mis à jour  

Experience relaxing and a simple life in the pure nature of Finland

  • Finlande
  • Enregistré comme favori 162 fois
  • Activité récente: 6 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    We are a family with 2 kids (10 and 13 years old) and 2 houses, next to each other. Looking primarily for someone to live in our old house, taking care of heating and maintenance of the house where you live. We are used to having au pairs, and friends from different cultures living with us, and enjoy learning to know new people, cultures and creating friendships. We hope you want to participate in domestic work, garden work, possibly forestry and making firewood, which are all included in the way of living here.

    We live In the country side. Life where we live is really slow, quiet and peaceful, right In the middle of nature. You need to be prepared for no restaurants, no shopping, no public transportation, bad internet connection. Instead you can have all great pleasures of pure forest, fresh air and relaxing time, for free.

    You need to engage with tasks max 25h per week (in wintertime it takes a couple of hours daily to heat the house) so you can study or work full time doing your own things if you like. We welcome someone who is calm, reliable, helpful, friendly and focused. The most important thing is that we find a good understanding and communication with each other.
    There is room for several people so couples and families can be welcomed too.

    About us:
    Me, Jessica, 46 years old, former office worker, now being an entrepreneur, doing deep relaxation treatments,a bit of network marketing with natural products and Integrative transformational coaching. I like doing yoga, biking, kick sledging, skiing, foraging, growing vegetables, reading, spending time with friends, visiting relatives, relaxing, taking walks, swimming, volunteering, thinking, nice conversations. My core values are freedom, family, health and helping others.
    My husband, Jussi, 53 years old. Works driving a milk truck. Likes to work around the house and in the forest.
    Esja, 10 years, goes to school. Likes to play with friends, anything with horses, jump on the trampoline, swimming, crafts. She also likes to use her phone for playing, making videos and watching youtube.
    Eirik, 13 years, goes to school. Likes to play on the computer, playing airsoft, wrestling, fishing, hunting, trampoline, swimming, playing with friends.

    We are not really looking for someone to work for us. I think of this as cultural exchange and making new friends while helping each other.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be the close by neighbor of a regular family living a simple life in countryside of Finland. You can learn some Finnish or Swedish and take time away from city life and stress. Hopefully you will get new life time friends.
    If you want. you can join in our activities, like making fire wood, talking walks in the forest, picking berries and mushroom, fishing, hunting, gardening, plowing the snow, skiing, skating, swimming, watching movies, going on errands, playing board games.
    I like to discuss topics like how to get to know yourself, how to find your own potential and enjoy life in the presence.
    I will tell you about our culture, how to do things, and I hope you will feel comfortable and happy as our neighbor.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Maintenance of the house you live in including heating (wood, central heating oven). Daily heating needed in winter time if it is cold outside for a 2-4 hours. In summer once a week is enough. Also some general help in the houses and garden like cleaning, plowing snow, mowing the lawn, or lending a hand if needed, is appreciated. Depending on the season we have different tasks to be done inside and outside the houses. If you are able to help with firewood, it would be great. We need to do forestry work, cut trees, chop, stack and move firewood. You can participate according to your skills and preferences.
    We need sometimes help driving the kids to their hobbies, so it would be good if you have a driver's licence.
    The kids don't need a baby sitter, but it is nice if you can spend some time with them so they can learn to know new people and cultures.
    We are hoping you can stay 1 month or more. Whenever the house is unoccupied, you can come when is suitable for you and even shorter stay is fine during summer.
    We prefer someone who would stay for a longer period.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    It's nice to learn phrases, songs, words in different languages. We can also teach everyday Finnish or Swedish if you like.

  • Hébergement


    A big old furnished wooden 2 floor house with sauna, shower, toilet, kitchen, 4 bedrooms, living room. You will have a private bedroom. We still use the house as storage (there is still a lot of our stuff there) and maybe as guestrooms or playroom/yoga room or other extra space we might need. So we still come and go in your house weekly. Mostly you will stay and live by yourself in this separate house, but we can sometimes join for meals and activities as agreed if you wish.
    You will be provided with electricity, water and some basic groceries and necessities. Please be prepared to buy and cook your own food.
    We hope that you have a tidy and environmentally healthy lifestyle including energy saving and recycling.
    We don't accept smoking, using drugs or heavy alcohol use.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You can enjoy walking, skiing, biking, photographing, swimming, relaxing in the nature. Peaceful location for studying, reading, working, getting some time for yourself. No public transportation. Closest village with grocery store, pharmacy, school, library, pool and gym is 10km away. Closest city, Savonlinna, is 1 hour away. You are welcome to come with us on errands when you need a ride.
    In the forest lives bears, boars, wolf, lynx, elk, fox and smaller animals but we rarely see the bigger ones. In summer we have also lots of insects outside.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Unfortunately at the moment we don't have a stable and good connection 24/7. Some working online is still possible, but heavy online working that requires constant fast connection may not be possible all the time. Wifi cost is 20€/month if you want to use it.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We live in the country side and you can park your car by the house.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 25h/week/adult

N° de référence hôte : 478532112691

Feedback (1)


Help us with DIY and daily activities around our remote cabin in Turku, Finland
Help us look after our Alaskan Huskies near Rovaniemi city centre, Finland