Venez-nous aider à finir notre construction écologique en bauge pour héberger nos futurs workawayers ! Athens, aux USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 46 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.08.2019

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    48

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are excited to be hosting cob workshops this Spring, Summer and Fall with a cob professional Alex. Alex has an extensive background in cob building and manages This Cob House online. He’s published books and has an online cob workshop. He’s agreed to come out and host several workshops here with us so we can get some projects knocked out. Our first project will be a 600 sq ft cob. This workshop we begin May 6th-10th 2019, June 3rd -8th 2019 and July 8th-12th 2019.
    We invite you to stay as long as you’d like. These are the dates Alex will be here. We will be working on these buildings even when he is not here.


    My husband, our 3 kids and I are building an eco friendly farm out of cob. Aside from the cob we also need to finish the cob on our workshop. We built a cob barn that still has a little bit of work left to do on it as well. We plan to build a cob workaway house hotworks and butchering house this summer if time allows.

    We live on 85 acres in beautiful East Tennessee and have pigs, chickens, dogs, goats and rabbits as well as a large garden which we may need help with as the season progresses. . It’s best to start work early 10:00 AM because the afternoons can be hot and are best enjoyed relaxing in the hammock under a shade tree! However if there is a workshop going on work may start earlier. We are COMPLETELY off grid-we have solar for electricity, use rainwater as our house and drinking water and use compost toilets.

    We also have goats that will be kidding in June if you’re interested in learning or watching about the birthing process and taking care of kids after they are born.

    Animals are allowed, however we do have 2 German Shepherds, one male and one non-neutered female. Our male is dominant and does not get along with other dogs. However we do have runs for them and they stay on it until the afternoons when we put our farm animals up for the night. Our goats and chickens have free reign over the 85 acres. If you bring a dog please make sure they will not be aggressive to these animals or you can bring a lead chain to keep all animals free from harm while they roam. Children are very welcome also! Our children are very involved in our projects and invite yours to be as well. to get involved and believe in teaching them about our life as much as possible. We are very excited to be a host and are looking forward to helping others achieve their dreams like we are! We hope to have you be apart of our journey.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You’ll be staying in beautiful East Tennessee. We are about an hour from the Smokey Mountains. We are working to be as self sustained as possible and build as natural of an environment as possible. Learn about being self sustained. Here you can learn about recycling materials to use for building, solar systems, rain water collection and natural building. Learn how a farm operates and help in the day to day operations, foraging for food and animal husbandry. We would love to educate you on cob building and get to experience people from all walks of life!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Cobbing is fun! But it is also ALOT of hard work. It’s heavy, messy and you will work your entire body working with it. Please be prepared for this. The work will depend on the timing of your stay and where we are at in the projects. We will be doing everything ourselves from digging the footings, shoveling gravel, mixing and pouring concrete, mixing cob, carrying buckets of water to mix cob, putting up the cob by hand and pitchfork, pounding the cob, cutting timbers for roof structures, doors and windows, putting on the roof, running water lines, etc. We will also have a garden that we may need help in at times. Days off depend on the weather and if we have family or farm tasks we need to do on our own.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    At this time, we can only provide tent accommodations. We hope to have enough volunteers out to get the rental and the workaway house completed by late Summer so we can accomodate volunteers during the colder months. We do have one tent that will sleep 4 comfortably, one that will sleep 3 and 2 more that will sleep 2 comfortably each that you can use if need be. You’re welcome to bring a hammock as well. Keep in mind, we are completely off grid. We have solar power, compost toilets and rainwater. Shower will be an outdoor shower with only cold water running to it until we get a sun water heater setup. If you are savvy enough and want hot water you will be able to do that as you desire before that is setup. Honestly though in the hot summer day the water temperature is great without hot water. There is a composting toilet outhouse at your camp site. Food will be provided and we do not have ANY dietary restrictions. We can provide 3 meals a day. If you have dietary restrictions please let me know and we can communicate on how to accommodate that. I do not do much cooking as I’ve got my hands full with the farm and our building projects. I will however provide you food to cook on your own. Especially breakfast because work does not start until 10:00. At your camp site internet access is spotty. Some people get service and others don’t. Some spots have service and others don’t. There is also no electricity there at this time. We do have means to charge your phones as well as plan to set up a 12 volt charging system at your campsite. We are private people and will respect your privacy as well. After a long days work we enjoy our quiet time with our family and often have other personal things to tend to. That being said your camp site is located in a private area where you can recharge or explore. We often need to recharge our minds and bodies on our days off as well so I will provide you with food on your days off to make as you desire. Your cooking method will over over an open fire with a cooking grate. If you have a camp cook stove you can use that as well. We have a fire pit set up, plates and utensils, pans and other items for you to use. There is also running water at your camp site. We typically limit our trips to town to once a week. If you do not have transportation this will be your opportunity to ride along and get what you need. We really are fun and laid back people. But we also enjoy our time off with family or to plan for our projects.

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    You are more than welcome to explore our 85 acres! If you have your own transportation the mountains around us have several hiking trails and beautiful waterfalls. We are about 1.5 hours from Dollywood theme park. Walmart is about 15 minutes from us as well as a gas station 5 minutes away. We are about 25 minutes from the Lost Sea, and underground cave system with a lake in it and Ruby Falls which is an underground waterfall. Often times there are events such as rodeos, outdoor music festivals or seasonal festivals to attend. We have a movie theater and bowling alley as well. We love to enjoy the stars and a bonfire after a days work also. We prefer to keep things simple and calm in our world and love the nature all around us. We are grateful to have our land, our home, our children and our health to enable us to travel down this beautiful path of life. We are open minded and would love for you to feel welcome and open here. All we ask is that you maintain the decency of our home and children, be good stewards of the land and take pride in your contribution!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Animal building is underway!
Workaway house is ready for the slab to be poured.






N° de référence hôte : 344559182175