Permaculture help in Andalucía, Spain

Country

Espagne

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 373 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.11.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE *️️️️️️ *️️️️️️ *️️️️️️ ️️️️️️ *️️️️️️ *️️️️️️ ️️️️️️For the first week in December I am looking for a couple who wants to help us harvest Olives by hand.

    PLEASE read the entire description, as it will answer most questions you may have, and it will save us both time.

    ABOUT ME:
    My name is Carolyn, I am 50, originally from Austria and live now in Jete near Almunecar (Granada) on my little organic farm. In winter, from November till March, my mother lives with me.

    In my younger age I was a passionate backpacker exploring all continents. The past years I had a very stressful job in media. Three years ago I made the decision to exit the system and to live my dream. I sold everything that I had and bought a little farm in the mountains in Andalusia to create the life I want to live. I live a very quiet, self-determined and happy life now. The land, with its fruit trees, has been very poorly maintained in recent years and needs a lot of love and work now. The farm of 3.200m² has lots of fruit trees, vegetables and herbs which we grow organic. It is a beautiful quiet area surrounded by mountains, with spectacular views and natural sounds.

    Permaculture is my philosophy. If you are familiar with permaculture, earth building methods or carpentry work and want to become a part of my life experience, I would be very happy to welcome you. Knowledge of permaculture, gardening and/or garden design would be very welcome, but is is not a requirement. On our land there are small organic vegetable plots and fruit trees which produce oranges, mandarins, kumquats, mangos, lemons, grapefruit, apples, apricots, olives, figs and peaches. The Intention is to plant a few more trees and create a large herb and edible flowers garden.

    Besides the vision to make my piece of land as fruit able as possible and to live a self-contained sustainable life, I am also an artist photographer, having several art-exhibitions a year. And I am a certificated dog trainer. I try to help animal rescue organizations as I take traumatized and in need of rest dogs in foster care, if needed. For that, please understand that you cannot bring your own pets. (if no foster dog in the house, after consultation)

    We like to work hard and to be productive, we like good conversations, music and fun, but we also like to have silence most of the time. So if you are sensitive and flexible and also believe that the variety makes life interesting, you might be the right person for us.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Projet artistique

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn a lot about Dogs and their language, about gardening, permaculture, cooking and art if you are interested. I can teach you German and a little Spanish.
    I love music, nature, walking, international cooking, and art.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The main help is garden- and farm.
    Depending on time of year the main work would be:
    Jan to April: help on the soil such as weeding, mulching, digging over, pruning
    April to May: Planting, weeding, removing pests
    June to September: Cutting lavender, Preserving fruit, Watering, weeding, Interior fittings of the artist studio, Carpentry work, Art work in the studio,
    Oct to December: cutting trees, make firewood, plant trees, digging over, help on soil with compost

    ALL YEAR: Restoring old furniture, Building natural stone walls, cooking traditional meals (If you want to cook and share traditional food of your country that would be great.) Helping me with Mosaics and artistic buildings. Creativity is very welcome - if you know how to to build rooms from several palets, old doors and windows, please come! *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️

    If you have any skills in artwork such as sculpturing, carving, woodwork etc. I would be interested as well.

    25 hours a week negotiable for one cooked meal per day (can cater for vegetarians, but not for vegans ) and food provided for your own breakfast and dinner. We cook mainly vegetarian with sometimes meat once a week and we love to offer all our delicious fruits, vegetables and herbs from our garden.
    Or accommodation only for 12 hours work per week

    If you do not have valid European health insurance, we HIGHLY recommend obtaining international volunteer insurance. Nothing has ever happened, but it is necessary to be prepared.

    When you send a request, please answer a few questions:
    Have you volunteered before?
    How are you travelling? By Van, Car, Bicycle or public transportation
    Do you have any health issues? Will you have valid health insurance?
    Do you have any building experience?
    Do you have any particular skills or abilities that would help in our projects?
    Do you speak Spanish and/or english?
    Do you have experience with animals?
    WHEN would you like to come?
    Thanks for reading and answering these questions. Please write to me in english or german.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    German, English, basic Spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We can offer a very cosy and clean Retro-Caravan attached to a large platform with wooden roof. There are mosquito nets, running water, electricity, kitchen, compost toilet, and shower.
    Travelers with their own Camper-Van are also always very welcome . We provide electricity and water, Wifi and a very quiet and secure spot on the farm with spectacular views.

    We prefer to host couples or two friends, as it can be a bit lonely otherwise. I cannot offer a real community living because I live a very quiet life, I like silence and to be silent for most hours throughout the day. We will work together and have lunch together, but our free time we spend on our own. Though once or twice a week I am open to gather for a glass of wine or beer, some music and good conversations in the evening.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    THE AREA:
    The nearest villages (Jete and Itrabo) are a 20 minutes walk (or 5 minutes drive) and have bars, bank and mini market. There is a sculpture garden 3 minutes walk away (It is on workaway too: Kitty Harris Sculpture Garden)

    Free time can be spent walking in the mountains, living out your creativity in the artist studio, visits to coast (there are three coastal towns 20 mins away). Buses go to Granada and to the coast from nearby villages. Big Towns such as Malaga is 85km away and Granada 78km.

    Temperatures in summer go up to 35° during the day in July and August. (At this time of the year we get up early to avoid the heat)
    In spring and autumn the weather and temperatures are just lovely.
    In winter a jumper may be needed early morning and night, but heating will be provided.


    Looking forward hearing from you

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

living room
Workaways Emma & Leon in their outdoor living room
The inside of the little Caravan
View
Friends are helping in the garden
Herbs and eatable flowers
The lavender harvest is in June
The farm end of June 2017
Me, my dog (the smaler one) and one fosterdog at a walk at the green river.
building a compost toilet out of old doors and windows
Planting and covering the first new tree on the farm (2016)
Variety of tomatoes
My dog and me on the beach

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (4.9)

















N° de référence hôte : 392591959782