Peaceful homestead in Hardwick, rural Vermont, USA

Country

États-Unis

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 15 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.06.2021

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a homesteader. I am creating gardens with no till methods with an eye towards native plants and permaculture. I want to grow all the food, dye plants, flowers, etc. I am slowly starting a salve and soap business and really just love creating as much as I can. I am also a potter and a knitter and overall curious person.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I live in rural Vermont. Many people in this region grow some of their own food and most people are intricately connected to the land. This region is populated with rugged folks who don't shy from hard, rewarding labor. Winter lasts, at least, six months up here and the growing season is short.

    There are many creative people here - blacksmiths, potters, puppeteers, circus workers, etc. This is a farming town and, if desired, there would be opportunity for a workawayer to find part time paid employment while, perhaps, learning a new skill and meeting other folks - dairy farms, pasture raised animal farms, cheese makers, breweries, orchards, etc.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am creating a homestead in rural Vermont. I have been on this land for nearly three years and most of my current work is building soil. I practice heavy mulch, no till gardening and have a small greenhouse. Much of the garden chores is spreading hay mulch, watering seedings, transplanting, spreading wood chips. My ultimate goal is to grow as much of my own food as possible and then to host workshops, pay what you can, to share what I have learned through my successes and failures.

    Besides continuing to mulch, some things I could use help to accomplish:
    - Installing a fence around the garden to keep the critters out
    - Forming beds in the garden
    - Building a tent platform
    - Building a better chicken coop
    - Putting up a frame for another small greenhouse
    - Chopping down brambles and creating more space for more gardens and orchards
    - Building a woodshed
    - Converting an old cast iron tub into a hot tub
    - Stacking firewood
    - Digging a trench to run electricity to a small barn

    I have multiple works off the land. Some work days are 4 hours and some are 8 hours. I would encourage a workawayer to relax or explore this area when I am at work. If they wanted, the workawayer could certainly help with some projects while I am off the land.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I have a large, six person tent. There is not currently a tent platform and I would like to build one - you could help!

    Food would be a combo of help yourself and me making food to share. I quite enjoy making food to share with others. I am less likely to make big meals on my work days.

    I have bulk grains - rice, beans, oats - and a good amount of frozen veggies from the previous summer. I am a vegetarian and accept meateaters with some rules. No meat in certain pans and a strong awareness of cross contamination.

    I do have a small barn with a propane fridge and stove. They are currently not hooked up and could be if desired.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    My place is at the end of a dead end road. It is quiet up here and I like that very much. The land has a very active beaver wetland with a lot of wildlife. I see my place as me living on their land and would like anyone staying here to have a similar outlook as far as respecting their space. There is a pond on my land and I dip in it to cool off - the water is very cold!

    My days off and most of my time here is spent working on the projects listed above. I also like to relax and usually take breaks during the hottest part of the day.

    For time off - There are old, nondriveable roads reachable from my house with a short walk over a short and very new section of the beaver dam (requires waterproof boots). It is very peaceful up here and yet still close to town ~ 5 miles. There are many hiking trails within a short drive, bodies of water for swimming and kayaking, cute small towns to visit with funky museums, coffee shops, used book stores. There is a raptor center about an hour away. I do not have a spare vehicle. I have two bikes that haven't been used in awhile and probably need a tuneup.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    The pet must be friendly towards chickens, cats, and other dogs - I don't have a dog but friends that visit for walks do have dogs.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3-4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 289672137561