Trompito Botanical Garden- Caribe, Colombia



Enregistré comme favori 160 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

  • Description


    I'm a single retiree originally from Canada and have lived in many countries throughout the world. I love to learn, enjoy people, and like challenges. I'm really excited to share my home and experiences with you.
    I love to cook and all your meals will be home made with local fresh products. I know the area and can help you find activities that will ensure your Colombian sojourn is a special and memorable time.

    The Cotton top tamarin is a small monkey seen only near Tayrona Park in Colombia and I have a troop that pass through my property each early morning. The iguanas are numerous and love nibbling on my garden. The tropical song birds and parrots lend a joyous melody to my entire day. Yes, I live in a tropical rainforest along Caribbean coastal Colombia.
    I've recently bought a small acreage that I will design and develop into a sustainable model farm using permaculture and local knowledge. It's truly a blank slate with only large trees dotting the hilly landscape. There's 110 meters of beautiful clear water river frontage, think daily dips, and spectacular sea views. It's quite close to Tayrona Park, Colombia's second biggest tourist attraction and in an area with numerous waterfalls, wide rivers for tubing, surf beaches and so much more.
    I have an amazingly smart dog, an independent cat, two guinea fowl that keep tick and snake population in check. Amazingly they all get along well except for the odd day when the guinea get bossy!
    There are no buildings presently on the property so one of my first priorities is to get a local contractor to get started on my home. I have a local farmer with extensive local gardening knowledge who keeps the jungle in check and helps me with the many gardening projects.
    My plan is to develop a timber and food forest, garden, nursery for young plants, land stabilization, rain water harvesting, a botanical paradise, inviting place for the monkeys and birds and eventually a small chocolate manufacturing facility. Ready to plant are dozens of trees and other plants. But I'd like to nurture and prepare the land first. There is a need for a perimeter barrier to hopefully help keep out some of the wilder critters.
    It's a dream place already and with determination and lots of work I hope to give it an opportunity to become a show case of sustainable ideas. There is limited information or trails for tropical permaculture in rain forest conditions so hopefully we can add to the growing knowledge base.
    I am retired and do a fair amount of international volunteer work, both in permaculture and organizationsl capacity building.
    Only non smokers.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Projets artistiques

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The farm, where We work, is near a small rural coastal community with only other Colombian farmers in the immediate area. It's a tranquil supportive community that supports local customs and traditions. Exceptional natural beauty is the environment.
    On the farm itself there will be an opportunity to learn both local traditional methods as well as permaculture design methodology.
    This is an opportunity to use your talents, training and ideas to build eco friendly designs. Please note we live 20km from the worksite and travel each day.

  • Aide


    I need help building infrastructure. Immediately, Tool storage shed completed and bathroom and shower area getting started. Next a trail to the garden and a shade house to start plants. House construction with a local contractor has started with foundation almost complete. A nursery for young plants, a walking bridge across a stream, as well as bridges to garden area, water harvesting towers, perimeter barrier, and land /soil preparation for planting. Would like to add life size wire sculptures of local wildlife throughout the forest along trails. Basic construction experience and knowledge will be useful. Work with cement will be useful.
    Many of the structures will be built using discarded plastic bottles stuffed with plastic refuse. This will be supplemented with traditional building materials.
    Volunteers will need to be flexible and willing to undertake various activities depending on weather, need and skills. I'd like each volunteer to take on a personal project during their stay both for personal satisfaction and experience.
    A couple is welcome and both participants are expected to participate fully.

    Minimum stay one month and hopefully you'll enjoy it enough to stay longer. Sorry, I can't take short stays.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    Basic secure bedroom, Single or double room with shared bathroom. Comfortable mattress with mossie net. The accomodation is in a neighbouring pueblo, Buritaca. Delicious international meals taking into account your food preferences. 3 Meals will be served during working days, on days off starting Friday afternoon, I expect you will be exploring and trying the Colombian cuisine. Two meals on weekends if not out enjoying your working holiday.
    Only non smokers. Drug free home. Personal hygiene is important.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There's plenty to do in the coastal area. Lots of party hostels, numerous waterfalls and hiking opportunities, tubing rivers, nearby by desert, mud volcano swims, surfing, kite surfing, moto rentals, interesting old colonial cities, hike to the lost city - an indigenous site older than Manchu Pichu and so much more. There's excellent regular local bus transportation system at extremely reasonable rates.
    During your work week it will be early days to catch the cool of the mornings before it gets too hot. Initially you will live off site in another pueblo. The expectation is that each volunteer will take on a project during their minimum one month stay. The activity will vary depending on your skills, interests and the need at the site. Initially there will be construction projects as well as land preparation and planting.
    My home is a drug free environment. There are cleaning facilities and the expectation that you will have a high standard of both personal and accommodation cleanliness. I live a quiet life and would appreciate respect for my choice. There are many alternatives in the village and nearby to burn off steam which I can direct you according to your interest. Your weekends starting Friday afternoon, are yours unless there is a major project that is time sensitive. I fully encourage you to get out and enjoy this amazing and beautiful country and Its' people.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 547275331436