Help out on an Organic Farm in the beautiful Aravali Hills near Udaipur, India

Country

Inde

Enregistré comme favori 26 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.01.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Namaste! My name is Lalit. I live in Udaipur, Rajasthan. It is a beautiful and famous city in India known for it's lakes, history and beautiful Rajput architecture. I run a popular coffee shop/cafe in the heart of the Old City and I also have an organic farm in the countryside 20 km outside of Udaipur. It is a peaceful place in the foothills of the Aravali mountains away from the noise of the busy city. The farm is nestled in the hills and there is so much simplicity and natural beauty here. I started the farm project during lockdown in May of 2020. Since then I have built a farmhouse and have started cultivating the land and growing a variety of organic crops. Everything we do on the farm is done by hand...I wish to stay away from the use of machines and work the land as it has been done for hundreds of years. I have plans to grow the farm in time and build it into a farm-stay with comfortable tent camping and small cabins for people who wish to stay on the farm. I'd also love to have a garden restaurant and eventually a general store on the property. My dream is to use this land to bring like-minded people together, create a community, share farm-to-table meals, and learn from one another. All of these ideas take time and plenty of labor.

    As this project develops, I will have many different jobs available for volunteers...including a need for farmers/gardeners, builders, manual labourers, painters, artists, photographers, and anyone who has a knowledge of permaculture and sustainable development. I am searching for people passionate to work on the land, people who can bring great ideas to the table, people who love connecting with nature, respecting our planet, and building community with one another. I believe in the value of hard work and getting your hands dirty. I believe in the goodness of people and that when we come together, a single idea can change the world. I believe that Earth is our mother and we should treat her as a living being deserving of the upmost respect and consideration. I believe that sunrise is more beautiful that sunset. I believe in the power of plants to heal our bodies. But mostly I believe in the power of love...that loving one another and taking care of each other, no matter how vast our differences may seem, is the most important thing we can do in this life. I'm looking forward to seeing how this project unfolds over time and excited about all of the life-long friends I will inevitably make along the way. If this message resonates with you...please reach out and join me on my mission!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Volunteers working on the farm will experience true village life in Rajasthan. You will interact with local villagers, meet families, and village children. See how the locals cook food, work, farm and live their daily lives. You will see the true culture and simple life of farmers and villagers in Rajasthan. It is a place untouched by tourism and modern ways of living. You will also gain knowledge of building structures and farming the local way. You will have the opportunity to be a part of a community of like-minded people from diverse backgrounds. You will have the chance to make friends and connections, and interact with the local people...learning their culture and way of life.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Here on the farm we can use a variety of different kinds of help...

    * Gardening, planting, and general farm chores. I could use anyone who has knowledge of permaculture and organic and sustainable farming practices. We could really use people who have experience with gardening or farming, especially organic farming knowledge.

    * Building and construction. I am interested in finding skilled handymen who have knowledge of building and construction. It would be great to find volunteers who know sustainable building practices, have knowledge of eco retreats, and how to build and set up this retreat to comply with the proper eco practices.

    * Painting. I am looking for painters to paint the house.

    * I am looking for people who can help with photography documentation of the project and videography of the process.

    * Manual Labor. People who are good with labor jobs such as digging, clearing land, moving dirt, moving stone, etc.

    This project is out in the nature and in the mountains. The land is rustic and we need people who are physically fit to climb and walk a lot during the day...Unfortunately that makes our farm unfavourable for those who have limited mobility and we cannot accept physically handicapped volunteers for their own safety. Depending on the month you are visiting, the weather will greatly vary and we suggest you take that into consideration when planning your stay. In the summer it is very hot and sunny here, in monsoon it rains heavily every day...however it is also the time of year when the entire countryside turns green and blooms making it a beautiful time to visit. In the winter months, it can be quite cold at night and in the mornings, so be prepared with proper clothes. Another thing to note is that most tasks will take place outdoors...this is the mountains, so there will be insects, mosquitos, spiders, snakes...lizards. So, if that bothers you, this is not the job for you. * Note...you will see more of these sorts of things during or directly after the rainy season.

    I am flexible on the number of hours and days per week that volunteers will work. Roughly 5 days a week, 5 hours per day. I am flexible on the tasks that need done. If you come, I'm not going to force you to do things that you don't want to do. For example, I'm not going to ask you to move stones and dirt all day if you are someone who came for building. I'm sure we can find tasks/activities that fit each volunteer and wish for you to enjoy the work you are doing whilst you are here. I'm an easy person to get along with and mix well with people from all walks of life.

    Accommodation will be included and food will be provided. Meals can be cooked together, or can be prepared for you...It is also possible to provide you the ingredients you need (within reason) if you like to cook for yourself. Most meals will be vegetarian, however on special occasion if you wish to eat meat it is possible for us to cook chicken or mutton. On your off days if you wish to visit the city...I can provide transportation to and from Udaipur, however any activities that you do while there will be covered at your own cost. In the city you have the option to visit my art cafe where you will have a cozy place to hang out and meet other travellers.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Currently the accommodation will be a shared house on the farm with a kitchen, shared bathroom, and your own bed. The space is open plan living, so there is not a lot of privacy. If you want a more private accommodation, there is the possibility of providing simple tent accommodation. In the future we plan to build a cabin to house volunteers, but haven't made it that far yet.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This is a great opportunity for anyone who wants to get out in nature and experience the Indian countryside. You will gain knowledge of farming and building. You will learn to cook the local foods and experience the local villager's way of life and unique culture. All while staying in the beautiful Aravali Hills. Its very serene, untouched by tourism....a truly beautiful place to stay. Away from the city lights, with clear skies, you can sleep beneath the stars. It's a great experience for anyone who enjoys the outdoors and the mountains. The farm is located just 20 km from Udaipur which is a city full of culture, color and art! In your spare time you can visit the many lakes that are both in and outside of Udaipur. There are also many beautiful old temples in town and outside town including Jagdish Temple, Sas Bahu Temple, and Eckling Ji Temple to name a few. Udaipur city is known for it's rooftop restaurants providing stunning views of the lakes and stunning Rajput architecture where you can meet and interact with the many other travellers visiting the city. You can see cultural shows, participate in art classes, take boat rides on the lake, and wonder through the old city with its many cafes, shops and vendors selling handicrafts by Rajasthan artisans.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There is 4g high speed internet available and you can use 3 GB per day .

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is enough space to park any kind of vehicle.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 286136976274