Help us restore a historic diverse farm and adapt to the ecological crises in Sonoma county, Cali, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 31 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hello there traveler! Let us first introduce ourselves: We are the Smiths... the grandparents are Kent(84) and Diana(81), my father Roy(52), and I am Siena(19). We are a frugal family, happy to share our beautiful property and meet new people.

    We are repairing and replanting a historic diverse animal farm in the heart of Sonoma county, less than an hour from San Francisco. Our farm uses traditional and regenerative practices to restore the health of the land and adapt to the ecological crises. Our goal is to provide food for the family, wildlife, and local community, and are developing hedgerows, orchards, veg gardens, and diverse animal populations.

    Three generations share the property, from 18 to 84 years in age. The farm is ideal for those who would like to learn and contribute to restoration of the land using low-energy, traditional, and modern farming methods.

    Guest travelers will help plant trees, fix up buildings, and tend to animal care. You will not be expected to contribute to any form of business or market activities.

    We are located between urban areas, and have easy freeway access to the whole Bay Area. Thirty minutes drive to the coast or wine production areas.

    OUR PRIMARY GOALS FOR 2023: building housing for the grandparents, and planting trees (spring)

    In order to get the grandparents in warm and dry housing by this winter, we definitely could use willing workawayers. The work on this project includes cleaning out the old house, such as moving furniture, preparing walls and floors and painting, plus some light carpentry.
    Other help we need:
    - looking after grandma so grandpa can get a bit of rest.
    - perhaps some cooking and cleaning

    We have hundreds of trees to create hedgerows with. Pleasant and rewarding work.

    ** Because both I and my father are too busy currently, we cannot make meals for workawayers. You will be provided with basic food but will have to cook for yourself most of the time (there is a full kitchen in the trailer)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travelers have the opportunity to witness and practice biodynamic and permaculture methods of land restoration, to learn a variety of practical farm skills, to witness managed grazing methods, to learn about animal husbandry, and to consider a local response to the global climate and ecological predicament.
    Sonoma County is rich in cultural evens, music, micro breweries, wineries, cycling and coastal parks.
    We expect visitors to have plenty of time to relax and explore.

  • Aide


    Animal care is year round.

    Winter tree care, including mulching, rooting, weeding, and planting bulbs.
    Possible cleanup and carpentry work and farm building restoration

    Building restoration work
    Chick brooding care
    Tree planting, fencing

    Mixed carpentry (apprentice level)
    Vegetable gardening

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have a 40ft trailer that can sleep 4 people (one double bed and two bunk beds), but it’s also perfect for just a couple. Full kitchen + living area. Compost toilet outhouse, and indoor and outdoor solar showers.
    Camping spots available.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This property is perfect for people who desire access to the greater Bay Area. We are minutes from the main freeway, easily reached from San Francisco international airport, and walking distance from the local town and shops, as well as a train station and buses.

    Fun things to do with us:
    - Archery
    - hikes and rock climbing at the beach
    - going to San Fransisco via train and ferry
    - hikes around nearby hills and parks
    - target practice and all sorts of other fun games

    You will not be expected to contribute to any form of business or market activities.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have decent internet connection over most of the buildings. Cafes and places with free wifi are also within walking distance.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Seasonally we can host people with campervans/motorhomes. It gets very wet and muddy here, and so summer time is the best time if you want to be able to get your vehicle out of the field.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 895958539421


Enjoy small town life in the mountains while helping us with house and garden projects near San José, USA
Young couple looking for friends from around the world in Granite City, USA