Les amoureux de la nature sont les bienvenus dans notre jardin-forêt près de Kathmandu, Népal

Country

Népal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 132 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello would be family members, we are Srijana and Prakash, an adventure loving Nepalese couple . We are obsessed with nature, gardening, dogs, alternative ways of living, photography and listening to music. We also love to travel. We spent a few years traveling around Australia after we met each other. After returning, we thought about finding and crafting a green place where we can cherish every moment. . The farm is the result! We two along with our permanent farm hand Mr. Dil Bahadur and two Labradors 'Leo' 🐶 and 'Coco' 🐕 live here.

    Dil Bahadur is a kind hearted and laborious person. He does not understand English but he nods back with beautiful smile! Our furry friends Leo and Coco are still in their puppy hood (already mom and dad of four little ones- unbelievable!). They love humans and do understand basic English commands too.

    Our Farm is on a steep hill facing Himalayan range and is only 18 kilometers away from busy Kathmandu city and elevated at 1640 Meters above sea level . With just a couple of neighbours around it’s a complete solitude- only the sound of pristine waterfalls and birds. It's totally melted together with the huge forests behind.. Ideal for nature lovers. The land is 21 acres big, mostly forest, quite diverse one mixed with fruit and nut trees. A smaller part is a fruit orchard with old fruit trees and newly planted ones (hundreds of kiwi saplings). This part we want to turn slowly into a forest garden. There are many kinds of fruit and nut trees like: avocado, kiwi, persimmon, apple, peach, plum, pear, cherry, hazelnut, walnut etc. But the forest part needs more observation to identify more and more plants, specially the ground cover ones. We plan to make the place lively by adding some chickens, cattle, goats, sheep, turkeys, bunnies and horses too!

    The Farm is bordered by Shivapuri National Park and wildlife conservation area, lucky ones will see some wild visitors around the premise. The bird music goes on all day long and at night after the last songs of the birds the waterfall raises its volume. Some smart monkeys, dear deer 🦌, crazy wild boar, spikey porcupines, sleek pangolins, funny squirrel and other rare predators (we've never spotted though) also visit the premises sometimes.

    The people around (although few) belong to the ethnic groups (Tamang). They are really nice, doing similar things. Trying to be self-sufficient as much as possible through traditional agriculture, keeping goats, making cheese, bee keeping and making local wines too.

    The road is under construction, the last 5 KMs getting blacktop within few months, rest is concrete and the drive through wildlife conservation area is amazing. Total distance from the nearest ring road in Kathmandu is only 18 kms but takes around an hour to reach our dwelling! Kathmandu is our nearest shopping hub So bulk shopping is recommended! There is one within walking range but it's a basic village shop! You get chilled beer and steaming hot dumplings though!

    There are public transportation available too. Bus runs every two hours (very much tiring) or some taxis are happy to drop too (expensive) or hitchhiking might be easy to go for shopping. The bus starts from Samakhushi, Kathmandu, in front of Sanima Bank, ask the driver if it goes to Kholegaun. You need to get down at Selving khola and walk up towards the hill (10 mins) to reach our farms. Sometimes the mobile reception gets weaker.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You get involved in the very start of a project and you can experience a slower, more simple and quiet life closer to nature without the noise of the outside world. You can learn about gardening. We can show you edible wild plants and we can find and identify new ones as well.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Permaculture farm design
    Bee Keeping
    Shitake Mushroom Farming
    Herb Garden Design
    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco-friendly house design and construction
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Nepali: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is a house with beds and mattresses where you can sleep. Your room will be an attic hall that can accommodate up to 6 people. The basic toilet is inside, but in the ground floor. In that house there is no electricity sometimes, so take a torch and be ready to spend your evenings with candle light. In the warm months if you prefer the forest with a tent that's also possible.

    We are even new to this place and we both keep visiting our other home at Kathmandu too during weekends!

    The house was built by the previous owner and we are in a process of remodeling the structure as per our requirement.

    Conditions are a bit basic yet, which means for example: the toilet is a basic (pretty rough, but hygienic so far! . There is a cold shower which is quite nice when the weather is warm :) We don't have a washing machine so washing clothes is only possible with hands. We don't own any great inventions like TV, refrigerator, microwave oven, hair dryer, wifi router, toaster, or anything similar. Our tiny Kitchen is outside the house. We live a minimalist life here.

    We have abundant natural spring water all year round.Water is sourced directly from the stream, not processed, so we would recommend bringing in any purifier if you feel like not taking a chance (highly recommended). We do drink the untreated water though! We don't have wifi here but you can access 4G through smartphone. Cheap and handy these days!

    We've just finished fencing around the house to fully secure ourself and our furry friends from any wild animals.

    PS: you may contribute $5 for meal per day, or you can contribute through your skills or extra work. It's a bit of a sustainable idea to stay alive in this green heaven!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We mostly eat vegetarian, since Prakash turned vegetarian, simple but wholesome and most of the volunteers are very happy with it. You can learn how to prepare things from scratch rather than buying them, like bread, woodfire pizza, maybe wine? etc. Our goal is to limit shopping to the minimum and enjoy lots of fresh stuff from the garden. If however you have very different needs, we will try to sort it out:)

    Things to see: Nature is amazing around here, face to face with Mountains, the area is perfect for hiking. Most of our visitors love to walk around the village along with two furry friends and they too enjoy being our guides. Waterfall within our premise, the watermill , and top of rock cliffs are the places you’d love to take your favourite books or do yoga or take pictures or do some artwork too!

    We like to spend time together on work and leisure, but of course everybody needs some private time and we would like to ask you to respect that and be ready to spend some time alone (often evenings after having dinner together). We are very chill-out and flexible folks and don't like to mentor anybody, but we like to have clear communication about everybody‘s needs and likes. So please tell us if you feel uncomfortable with anything:)


    Thanks for going through our listing!

    We love to hear from you if anything missing in this tooooo long description!

    Stay safe and happy!

    Srijana and Prakash

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    we travelled in a campervan in OZ land so we know how awesome it feels living on wheels. Bring your own home if you want to and choose your favourite spot!

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Happy to welcome your pets too! Leo and Coco hopefully wag their tails.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




N° de référence hôte : 375443914319