mis à jour  

Help us on our small hobby farm in the Smoky Mountains, Tennessee, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 418 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 mars 2023




  • Description


    **We would love help in March getting the gardens up and running and planted and doing some repairs and clean up from the winter storms.**

    My name is Marian and I live with my husband Jethro on our farm, which is a small hobby farm nestled against the Smoky Mountains in Tennessee. It isn't any kind of money making enterprise, and we don't keep a rigorous schedule or anything like that. We just enjoy meeting people and sharing this pretty corner of the world and getting a little help to get some stuff done.

    Right now I am looking primarily for helpers who are interested in staying for about a week. Generally we work for 3-4 hours a day and then you are free to do your own thing.

    I am looking for volunteers to help with maintenance and various projects around the farm, including mowing, gardening, weed whacking, building fences, digging ditches, planting trees, animal care, burning brush piles, and painting. There are sometimes opportunities for small carpentry jobs as well if you are skilled in that sort of thing. Occasionally there are indoor projects but generally the work is outside if the weather allows for it.

    About our farm:
    I currently have a horse, a pony, and a donkey in residence, along with cats. Due to health issues (horse) and size (pony and donkey) there aren't currently any rideable animals here, but there are opportunities for grooming, hand walking, feeding, etc. if you enjoy interacting with animals.

    Our farm isn't particularly near to anything and public transportation isn't great, so it's best if you either have your own car or are content to hang out on the farm and relax. We have wifi, board games, and an awesome porch.

    We are about 15 minutes away from Maryville and 45 minutes away from Knoxville. The area is famous for hiking opportunities in The Great Smoky Mountain National Park, but you do have to drive a ways to get to a trailhead (again, about 20-45 minutes depending on where you go). If you can arrange transportation, I always encourage workawayers to take a day or two off and go see the area, and we are often happy to take workawayers on a hike while they are here.

    I don't cook every day but am happy to cook part of the time, and I'm also happy to provide food that you would like to cook, or food that doesn't require cooking. And if you'd like for part of your work time here to be cooking and shopping for food, I'm all about that!

    Note: I get a fair number of inquiries from workawayers traveling with dogs, and while I would love to be able to help these workawayers out, dogs tend to stress out several of the animals here. The dogs themselves can be wonderful and beautifully behaved, but dogs just being here bothers some of my guys, so unfortunately I can't accommodate you if you have a dog with you.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This area is rich in natural beauty and the history of both Native Americans and early settlers to the region. There are many historic structures remaining in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and there are museums that teach about settler life here. Here on the farm workawayers have the opportunity to learn about horse care and vegetable growing and many of the projects that make up maintenance of a small farm. I am always happy to learn from my workawayers as well--particularly as I get more into vegetable gardening. And I thoroughly enjoy sharing culinary traditions with my workawayers and swapping stories of travel. My favorite aspect of workaway is having the opportunity to meet so many people from different places, as well as the opportunity to be a part of their adventures.

  • Aide


    mowing, weeding and weed whacking, horse care, building fences, painting, burn piles, splitting wood, building garden boxes

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have a tiny house for workawayers to stay in. It has a nice kitchen, but does require some careful use in the bathrooom, which has a composting toilet that operates a bit differently from a regular toilet. The shower also has some issues, so we encourage workawayers to shower in our house. Please don't smoke in the tiny home.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Quiet time in the evenings and the mornings is the norm around here, though if you have an instrument I'd encourage you to play it! We also enjoy board games. We have 3 indoor/outdoor cats who will be happy to interact with you, but will also pretty much leave you alone if you're not a huge fan. I'd prefer it if you don't smoke at all, but smoking outside is an option if you really need to.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    My driveway is narrow and windy, so it might be difficult to get a really big rig in here. Also, I don't have RV hookups--just basic water hose and extension cord. However, I do have a level area with access to these for a smaller rig. I tow a two-horse slant-load bumper pull trailer and have no trouble negotiating the driveway with it.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Average 4 hours a day--I believe in rest and naps and downtime!

N° de référence hôte : 482129444429

Feedback (13)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Help with daily life in Brooklyn, NYC, USA
Come and enjoy quality time on a small island in Maine, USA