We have puppies in the summer, that we need to take on a walk every day. The dogs need feeding, exercising and the yard needs to be clean and tidy and we also need to look after each other, we have an extended family of around 15 people. In summer we have 24 hours of day light and the temperature can be between 6 and 30 degrees.

    In the winter we are totally focused on race preparation and it is tough to be here in extreme cold temperatures and with no sunlight for 3 months. If you are thinking you would like to spend time here in the winter please write to us telling us what is motivating you to do this. We prefer people to stay a minimum of 3 months in the winter.

    We can loan you working clothes and cold weather/rain gear for outdoors and we will happily teach you all the skills you will need.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Its a small but exciting family business, workawayers will experience a strong work ethic, be involved with a young dynamic team, feel necessary and valued as part of a team, fall in love with at least one of our dogs!!! Have the chance to drive a sled, hike a mountain, cycle the beautiful Finnmark plateau, ski, skijor, enjoy the nature, test themselves in a harsh climate if staying in the winter. Experience a unique way of living well inside the Arctic circle where we live closer to Siberia than our capital city of Oslo!

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In the winter we like to have helpers stay long term (3 months minimum) providing they fit in with our family and team.

  • Langues parlées

    Danish: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You get room and board. You will have your own room with access to a staff kitchen and a shared bathroom. You eat your breakfast in the staff cabin and lunsj we all eat together, dinner is a time to share your own cooking skills as we take turns to make food for each other.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Depending on the time of year you stay with us you could see the Northern Lights again and again and again, take a trip to Nord Cap (Europe's Northern most point), see the midnight sun and sleep out in a tent in the wilderness, spectate at Europe's longest sled dog race and meet some of the top competitors (we are home to the winning team from the 2019 Finnmarksløpet 500km). See reindeer, eat reindeer and experience the Sami culture. See moose, eat moose and eat some of the best fish in the world cooked by one of Norway's best chefs.
    Please note you can not be allergic to dogs and we are not able to take individuals who are vegetarian or smokers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have very good Wifi here and we are happy to host Digital Nomads

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large carpark which can accommodate a camper van or RV and access to a second riverside carpark

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can not take pets here, not even if its a husky! Our focus is understandably on our own 65 dogs.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day 5 days a week














N° de référence hôte : 551484952441