Looking for dog lovers to mind our dogs in Galway, Ireland



Enregistré comme favori 349 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    55.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 24 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    Apologies for the delay in responding to everyone. It's been difficult to get time to organise the calendar. Will get back you as soon as we can.

    **Please look at calendar before messaging 🙏

    *From the end of October for two weeks we are looking for someone who is very good with dogs to look after our furry family members.🐶 *

    Hello and welcome to our profile. My name is Stephanie, I am luisas daughter, and I am living back home with my mother and my partner Andy. We are both in our late twenties. We live in a small village outside Loughrea town, about 45 minutes drive to the well-known city of Galway. The house is rested on a hill, surrounded by 16 acres of land with plenty of trees, birds and a river you can escape to. My grandmother, who is Spanish lives across the field from us, and my brother and his girlfriend who are both in their early 30’s, are around from time to time too. We have a couple of four-legged furry friends who are like family to us. They love attention and to be brought for walks down the land 🐶 they are a massive part of our lives so it is important to us that you are comfortable and happy in the company of dogs.
    My mother works as a secretary in a local primary school not too far from our house. She also works on different art projects from time to time.
    She is a very open-minded person, adventurous and colourful.
    Myself and Andy returned home last year from a two year traveling trip through Asia and New Zealand. During that time we did many Workaways which we have very fond memories of. Some of them were tough but it was very rewarding and we met some amazing people doing them. We have a lot of experience being on the volunteer side of things so we are very understanding and we can assure that you will be well looked after. I am a wedding singer, Andy is an SNA and together we are currently working on opening a pizza trailer 🍕 we are also very active gardeners which we will definitely need help with. We love passing on the knowledge of what we have learned 🥕 I am a singer and enjoy playing/singing with other musicians 🎶 so if you play any instruments definitely bring them along! I have a guitar, ukulele and a cajon that you are welcome to play.
    -Please include the word 'sláinte' in your message to show you have read our whole profile.-
    Volunteers are sure to feel right at home here. We love playing board games, hiking, watching movies, music, having a few drinks, camping and having good conversation with good-minded people. We are huge Lord of the Rings fans so expect to be watching it if you haven't already 😁
    We also enjoy our own quiet time which is very important to us. So we are looking for people who are happy in their own company and don't need looking after.
    Myself and Andy are vegetarian/plant-based eaters and my mother is an omnivore. We cannot commit to always being able to cook but you will have access to the kitchen and we want volunteers to feel comfortable in helping themselves. 😊 Everyone cleans up after themselves 👍 We do a shop that should be enough for us all, however we generally do not supply meat, although Luisa may share from time to time. If there is anything extra that you would like outside what we buy in the shop, you are welcome to come along and buy some of your own bits. We don't supply alcohol but you are welcome to buy some beer and enjoy them here. As long as you're not singing through the night 😁

    Our house is a cozy, warm and welcoming space that volunteer’s are sure to feel right at home in. Our hot water is heated by the fire in the kitchen which will be lit most days and keeps us nice and toasty in the evening. Anything you need, just ask. We would like volunteers to have a good level of independence. We enjoy having fun with workaways but we also like to have time to ourselves so this is very important.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can offer volunteers the chance to experience an Irish way of life. We love having the 'craic'! I will be performing in bars during the summer that you will be able to come along for 🎶
    We enjoy hearing about peoples lives and sharing ours, whether its over food or a 'cuppa'. 🍵 We love going for hikes and if there's good weather we would love to bring you along. The burren is not too far from us and is a must see with its magnificent rock formations. Galway city is a bus ride away which was voted the International city of culture, and rightly so. It is a beautiful city, more like a big town, and is famed for being earthy and extremely welcoming. You'll find a rich street culture there, good food and good feels and a great market on the weekend. Also another town about 20 minutes away is Gort, which is home to Coole Park, a place that inspired the work of many Irish Poets. We go there quite regularly with the dogs. It's such a special park. We love our beautiful country and love continuing to learn about its history. Something that is extremely close to our hearts. We love taking trips to do some sightseeing which you are more than welcome to come along on.
    We love to cook all types of dishes and would be happy to share any recipes. Working in the bog is a very old tradition in Ireland. The peat which is cut and dried annually has to be turned and footed before being brought home and is used to heat homes across the country and has done so for centuries. It's an experience that few have the opportunity to try. Its hard for a few days but you will get to feast your eyes on some rugged Irish landscape.

  • Aide


    We are looking for hardworking volunteers who are keen to help to the best of their ability.💪 5 full hours of help each day in exchange for a roof over your head and three meals a day. You will be needed most weekends with your days off being during the week. Animals will need feeding each day. We have a lot of DIY help needed so carpenters, builders, and anyone with good DIY knowledge is very welcome here. We will need a lot of help in the garden which will involve heavy lifting along with bringing in fuel for the fire. The house will need to be cleaned each week and we will need someone to look after the dogs from time to time too so being a lover of dogs is a must 🐶 Artwork may also be needed but this is not our main need right now. If you suit the above description and you are also an artist then this may be the place for you 👍
    We want to stress that it is 5 full hours of help and any break time taken is excluded from those hours.

    The things we need help with will differ from day to day. There will be a lot of outdoor work, feeding animals, general maintenance of the upkeep around the house, and help in the garden. On other days it could be cleaning, organising, mowing the lawn, weeding, DIY help. If you see something that needs doing, we would like for you to work to your own initiative.
    We have some beautiful horses and a handful of cows that need feed each day.
    During the summer months we may need some help in the bog, a massive part of our heritage, one way of getting the real 'Irish' experience. It can be hard, but it's what keeps the house warm in the winter.
    As we said the help will vary from day to day, but this will be very well communicated with you and it will always be fair.
    If a workaway wants to stay for two weeks, we would ask that you work a full 10 days. You will have full access to the kitchen and enjoy three meals each day.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Irish: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own bedroom, access to the kitchen and can feel free to help yourself to three meals a day. You can use our washing machine to do your laundry once a week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are blessed with being at the foot of the Sliabh Aughty mountain range where there are many walking trails through isolated areas. There you will find many Irish native flora and fauna🌼 I like to go every week. Galway city is 20 miles away and can be accessed by bus from loughrea which is the nearest town and we have no problem dropping you in whenever you like. If there's any days we are going in ourselves we can bring you along to get some good coffee😊 There are some lovely places to visit there. Loughrea town has a big lake that we can go for swims in during the summer and is nice for a walk too. Gort is the next nearest town and also has many nice places to visit including Coole park, the Kiltartan museum and Thoor Ballylee Castle is also close by. The Burren national park which we mentioned earlier is an essential visit and is about 40 minute drive. It is so wonderful there.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There's a room where you can have your own space to work with good WiFi.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a lot of space here and can supply electricity.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours of help a day, 5 days a week.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 856426635148