Share your woodworking, building, or painting skills and be part of our little community project close to Bensafrim, Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 25 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bom dia!
    We are an Austrian family of 3 generations: That's Oma Maria, Mama Steffi and little Anaíde (2 years). After traveling for some years and living in different places, joining different projects in Portugal, I (Steffi) decided to start an adventure I had dreamed about for a long time: To set up a diverse co-living space and transform the land into a beautiful, self-sustainable ecosystem. So a bit more than one year ago, my mother moved to Portugal and we bought a fertile piece of land (1,4 hectars) with an old farmhouse and a big variety of fruit trees close to Lagos in the South of Portugal; And we started to get our hands dirty.

    We've spent the past year working hard to transform the former ruin into a solid house with 2 units, put up a water system for the living areas as well as for the many fruit tress. We dug more terraces, we set up a big veggie garden. We built an outside kitchen area and compost toilets, and so on, and so on. We are happy about what we managed to achieve in this year, but we have to admit that we are slowly getting out of breath. We are realizing that the last "little" details seem to take so much more time than we initially thought, and we would really appreciate some help for this creative fine tuning and filling this project with more life.

    We like to live the natural and self-sufficient way as much as we can, and we are still learning day by day how to put this into practice in a harmonious way, trying to find a good work-life balance. We are passionate to discover alternative ways to live and especially to live together.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are living in beautiful nature, and it's just 10 minutes from Lagos, a vibrant and lively town with a great weekly market, beautiful beaches, many different restaurants and bars, yoga places, etc. We are also 10 minutes away from Barão de São João, a little village in the middle of an area full of open-minded people who are trying to create similar ways of community lifestyle. There are a lot of permaculture projects, markets, jam sessions, dance events and other possibilities to meet people around.
    Through learning by doing we have gained lots of knowledge that we'd love to share (about permaculture, building, water systems, gardening and food processing, and what it means to live more self-sustainable). And we would like to learn from you, your experiences and gifts that you bring along.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are so many different tasks that are running parallel: First of all we are urgently looking for so somebody with carpenter skills who can build things like an entrance gate, shelves for the kitchen, door frames, etc. We are quite well equipped with tools and materials and clear ideas of it, so it can be absolutely fun for someone with experience in woodworks.
    We also need someone to paint the inside walls of the house, which are pretty high. So it's partly necessary to stand on a scaffolding or long ladder while paining.
    There is another project which is more arty, and requires love for beautiful details and creativity: It's to design and start constructing a nice, organic playground area with natural and recycled materials for the kids (something you could find in a Waldorf school), as well as an area to chill and sit together next to it for some people; with the aim to host family gatherings and pizza parties in the future in a relaxed and cozy atmosphere.
    If someone out there is crazy for complex permaculture systems in practice, we still have an unfinished wastewater treatment system to complete, which is exciting and a great learning opportunity.
    We'd also happily welcome someone who is passionate about being with kids and engaging in some playful or creative activity with them. In the moment there are 3 kids here with ages between 2 and 5. This could give us the necessary space to dig into these tasks ourselves. Also taking care of the cooking at lunchtime could be a task that would help us a lot.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a Camper Van you can sleep and cook in. Or you can bring your own Camper Van or tent. There is also an outdoor kitchen, where we usually gather for a shared lunch. We'd provide you with more groceries so you can prepare your breakfast and dinner, and you can of course help yourself in the garden and at the fruit trees. You'll have a compost toilet and an outdoor shower.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    With your time off you can put up your feet and relax, you can go for a hike on one of the beautiful trails here. Or you can take the bus close by and go to the beach in Lagos, surf some waves or just hang out, enjoy a nice meal in a restaurant. Or take a boat and discover the caves, or many more things. There are also many events and activities in the area, workshops, concerts, gatherings.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good and stable WIFI connection here.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    You could bring your dog if it is well behaved and doesn't eat our cats. Must be good with children too.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 418496262224