Join us in our slice of paradise near Tauranga, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 29 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.08.2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our slice of paradise is a one acre property in a quiet area out of Tauranga with a distant view across the inner harbour and across to the Kaimai range. We manage the property by applying organic practices with young fruit trees of various sorts, vegetable gardens, establishing areas of native trees, lawn (used for playing various games) and a simple home with large covered outdoor area. As Denise and I (Marion) are both in our sixties we are finding the physical work is a challenge and we would love some help around the property in the garden and doing general maintenance.
    Our local community is friendly and works as a community on various projects such a system trapping pests in local bush and forest areas, holding a dinner get together once a month and sharing information and swapping resources. Many of the community members a focussed on permaculture, Organics and sustainability.
    There are great bush areas for walking, bike rides, beaches, a local Marae, and a small set of shops nearby.
    Although there is no bus service here, we can drop workawayers to a bus stop if planned in advance and can take them to town when we go. Workawayers who have their own vehicle would have greater flexibility. Plenty of parking in the property.
    We both love good food and enjoy learning new ways of cooking. Workawayers may enjoy cooking with us and sharing their knowledge of foods and cooking. We usually eat the organic food we grow, with organic meat obtained locally where's possible.
    We welcome people from any country, of any age who would like to engage with us by sharing their own knowledge and skills as we share ours.
    Our property is a smoke and drug free property so please do not apply if these are part of your life.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers could expect to learn about organic garden principles and practices, develop their 'Kiwi' English language, enjoy the outdoor lifestyle many kiwis live, sing waiata as we play our ukeleles ( play their own with us..., learn about kiwi cuisine, and some of the things about New Zealanders lives and beliefs they are interested in.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for workawayers who can put in a solid 25 hrs a week (hours can be negotiated as full days or part days) helping in the garden and with general property maintenance. A reasonable level of general fitness and willingness to give things a go are important. Workawayers may expect to do such things as digging, weeding, harvesting, chipping, compost making, trimming, painting, planting, pruning and taking a share of general household tasks.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Travellers will share the house with us - one single bedroom and one double available. One bathroom and toilet only in the house. Everyone (including us) is expected to be considerate of others. We will all eat together when at the property with some sharing of cooking and cleaning up.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is plenty to do with time off depending on travellers preferences. Beaches, fishing, swimming, hot mineral pools, bush walking, cycling, enjoying all the city of Tauranga has to offer. At home we have plenty of reading material, board games, unlimited wifi ( although sometimes intermittent), games such as pétanque, badminton and darts.
    There is no public transport but travellers can be dropped to nearest bus stop or come to town or beach with us when we go.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Large flat space available on driveway. Power hookup and water available.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 315527469529