Help us take care of a beautiful old farmhouse near the Mojácar coast in Andalusia, Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 382 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple - a musician and a yoga teacher - who live in an old Cortijo near Mojacar in Andalusia, Spain with a rescue cat called Squeak. The property is quite big, with five bedrooms in the main house and two separate apartments with three bedrooms between them. We also have a twenty-metre pool that is open for much of the year and our own almond, orange, and lemon trees. We are looking for someone (or a couple) to help with general maintenance, painting, and gardening, and maybe some light housework also; we would be interested to hear from someone who is willing (and able) to paint some fabulous art onto an outhouse.

    The house is quite secluded, with miles of walks behind the property, and only shepherds with their goat herds occasionally passing our front door, but the local village of Los Gallardos, where you can find small supermarkets. shops and a couple of bars, is only a ten-minute walk away. Larger, more bustling towns by the sea like Vera, Garrucha, and Mojacar, with bars and restaurants open all year round, are a fifteen-minute drive or an (infrequent) bus ride away. The weather is generally warm throughout the year (sunbathing is still possible in most of December and January) but the nights can be a little chillier in winter and we sometimes light our log burner, although we stopped that mid-January. Temperatures regularly reach forty or more in the shade during the summer, and even in winter, the thermometer in full sun reached 38C this year. Our pool is not overlooked and we, our helpers and our guests, are able to practice naturism around the pool area if they wish, and it is totally acceptable, although not compulsory, in other areas of the property and around the house. If you are not comfortable with this, no worries, as long as you don't mind other people who may choose to do it.

    We have both been workawayers ourselves in the past, so we know how things work. We only expect two to three hours of work, five days a week, for accommodation only, or if you prefer more work and less play we can include you in our meals (vegan) for six hours a day. (***please see update below***) We are happy for you to do more some days and less others, and pick your days off as you wish; we are quite relaxed about things. Some Workawayers may be happy doing a little housework in their hours, others may prefer not; we have listed our current main projects below.

    We both speak English and are happy to teach that or try to learn a new language also, especially improving our not-so-good Spanish. If you are interested in music, acting or yoga and wish to have some lessons with us, we can do that too. Andy was a musician and conductor in London's West End working on musicals including Les Miserables, We Will Rock You, Thriller, The Lion King, Chicago, and more, before moving to Spain, and Khatija is a yoga teacher and a chef and baker extraordinaire.

    Your accommodation can be in a private apartment during the off-season, or a private room in the main house if we have guests. We can accommodate singles, couples, and occasionally also families. You are welcome to join us on trips to the supermarket and to town, but independence is also welcomed and there is a semi-regular bus service to local villages inland and to the coast. We are very vegan and vegetarian friendly, but not militant about it; Khatija is vegan but Andy eats seafood and sneaks some meat very occasionally. If you would like to cook for us on occasion too, that would be great, we will return the favour.
    ***Update - our workawayers have been (mostly) so successful and brilliant that we have only a few jobs left to do. For that reason, we are currently only offering a room and good company, in exchange for a bit of help around the house and gardens. If you would like an easy-going break in the sun, some chilled hosts, with some yoga and beach time and visits to a few bars too, drop us a line.***

    ***Update 2 (Late October) At the moment, Katt is stuck in England with a good dose of Covid. She'll be back soon, but until then it's just Andy. If you would like to talk privately to a recent past workawayer who has stayed during this situation, to be sure everything is kosher, we can put you in touch.***

    If you would like to chat about staying with us, please send a message.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can immerse yourself in the local culture, swim every day in the pool or in the sea, be a hermit in your room if you prefer, practice yoga, singing or piano, have some monologue coaching, talk about theatre, relax in the sun, learn about vegan cooking, and generally enjoy a fairly chilled existence.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Travelers of any age, gender, orientation, race, or religion welcome. We are looking for help with general maintenance, lots of painting, some gardening, and some light housework and pool cleaning. We are hoping to complete a few projects this year also, which our guests are welcome to choose from; they are listed below. If you are happy to help with housework, pool cleaning and gardening, then roughly an hour a day on that would be good, but the rest of the time can be spent on your chosen project. During the summer, we will not be carrying out any big garden or maintenance projects, so workawayers who are more happy helping with cleaning, food preparation and looking after the pool and pool bar are more welcome then.

    Our current projects:

    Stripping and oiling doors and shutters. (Completed!)
    Painting the insides of two apartments. (Completed!)
    Cutting back a very big bush. (!). (Planned for Autumn)
    Putting up a bamboo fence. (Completed!)
    Taking down a wooden play castle and designing/building something to replace it. Like a rock garden or a seating area with a canopy. Or something else....? (Completed !)
    A bit of plastering, inside and out. (Ongoing)
    Lots of painting around the outside of the house and grounds. (Ongoing)
    Painting lots of metal gates and fences.
    Repairing balconies. (Completed!)
    Build a kitchen garden.
    Repairing the outside wall. (In progress)
    Refurbishing the pool bar. (Completed!)
    Painting some original art on an outhouse.
    Painting a little stone wall yellow again.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are happy to help with English, and we also speak reasonable French and are learning Spanish - native Spanish speakers who are willing to help us are very welcome.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A big old Cortijo - a Spanish farmhouse. There are rooms available in the house, and two separate apartments.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The local villages provide everything one might need to comfortably survive, including many bars and restaurants that are open all year round. In Garrucha, Vera and Mojacar playa, there are loads of bars, restaurants, and a few clubs, which during the summer season are quite busy. Alternatively, you can relax at home here, with peace, quiet, sunshine, miles of beautiful walks, and as much solitude or company that you desire. There is also a dog and cat shelter nearby that often welcomes additional volunteers, although you really need a bike or a car to get there (we have a bike).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a good wifi connection in the main house, the apartments and most the pool area.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of room for parking.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have a cat, and are visiting-pet-friendly.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Two to three hours a day, 5 days a week, depending on work hours.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 355358997485