Make A Dream Come True while renovating an old family farm in Little Fort, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 17 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.11.2021

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    MAKE A DREAM COME TRUE. For YOU, spending time in Beautiful Little Fort, British Columbia CaNaDa........ for ME, help me realise my dream of renovating my 85 y/o mothers farm........For MY MOTHER, to bring her pipe dream back to life.
    Forty acres bordering the scenic Lower North Thompson River is a perfect spot to integrate work with play. With lots to do renovating this old homestead; painting, fencing, weed management, gardening, chasing chickens, etc. Time out can be spent fishing, swimming and kayaking in the river tributary. Or for the more energetic; hiking in the surrounding forest. Approximately one hour away is the very popular Wells Gray Wilderness area.
    I am an active member of Kamloops Gleaners, a likeminded group that harvests seasonal fruit from home owners; the produce is shared between home owner, charity groups and the pickers. This is a great opportunity for work-a-wayers to meet some of the locals as well as to learn how to preserve the produce for winter consumption.
    Come and learn what it is like to live on a small farm that is getting started.
    I enjoy sports and often attend Carpet Bowling to meet with the locals. My favourite is a racquet sport called Pickleball and I have organised this in the neighbouring town of Barriere - there would be opportunity for volunteers to learn this 'fastest growing sport in North America.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Bénévolat
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers could learn that a small amount of effort can produce wonderful results, Learn how many Canadians prepare for winter; preserving fruit and vegetable, storing firewood. Exchange travel stories and improve on English. Try different 'Canadian' cuisine and introduce the host to your cultural food. Enjoy the peacefulness of country living, away from the hustle and bustle of a large city

  • Aide

    Aide

    Lots of chores to help renovate this old farm, My elderly single mother tried for over 20 years to maintain her 40 acres bordering the North Thompson River. Younger, Stronger and Imaginative individuals would see instant results of almost any work they undertook. Feelings of satisfaction galore. Painting, carpentry, finishing, fencing, gardening, weeding, seasonal fruit harvesting as a volunteer with Kamloops Gleaners, chickens, cooking, learning to preserve food for the winter, getting firewood ( hiking), refreshing my limited language skills in French, Spanish and German while I help you to increase your command of English.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Original two bedroom cottage is mostly renovated. Until completed travellers may use facilities within the main log home. If situated within the log home, a large room suitable for a couple and one smaller bedroom available with these rooms sharing one bathroom. The kitchen and lounge room are shared spaces with the host. Food supplied ( I am vegetarian/pescartarian but understand others need to eat meat) Travellers would be responsible to make their breakfast and lunch meals with evening meal sharing arrangements to be made on an individual basis ( let's enjoy each other's cooking !)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Helpers can enjoy the river with 'stable' canoe supplied, river fishing ( own license required), hiking on the ten forested acres. I often go into Kamloops (90 kms away) for main grocery shopping and chores. I LOVE playing Pickleball, so often head into Barriere (30 kms away) to play. Helpers may or may not decide to come. Little Fort is close to Clearwater and the wilderness area of Wells Gray Park.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.5)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 274522751576