Life on a self sustaining hobby farm in Upper Peninsula of Michigan, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 31 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 févr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    Help turn this back into a self sustaining farm. I am a Retired woman, I grew up on a farm, know how to garden/can, fish-hunt and forage. I am looking for Long Term help around the place, at least 6 months to one year commitment. I think we should agree on trial period, for both of us. We would like to turn my 40 acres back into a self sustaining farm it once was. I’ve been picking herbs, roots and culinary mushrooms since the 70’s. Made maple syrup for 30 years. Winter here is cold (look at zip code 49801 for annual temps) 5 to 6 months time for indoor projects, we have a ton of lumber. Cross country skiing out the back door, downhill ski 20 miles away. Bikes available for your use, automobile use possible if requirement’s are met.
    My goal is to grow enough organic food to feed us, I am not a business and do not sell anything. This will be a start up. Chickens to beef, I’ve raised them all. What animals I buy will depend on your interests. How many fences you want to fix - build, maybe you would prefer setting up a mushroom cultivation project, It’s an open page, what are your interests? I’ve found in my 64 years, it isn’t work if you enjoy the job.

    25 hours a week, = food and room in my upstairs fully furnished 2 bedroom apartment with small privet kitchen. We eat rabbits, woodchuck, pigeons if they are a nuisance, so if you are a vegan this is not the place for you. I do practice part time vegetarianism and we harvest our legal allotment of venison each fall. We can teach you gardening, foraging, forest management, fishing, hunting, carpentry, small engine repair, safe chain saw operations, clearing fence lines, building more fences/pens as needed. I am interested in trying no till gardening. But not opposed to the old ways probably a mix of both will work best. I am not certified organic but have not used chemicals on this property since I purchased it in 1988.

    I went to the school or hard knocks as a child then one year of formal equestrian education. Certified riding instructor, dressage, hunter/jumper, western pleasure, and avid trail rider. Retired horse trainer/breeder, EMT and worked Safety administration in industry. with that said if you are interesting in learning about horses know - it takes years, to learn the basics I can teach you farrier skills to psychology. Both my parents grew up living off the land. My father was a carpenter, I helped him a lot, my mother a RN, my partner is a retired professor, he grew up on a cattle ranch in North Dakota. In his younger years he worked a decade as a ranger in the National Park Service. Currently one old horse and two old cats live here. 10 miles away I have 10 acres of wooded land and own 9 acres on a lake. You may use our rowboat and canoe. Endless woods to roam & places to fish. 1/2 mile to small town with post office, gas station, bank, Dollar General, Presbyterian Church and a bar-restaurant. 25 minutes from the nearest wal-fart. No community transportation services I can pick you up from nearby Ford Airport, or we can discuss me traveling further for your pick up. My place is hidden by trees but only a couple of blocks off a 2 lane highway, no visible neighbors. My favorite sayings are “ I don’t know what I don’t know” and “Every Day is a School Day”.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I come from a long history of teachers. Sharing knowledge and learning new things keep a smile in my heart. I can teach you how to start a garden, preserve the goods, build using natural materials, forage free food, fish, hunt, basic auto mechanics, drive a tractor, fix a lawnmower, build a fence, select cutting and sustainable forestry, drive a 4 wheeler, cross country ski, down hill ski, horseback ride, play cards for fun. I am on the downhill side of 64 been through the school of hard knocks and college, still have a sense of humor.

  • Aide


    As stated above this is a start up, what projects we start first will be a collaborative decision. What ever project we do I can assure you Safety will always be my number one priority. Both Mental and Physical Safety are very important to me.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I require you have the ability to communicate basic needs in my language, I do have a friend who speaks Croatian and a friend who speaks Spanish.

  • Hébergement


    Upstairs fully furnished apartment with privet entrance. Washer Dryer on first floor. Probably the first thing I'd do is take you grocery shopping, you could see what I normally buy, I will ask what you would like to add to the list. I'm thinking long term you may want to cook, your own meals in your own kitchen upstairs, but to begin with food preparation and clean up could be a joint effort.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This is the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, endless out door activities. Acres and Acres of CFR and state land open to public for low impact recreational use. Crystal Falls, Michigan is 12 miles away it is a small community with several different cultural groups. Iron Mountain, is 20 miles away one of the larger towns in the UP it only has a couple of dozen stop lights. Lake Superior - Marquette, MI is 65 miles north, Escanaba Lake Michigan is 55 miles east. There is a BP gas station, a Dollar General also a potato farm in the town 1/2 mile away that are always looking for part time help. I do have 10 speed bikes you could use.

    I am open to all walks of life but will not condone radical religious groups. I do believe in God and am very spiritual but do not preach - I have attended dozens of different types of churches/synagogues, studied several religions and basically have come to the conclusion love and compassion are my religion. This is Michigan pot is legal but there is no smoking of anything in the barns, buildings or house. If use becomes a problem I will not tolerate it.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I HotSpot off of my Verizon cell phone You could pay for your own Wi-fi, it is available in the area.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have level parking, 30 amp service and water at my barn. I occasionally do overnight horse boarding, ( a few nights a year) they would have priority to the electric.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    No inside dogs, no barking dogs, no chicken killing dogs, no deer chasing dogs, no dogs allowed to be kept on a chain. I have had and loved dogs my whole life. This place is too close to the highway for a dog that doesn't stay put. I might interview a good old farm dog, but not having any more in my house. No exceptions. I have two cats in the downstairs of the house they are both very friendly.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 388949586115


Experience Southern Life in Raleigh, North Carolina USA
Help out at our lakeside sanctuary in the Arnaudville area, USA