Farm with large organic garden, greenhouse, help out and experience Haida Gwaii, BC

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 90 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm is a homestead on 2 acres with a large Organic garden, 40 foot greenhouse, and one pretty nifty old dog.

    we grow and preserve most of our own food.
    I have 7 years experience hosting folks, we are located 10km East of Masset, on Haida Gwaii.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I have a pottery studio and am always doing something pottery related. we might sometimes be doing little pottery related jobs, do let me know if you have experience with doing pottery in the past!

    - solo travellers or couples welcome, no children though.
    - I can't accommodate vegans or pure vegetarians,
    - please state any specific dietary concerns you might have in your emails

  • Aide

    Aide

    Some projects coming up are picking potatoes, tending to the garden, fixing things, firewood...

    Other things we might need help with:
    getting seaweed from the beach / working the compost pile / picking and weeding / fresh food process or sell / gardening / planting / weeding/ feeding rhubarb plants / setting up new garden beds / firewood…

    Days are usually 5 hours help with the rest of the day to explore the area. Days are flexible with the weather, which is always changing here, some days longer, some shorter, with some nice days off in there to explore around... it's important to get to check out the area which can be easier when you have a home base

  • Langues parlées

    Français: Courant
    Anglais: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Sleeping options:
    - tenting on the property, (two person tent and thermarests and extra blankets available),

    Showers and internet are available in town 2 to 3 times a week, (not every day),

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Surrounding area includes beautiful old-growth rainforest 3min walk, ocean 10min walk, berry picking, great community. Focus is on eating local, seasonal and stored vegetables, local meat (fresh and canned): salmon, deer, seafood, fresh rolled oats, wood cookstove...
    My girlfriend and I run the farm. (I don't have goats at the moment, taking a break from them.)

    Easy access to surrounding attractions which include Tow hill, North Beach, Haida art and Totems in Old Massett, unusual bogs, hiking trails, fishing, crabbing, a great new Haida art museum (in Skidegate), beachcombing and miles of beach to yourself (or almost).
    Every season has it's perks, In the fall there s salmon running and wild mushrooms. There's also a bike you can use.

    I'm interested in music, people and languages from other parts of the world.
    I'm also a graphic designer and there's always more for me to learn in this field, looking to learn more about wordpress.
    Looking forward to hear from you, Please state what you're interested to learn and your previous gardening experience in email.
    (vous pouvez m'ecrire en francais)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 394955761842