Share a homebirth experience with an eco-friendly family offering good food and cosy home in Cork, Ireland



Enregistré comme favori 155 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

  • Description


    —————————OPEN FROM DECEMBER—————————————

    Hello everyone! We are a family of 5: little Kai aged 6, little Fiadh aged 4 soon in December , Diesel our dog, mama from Mexico and papa from Ireland …AND soon we will be 6!! Our new baby is due for the end of December 2021 and we are looking for someone that wants to experience a home birth with us. OUR FIRST EXPERIENCE WITH A WORKAWAYER 4 YEARS AGO WAS AMAZING! She came all the way from Canada to share with us the HOMEBIRTH of our daughter Fiadh and it was a very beautiful enriching experience for both our family and our lovely Canadian workawayer.
    Since then we have been enjoying hosting Workawayers from all around the world to do nothing truly amazing or exhausting, just following the normal routine of our home with our kids, the kitchen and gardening chores.
    WE WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME IN OUR FAMILY A PERSON THAT WANTS TO EXPERIENCE THE HOMEBIRTH OF OUR 3rd CHILD, a person able to handle moments of chaos/ stress, rush while calmly inviting our kids to experience the homebirth of their little sibling in the gentlest loving way possible.
    We need someone that wont be bothered to wake up in the middle of the night (if needed), someone that is not afraid or disgusted by blood, and overall someone that can be prepared to be HARMONIOUS and help with our kids on the day of the birth to leave their beds, get them dressed, etc… We really don’t know how would the day or night of the birth will be, we can only expect to have someone that truly wants this experience as an opportunity of growth and preparation and that CAN STAY WITH US FOR AT LEAST A MONTH. It might sound like a lot of time BUT to know each other for such an intimate experience is really needed, plus the time of a newborn at home when everything seems to be double or triple complicated especially if my mobility is reduced (when I gave birth to Fiadh I had to stay in bed unable to move for almost a month due to weak pubic bones) .

    While you are here, we want you to be able to explore Ireland, theres so much to see in Cork and west Cork and we will be happy to take you with us on our now short trips, also we will be happy to give you some pocket money for your phone (once a month) and transport to the city once a week.

    In a more structured way, this is the kind of work we need help with in our home:

    Kitchen help: The core of our home is the kitchen, everything moves around it! food preparation, plan weekly meals, taking care of live cultures, making bread, making yogurt and kefir drinks,

    Childminding: we have a very affective and energetic 6 years old boy and a very funny almost 4years old girl. We try to follow the Waldorf system for their education and we are on the gentle parenting side. It is crucial that whoever comes to stay with us knows what we are talking about here. Theres a homeschooling environment in our home, lessons for our 6 year old son are structured following the Waldorf curriculum and his learning is reinforced with an array of activities on his own mainly, sometimes watching a video about the subject or listening to stories. He sits with me to do his journal/main lesson book for no more than 40 min a day. Free play and outdoor play are very important in our family, therefore being all the time with the kids is not something we will ask from you.

    Walking Diesel our dog: He is mad about swimming and running free behind a ball, my mobility is reduced in order to take care of my pelvic bones, that means I cannot go for walks with Diesel, 30min to an hour dedicated to him while you enjoy the local woods would be highly appreciated.

    Space organisation: having another perspective of our home , helps us lots to improve and achieve our goal of becoming minimalists, so feel free to tell us where could we start decluttering and organising.
    Tidying up the common areas like the kitchen, living room and landing would be also highly appreciated.

    Laundry/clothes tasks: we literally wash everyday since we have little kids, we use cloth nappies and this increases the amount of washing. Sometimes we might ask your help to hang clothes and taking them down when dry to put away. Knowing all the spaces in the house is very important so that you know how to place clothes after.

    If you enjoy arts and crafts, would be great to have some company in the evening when I usually focus on these kind of projects.

    We live in a small and quiet village that is not far from Cork city; we love the outsides, camping, going to the beach, going to festivals of all kind and of course going for walks to the different woods around us. We appreciate good food, I love cooking everyday and from scratch, and we are also a chemical free family (as possible as we can). We try to reduce our carbon footprint in our daily activities and we will encourage you to do the same. As a chemical free house we will appreciate you don't use lotions, deodorants, nail varnishes, hair dyes, etc.. instead we can provide you with all the natural alternatives we already use and of course we are open to suggestions. We will be very happy to assist you with the language, cultural adaptation, nutrition with good food, a cozy bedroom and some Pocket money to your trips to the city.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Me being Mexican and my husband Irish, we speak English and Spanish at home, you will learn more about Irish culture and we will be very happy to show you the main attractions of Cork, possibly interesting festivals and of course our own eco friendly lifestyle, from which you will gain more health and peace. I make most of the cosmetic products in our home and I will be very happy to show you all about them. Also in the kitchen, I have more than 4 years experience with live cultures (kefir, sourdough, sauerkraut and yogurt) and you will be involved in the maintenance and making of them.
    I put my heart in the kitchen, I believe that the kitchen is the centre of a home and you should expect not only delicious but well balanced meals. We try our best to buy only organic and local produce, and if you are worried about how will you be fed while you are away from your own home, have peace in mind that you won’t be hungry. WE ONLY EAT MEAT ONCE OR TWICE A WEEK! And if you are vegetarian or vegan, we are more then happy to help you to maintain your diet going.
    We will encourage you to learn more about the Waldorf system to raise children in a more natural and peaceful way. We try to follow a very simple life in order to give space to a happier childhood for our children, and in doing this, we realised we were gaining also time to connect to ourselves again. Being responsible of a child's wellbeing is always something that brings you back to your roots and helps you understand more about yourself, so do please take your time here with us as a life experience wether you plan on having kids or not ;-)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    If you are a minimalist, we madly need you!! We have been on the decluttering journey for about 2 years now and we genuinely want to become minimalists.
    Our days start at around 8.30am with a relaxed waking up and going downstairs for breakfast. Most of the times is only me and my kids, as Tom my husband works at night/sleeps during the day.
    Then we have lots of unstructured playtime which allows me to tidy up a bit, take a shower or just sit down and listen to music.
    We have a break/snack at around 10am which is usually something easy like yogurt, fruit or rice cakes, just to name some.
    Lunch is at 12 and I make the best out of it, but I can also be very lazy and just prepare quesadillas. I think the dynamics in the house are dictated by the meals and the energy of the kids, leading us to plan on the day what to do, where to go, etc. I have a cargo bike to take my kids around and as far as 1 hour cycling, theres a bike for you too :-)
    Dinner happens between 4-6pm depending on how busy is the day
    Bed time is at 8pm, we start unwinding at around 7.30pm

    My kids are very independent and used to play on their own, they also listen to audiobooks a lot, I say theres no much to do with them, obviously the first weeks you will be some kind of superstar and they will follow you everywhere to know you, but they also know you need your space and that when you have your door closed nobody can ask you for anything.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    German, french, Polish, Chinese… surprise us! We want to learn! Specially my kids. We are a bilingual family already where fluent English is spoken by everyone and fluent Spanish is understood by my kids.

  • Hébergement


    We have one room with a luxurious double bed, lots of light and space to accommodate your belongings, and we also have a tiny room with a bunk bed, this is my son’s room but he is not ready to move out of my room just yet...

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Its a quiet village, but since Covid-19 our house is busy with kids and lots of going in and out. We follow a very healthy and complete diet at home. And if we eat meat expect the best unprocessed local meat. ;-)
    There’s a bus every hour to the city, public transport in Ireland is quite expensive but we can provide you with a visit to the city once a week. The bus to the city takes 20-30 min depending on the route it takes, and there’s also a big town 7min away from our village on bus and 35-40 min on the bike where Aupair meetings happen on a regular basis, lots of pubs, shops and a local produce market.
    If you are willing to help more, we will be happy to sit down and discuss some extra money.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We currently have a guest who works from his room creating apps, he has 3 different computers all connected to our wifi, so its pretty decent.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 337915912536