Garden projects and general help wanted in the beautiful Limousin, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 81 fois
  • Activité récente: 31 déc. 2022



 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins



  • Description


    We're looking for willing helpers to come and help with some of the tasks here. We have several small projects, from clearing a small walled garden to putting in a french drain. We have various bits of helpful equipment - digger, mini dumper truck etc which definitely help the "physical" side! We are also very happy to share all the skills we have learnt since being here. We also have various animals (4 ponies, 3 sheep, 2 chickens, 4 cats and a dog, which depending on what you like, you can be involved in or not.
    We moved out to France in 2016 and are building our lives, growing our own food and accumulating the various animals.
    We have spent the last 3 years renovating our house and trying to become self sufficient. The house is now not too far off complete - all the horrible messy stuff is done and it's now clean and comfortable! Outside is a different matter - the brambles seem to think we want them and the weeds are having a party! We recently had a terrace built and would like to clear the small walled garden next to it so it can be used for relaxing!
    We are vegetarian - wanting to become vegan - and try to live as sensitively as possible. We are trying to concentrate on the vegetables and animals. All the animals are rescues, with some very funny personalities!
    At the moment, we only have a double room free, so this would either suit a couple or a single traveller - unless you don't mind camping!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our French isn't fluent but we get by. The local hamlet is mainly French speaking. During the summer there is a weekly local market and some activities also.

  • Aide


    We are looking for someone to help with a few projects we have at the moment. We need to finish a french drain having dug the trench for it. There is a lovely walled garden which needs clearing and with some repairing of the wall using the dry stone wall method. And there are always brambles to clear! We have all the equipment and are happy to show you how to use it - and with the necessary safety equipment. Anyone who can cook will also be gratefully received! We try to source from local individual producers and are lucky enough to be in a very BIO part of France.
    We only want 4 hours help a day - weekends off. We're happy to show you the local area - some of the lakes here are beautiful and we have a canoe which you can borrow. We also have mountain bikes and electric bikes and some lovely local walks.
    Also, anyone with good/alternative equine experience would be great. I have 4 rescue ponies - 3 with their problems! They are all kind and seem to have accepted the rescue sheep we added last year! There is always lots to do with them!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Always happy to improve our french. I can understand most now as long as it's not too fast!

  • Hébergement


    At the moment we have one decorated bedroom. It's warm and comfortable with a lovely view, but only has a double bed. There is a new downstairs shower and toilet for your use. The house is nice and cool during the summer.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have mountain and electric bikes and there are some beautiful trails to cycle/walk round. We are very close to a feeder route for the Camino de Santiago and are 20 mins in the car away from the historic town of Bourganeuf. Lac Vassiviere is an hour away. We would be more than happy to come with you on some sightseeing tours if you don't have a car (or trips to Limoges). We are surrounded by beautiful countryside, with peace and tranquility and a clear sky to see the stars.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 468668684316

Feedback (7)