Building, gardening, house keeping and animal care at our place in the Caribbean, Punta Uva, Costa Rica

  • Enregistré comme favori 45 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are NOT a hotel. We are a unique property on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica where we make our home and also open our doors to like-minded people who want to disconnect, reconnect, create and transform their lives and businesses. Our property includes a few casitas, a large open-air kitchen, and a meditation/yoga/dance platform a 3-minute walk from the beach. The property also includes untouched rainforest for nature walks and bird/animal watching.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in paradise on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. If you've already visited Costa Rica, but not yet the Atlantic side, you are in for a treat. The town of Puerto Viejo (8 kilometers from our property) is a diverse blend of Jamaican/Costa Rican/European residents. If offers a chance to learn Spanish, but also discover a different way of living and being. Most people get around with bikes and the pace is slow. We are a Tico (Costa Rican)/Swedish couple who love to teach you all about this wonderful country, culture, and also learn from you.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for a couple who want to serve as caretakers/gardeners/animal lovers. After our first amazing workaway experience we realize that a mature couple is the best fit for us and can stay for minimum 2 months (up to 3 months).

    You will live at the property and serve in a variety of roles from maintaining the gardens (there is opportunity for helping us expand our permaculture vision), minor repair, building, house cleaning, upkeep as well as taking care of our three dogs and numerous ducks while we travel at times.

    This is the perfect fit for a couple who is more introverted and love to spend time in nature.

    Since we will be trusting you with our property and fury family members, we want a couple who is mature, responsible, kind, hard working, respectful, and flexible. This is NOT the best option for people who are traveling/changing location every few weeks or who are interested in meeting lots of different people. We do not permit outside visitors, so bringing friends over, is not an option. Of course, there are plenty of places to meet people (like in town or through various activities), and we encourage you to explore options outside the property.

    We have one full-time employee who is the chief caretaker. We also have one temporary person who helps us clean part-time and as we are still doing construction on the land, we have several contract employees who help us as needed.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own small, but comfortable suite on the property. It has a full size bed and a small kitchen/refri. It also have a private deck. Laundry is available in the common area. Included in the stay are bicycles to get around and once a week, you may use the car to run personal errands which are sometimes challenging on the bike. You will receive a stipend for food and will be responsible for all food/cooking for yourself.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Most importantly, we value nature and silence. This is the perfect opportunity for a couple who are introverts and like to be alone. If you are looking for a great place to write your next book, or sit alone in nature, you've found the right place. We don't permit speakers/conference calls on speaker/loud music, etc. There is also no smoking allowed (of any kind) at our property. We are looking for someone who does not use any type of drugs.

    The property is the definition of "nature immersion" and you will be woken up by howler monkeys around 4:30am and almost extinct Giant Green Makaws (Lapas as they are called in Costa Rica) gawking at all hours of the day. You'll also hear Toucans singing and enjoy daily monkey visits. We also have occasional sloths visit. If you are a "birder" and want to sit with your binoculars to watch the birds, you'll need to go no further than the kitchen or look-out hammocks. We have a bird guide book that we use daily as we always see a new bird we know nothing about already.

    We live in the jungle and there are many many opportunities to visit several refuge centers, go paddle boarding/snorkling/surfing, visit waterfalls, canope/ziplining, etc. Puerto Viejo is a 20 minute bike ride, which is the main town. There are are several local and national buses that will take you into the capital San Jose (about a 5-hour ride).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have functional internet, but we live in the rainforest in Costa Rica and at times, the towers are down and there is no internet (no fault of ours). I personally work via Zoom and it works, but I have a phone back up as well.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We would consider it but we already have 3 dogs and several ducks so it depends on how the pet would get along with our dogs. No cats. Our dogs are not big fans!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 319793574291

Feedback (6)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Help with projects on a family-run farm and lodge in Palmar Sur, Costa Rica
Join us and learn self sustainable living in homesteading ranch, Bagaces, Costa Rica