Share my home and help with a variety of tasks in the house and garden in Brisbane, Australia



Enregistré comme favori 116 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

  • Description


    I can sometimes (see Calendar) host autonomous, creative and mature Workaways with good communication and practical skills.

    In general type of work is most suited to Workaways with good stores of general physical energy, a zen soul, sense of service to others and a relaxed disposition capable of generosity.

    In return I gratefully share my home and what time I can manage to offer you for an initial short stay orientation to Brisbane .

    Right now what I would most welcome are helpers who enjoy cleaning or gardening or simple handy person household tasks.

    If you have practical skills and/or knowledge of permaculture or organic gardening /love of plants and trees in an urban habitat all the better. I'd love to hear from you.

    If you are a person who likes to get your hands in the earth my garden has great bones so rewards effort with sense of achievement.

    In any case you need to be the sort of Workaway who is happily prepared to contentedly contribute a few honest hours a day in purposeful negotiated activity.

    That might mean some weeding, pruning or clearing, helping to reshaping various different parts of my garden or assisting with a project..

    I need someone who can share a vision and with the motivation to bring a task to fruition over a short intense period of activity.

    I like to think Workaways who stay with me find projects worthy of their enthusiasm....

    I also genuinely appreciate the often undervalued skill set needed for quality general cleaning preferably with natural cleaning products and a love of order.

    Aromatherapy graduates would be welcome or someone who takes pleasure in making a room look, smell and feel welcoming to others.

    I'm in the process of re generating these attributes in my home space.

    Perhaps you can see from the photos this is an old style gracious Queenslander built for the Queensland climate and renovated over the years to bring extra light and cross ventilation.

    The house sits on a breezy hillside overlooking the city, the famous Gabba cricket ground, and local parks and gardens.

    It suits arts loving inner urban creatives.

    After agreed assistance each day I hope you'll take some time to explore local area. Transport is pleasant and manageable :
    *️️️️️ ferry ride to city
    *️️️️️ bus and train services within short walking distance
    *️️️️️ cafes, cinemas , book shops and cultural precincts
    *️️️️️ walking and bike paths nearby ( I have bike you could use if you are willing to help with basic bike maintenance/security)
    *️️️️️ Norman Park is close to the airport - arrival and departure is possible by airport train to nearby train stations

    Finally you need to be the kind of person who wants to take advantage of a sense of peaceful meditative stillness. I aim to create and maintain that here. You need to be prepared to enjoy some quiet time.

    So are you up for four hours of honest, energetic, purposeful effort each work day and related good clear communication?

    Staying longer than an Workaway suggested initial 5-7 days may be negotiable depending on how it goes first up.

    Though close to the city I'm told my home has a kind of country ambiance (an inner city urban sanctuary) that the best fit are welcome to share.

    It is probably obvious that as a host I'm most interested in kind empathic Workaways who are self motivated, and who take personal pride in seeing a requested job well done (because that's just who you are) .

    I'd prefer to have a chance to see your previous Workaway reference to help me get a better idea before deciding on our compatibility.

    I think the fundamentals of exchange of cultures and experiences is a lovely feature of this program worth promoting and protecting .Therefore it is not always possible for me to accept Workaways all year round but I do respect requests and respond as soon as I'm able.

    Happy travels.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Hopefully, some urban perspectives on Australian identity and culture and our place within an increasingly interconnected global world - a chance to share dreams, ideas and travel experiences .

  • Aide


    Most of the tasks I am keen to share benefit from good practical skills of one sort or another and a creative eye.. Please describe your experience and interest in your request letter.

    Importantly understanding the scope of tasks and seeing them through to satisfying completion - preferably with a distinct self managing attitude to agreed work commitments - is just as important .

    If you are a couple please each respond individually about your characteristics and describe what unique capability each brings specific to this particular stay .

    A feeling for how you spend your days is helpful.

    For someone with specialised skills in sewing or joinery I can offer several projects that would benefit from fresh motivation to help move them along.

    Less urgent but interesting there are projects around home that an eco-creative might tackle with me .

    Shared preparation and cleanup, and the capacity to produce healthy simple vegetarian and non vegetarian meals round out my ideal Workaway profile and hopefully your stay.

    Lunch is usually the result of some kind of flexible self catering.

    Days off are self managed - take off on adventures make the most of the great SEQld national parks. beaches and Moreton Bay islands

    If you are musically inclined then sensitive timing of acoustic music making after physical effort would be lovely.

    Honesty and respect for others and house rules means you know the importance of keeping your room (as well as the common living areas) clean and tidy during and most particularly at the end of your stay.. This includes cleaning the bathroom after your use and following simple departure protocol.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    Own room opening to deck. with garden outlook House on two levels has two bathrooms - main may sometimes need to be shared if I'm accommodating private guests or (occasionally) other Workaways e.g.where there is a cross over.

    This is a definite non smoking environment inside and out.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As you've seen already I do ask for a Workaway host reference for each person (or other if new to Workaway) to get an idea of your 'fit' and background in respecting other hosts expectations and Workaway guidelines.

    After putting in some work around 'home' you'll find you are near to some iconic Brisbane places where you can walk, run, ride climb or paddle.

    There are theatres, local book shops cafes, cinemas, shopping as well as lovely bush walks and city paths (bikes and kayak are available from hire companies around the city) .

    I prefer to host those who want to take the opportunity to get out for some exercise after helping out here each day.

    Ferry terminal, bus and trains to city are about ten minutes walk away. Other nice spots are only pleasant half hour walk or train ride away .

    Norman Park is a reasonably convenient base to head into Brisbane's cultural precincts riverside gardens and the sculptured landscaped walkways of Southbank parklands.
    After that, home offers option to spend some quiet downtime, to withdraw, reflect in a journal or meditate. House has some (limited) internet access.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Each Workaway effort 4 to 5 hrs per day, 5 days

N° de référence hôte : 289233414544