mis à jour   Last minute

Help at a jungle retreat in Langkawi, Malaysia

  • Malaisie
  • Enregistré comme favori 734 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 juin 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    I own a little jungle retreat, home stay and spa in the nature of Langkawi island.

    I am very passionate about living partially off grid and sustainable living. That is why I chose my establishment right in the jungle. It is very secluded and there are always works to do to keep up the place. The retreat has only two rooms, an outdoor kitchen, a tree house, big space at the lawn and a day spa which only serve two people at a time.

    I love living in an outdoor concept. So my living room is actually under the bamboo tree with recycle table and chairs. The dining area is also made of wood and sit outside the rooms. My guests would sit or lay around on the open space, BBQ, singing under the stars. You can bring your books to read on the hammock under the trees.

    Use the open space to do yoga, Tai Chi or meditation under the sky. I am now also in the process of growing herbs, fruits and vegetables and farming chickens. It is my dream to turn this place into a little holistic sanctuary.

    As my establishment is small, I am basically doing a "one-man show" most of the times. I am the full time employee. I am doing all the cleaning, setting up beds, gardening, cooking, laundry, maintenance.

    I have four lovely dogs who are the main attraction to my animal loving guests. They too 'work' for me to keep the guests entertained.

    I am looking for workawayers who are responsible, independent and passionate about the work that I am doing to assist me, exchange knowledge and skills to assist me for MINIMUM A MONTH.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Many things you can learn here:

    - Fauna and flora in the tropical country. There are lots of beautiful nature on Langkawi island.
    - Secret places at the waterfall, beaches, mountains.
    - Farming and growing own sustainable food. Local herbs benefits and usage.
    - How to live as a minimalist, build things your own, Example: how to build a chicken coup or make a chair from bamboo. How to compose waste and turn it into fertilizer.
    - How to care for stray animals.
    - You will learn about the local lifestyle and the local cultures. As you will be invited to many festive occasions, traditional ceremonies, rituals and celebrations.
    - Get to know my home stay guests from all over the world. Exchange cultures, knowledge, skills and learn many different languages
    - If you are good in music, we can also do jamming, live performance as I know lots of musicians on the island.
    - I love to cook, so we can also exchange some cooking tips.
    - I have lots of friends and you may be invited to join me and my friends over dinner, gatherings, parties. You will get to know the friendly local people and expats from time to time.

  • Aide


    You only need to help me 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week with the following tasks:

    1) Gardening
    Raking the leaves everyday, cutting grass with a spinning hand cutting machine, trimming trees once a week. Planting herbs and flowers and water them everyday. I have all the necessary tools for you.

    2) Cleaning
    Outdoor kitchen, spa and two guest rooms. Including taking the garbage out. Separate them into recycle bins, compose the waste as fertilizer.

    3) Laundry
    I have a washing machine. Just put them in and then sun drying. Fold them nicely and put them accordingly into the cupboard.

    4) Taking care of the animals: 4 dogs, 3 cats, 6 chickens & 1 turtle. Prepare their food and feed them once a day. Shower the dogs once a week. Basically taking care of their overall well being.

    5) Building or fixing the house and other maintenance work from time to time. Building, plumbing or electrical experience is a plus point but not compulsory.

    6) Taking care of the homestay guests. Including taking care of the guests, getting groceries and amenities, checking in and check out, introducing them about the local attractions, dos and don'ts. Assist them in many ways. A valid driving license will be a plus.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Malay: Courant
    Chinois (mandarin): Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I love to learn different languages from all over the world.

  • Hébergement


    Tree House. A newly built 8 feet x 8 feet small tree house with a 4 feet balcony on the rock hill over seeing greenery of the jungle. The height is 8 feet above the ground. It is breezy and constantly you can see birds, monkeys, squirrels running around. A mattress or two (if couple). A table fan, lights and mosquito net. A separate bathroom and toilet down the rock hill. You will need to be adventurous and be prepared to stay alone in the nature. I am not staying there all the times. There are snakes, scorpions, geckos, mosquitoes and other wild animals and bugs around.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    1) You will need to posess a valid license for motorbike, scooter or car to assist me getting groceries and stuff.

    2) You will need to get a local sim card for communication through WhatsApp when there is no WiFi available.

    3) My place is LGBTQIA friendly, if you have an issue, it's better to stay away.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have wifi but as the location is in the jungle, the signal is not so strong. For instance if you do a zoom meeting, there will be lagging and skyping occasionally turn to audio only, browsing, surfing, emailing is fine.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Ample of space to park.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    This is a pet friendly place, except you must take your pets home and not leave them with me when you leave.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, for minimum a month

N° de référence hôte : 265724571972

Feedback (11)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Donnez-nous un coup de main dans notre rizière bio à Kedah en Malaisie
Become part of our creative community in Ulu Dong, Pahang, Malaysia