mis à jour  

Creating a permaculture smallholding in the pine forests of Kiila, southwest Finland

  • Enregistré comme favori 1050 fois
  • Activité récente: 23 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Greetings fellow travellers!

    My name's Daniel. In 2016 I bought a derelict cottage in the west of Ireland and set about transforming the acre of land into a permaculture smallholding. In September of 2023 it was time for a change, and together with my partner, Angela, and two-year-old daughter, Juno, I moved to a hundred-year-old yellow cottage set on five acres of land in the pine forests of southwest Finland. Having survived our first Finnish winter (with temperatures down to -26° Celsius), we're now in the early stages of creating a new homestead, and just like in Ireland, we need your help.

    If you're interested in self-sufficiency; growing your own food, harvesting and processing firewood, building and maintaining your own home and outbuildings, keeping livestock and gathering resources from the land, then please read on...

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our cottage is surrounded by native forest, pine, birch and spruce, with many trails for walking, cycling, and discovering nature. It is situated on Kemiönsaari, a large island off Finland's southwest coast in the heart of the Turku archipelago. The sea is just 2km from our front door, where we have a boat for fishing trips and excursions. The Turku archipelago is the largest in the world, and one of the most beautiful regions of Finland, popular with tourists in the summer months. It is a breath-taking place to live and visit.

    Our nearest town is Kimito, a 20 minute drive by car, so if you're looking for an urban adventure, we're definitely not the right match. Salo is the nearest city, about 30 minutes by car, and pickup point for trains or buses coming from Helsinki airport. If you like the idea of escaping into nature, then there are plenty of opportunities for wild swimming, both in summer and winter (if you're brave enough), and we're happy to lend you bikes for exploring during down-time. The forest provides many foraging opportunities in the summer and autumn, for mushrooms, lingonberries, blueberries and much more. The nearby archipelago is a phenomenal place to go fishing.

    I'm a native English speaker (originally from the UK). Angela is South Korean by birth, but has lived in Europe all of her life, and speaks fluent Romanian, German and English as well as Korean. We are learning Finnish, but having been here for such a short time it's still very basic (Angela's is of course much better than mine, having a talent for language learning). There are many opportunities for cultural and language exchange, particularly if you're hoping to build confidence using English with native speakers. Our daughter is of course fluent in English too (and never stops talking).

    The ideal volunteer would be someone with a genuine interest in self-sufficiency, permaculture and working outdoors, who hopes to incorporate what they learn while staying with us into their own lives one day. A passion for how we live, and desire to learn is essential, as is a willingness to get your hands dirty, with much of the work being outside, whatever the weather! A good level of basic fitness is important, as you will be on your feet, and using your hands, for much of the day.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help will vary significantly depending on the month that you visit. Right now, it's April, and I'm about to create a new compost area. I've spent the last two months felling trees and splitting logs, which I'm now stacking (the traditional way). I'm also about to build a propagator for vegetable seedlings, and prepare an area of land for planting out in mid-May. There's an orchard to maintain (we have around 50 fruit trees), with fences to build, paths to level and create, and in the Autumn, fruit to harvest and process for the winter. This summer I also hope to begin work on a new woodstore, and cabin, as well as beginning the restoration of our barn, which is in pretty bad condition. You could be digging, gathering, stacking, growing, harvesting, building, or any other practical skill as needed on the land. Be aware that we are in the very early stages of creating a homestead here.

    Angela is a medical graduate, currently revising for her licensing exam, so fitting in all the above, as well as working on the house, and looking after Juno, our little one, is definitely a challenge. If you enjoy playing with hyperactive toddlers, then we're also very open to incorporating some childcare into your daily work, as this frees up time for us to do other things.

    I studied Horticulture, and have been growing food on a one acre plot in Ireland for seven years. I'm an avid practitioner of permaculture, and have made several videos on the subject on my YouTube channel. I'm an amateur builder, but have taught myself many skills over the years, and I hope to teach myself many more in the years to come. I'm happy to share what knowledge I have with volunteers, and hope that in return you'll share your knowledge and ideas with me.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Korean: Courant
    Romanian: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    English is our native spoken language, but Angela also speaks fluent Korean, German and Romanian.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Over the summer and autumn of 2024 volunteers will stay in a large 8-person tent, which you can stand up in, with an air bed and linen provided. The tent will be private, unless you come as a couple, or pair of friends, which we definitely prefer. Be aware though that we can accommodate a maximum of two people at a time. You will have use of the house during your stay, which has a shower, flushing toilets, a working kitchen, washing machine for clothes, and everything else you would expect from a house. Unfortunately we only have one useable bedroom (shared by myself, Angela and Juno), which is why we think a large tent, which offers you, and us, much more privacy in the evenings and at night, is the best option.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In 2024 we hope to welcome volunteers between May and November; please take a look at our calendar here on Workaway to see available periods. Also, please bear in mind that we prefer volunteers to stay for a minimum of 2 weeks. Oh, and we have a puppy, called Tuppence! She's a lot like our daughter; hyperactive, but very friendly! :)

    If you have any other questions just send use a message, preferably in English, with some background on yourself and why you're interested in volunteering with us. We hope to hear from you!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a great wi-fi connection, which volunteers can use 24/7.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is loads of space around the house for a campervan or caravan, as well an external electricity hook-up and water tap.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 437944469456

Feedback (12)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)















Share, learn, and grow with us and our old dog in Nurmes, Finland
Contact with masters of meditation and help with gardening at our Buddhist center in Jokioinen, Finland