Communal homestead, organic orchard and vegetable garden, and livestock in Northern California, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 701 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    78.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is a 100 acre farm and homestead in the hills of Northern California. There's lots of daily maintenance tasks and special projects going on that you can help out on, as well as plenty of creative opportunities to express your skills in the landscape, art studio, and kitchen.

    But it's not ALL work... ;)
    We have a large, deep infinity swimming pool with a magnificent westerly view of Hopland vineyards and sunsets.

    There are 5 full time residents that live on the land and we enjoy having workawayers come through with stories to share. We love people coming to stay and sharing their culinary tastes too, even better if you love cooking, and that could be one of your tasks.

    The ideal workawayer on the farm would be hardy and heartful. Hardy because it's nature, rustic, steep, dusty, very dry and hot in the summer... and heartful because we live in community. We practice communication, cooperation, and kindness.

    Fun fact: We have a 48kw solar array which is a sight to see. Our land currently has an 'annual net zero', as we feed back into the grid all our excess power.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Smoking tobacco or drinking alcohol on the farm is prohibited. Our property is considered a sanctuary for those that come to stay. But at your discretion off the property.
    *We do not allow other people's pets to come because of our livestock and our guardian dogs.

    We're looking for people to come and stay for a minimum of a month , and after that an evaluation and possibility for longer if a very good fit.

    We are LGBTQ friendly

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    There are people from many walks of life, mostly alternative. We have people with interesting life stories and backgrounds. It's an opportunity to see how a working farm functions and to live in community. There's always lots to learn for those who are forever students of life.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Possible ways to get involved:
    Large fruit orchard - weedwhacking, thinning, pruning, harvesting, fruit prep and preservation.
    Veggie garden - weeding, watering, planting, harvesting, cooking.
    Animal care - 2 dogs, 2 cats, 4 goats, 13 chickens, and 20 peacocks.
    Construction - We have several construction projects on-going, including the first CBC permitted Hemp Mini House, which is underway, several shipping container structures, and multiple Airstream trailer renovations.
    Landscaping - mulching, installation, weeding.
    Outdoor art projects - murals, sculpture garden, tile work, and more!
    Beautification - generally keeping the place tidy and beautiful. This usually means moving piles of stuff that accumulate, often construction materials. Kinda grunty and dirty work but so necessary and super appreciated!!
    Cooking - we have community dinners most nights and rotate cooking duties. We'd love for you to cook one night a week, and even more if you love cooking!

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We recommend bringing your own sleeping bag, but basic bedding, sheets, blankets, and pillow can be supplied.

    Depending on the time of year (temperature), the housing projects that are complete, and your preference, you might stay in a large tent with futon mattress, Airstream trailer, or shipping container building. (Of the 5 full-time residents here, 3 of us live in Airstreams, and 1 in a building.) There's a shared bathhouse with glass shower with a view of the land and valley beyond. Communal kitchen is stocked with healthy, organic staples. You are on your own as far as breakfast and lunch preparation, though we provide the food. We have communal dinners all together most nights. Some nights you may be on your own for dinner. Some nights you might want to go to town. Wifi throughout farm.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Time off can be spent at the pool or hiking the property. Trips off the mountain could include eating out in Hopland, 10 min away; running errands in Ukiah, 30 min away; going to the coast, 2 hrs away; Montgomery redwood forest, 1 hr away; lots of wine tasting nearby (No tobacco nor alcohol allowed on the farm), Orr Hot Springs, hiking.... and more!

    We're kinda in the boonies best to have a car, but we can accommodate catching rides with people on the farm

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There is wifi on most of the land, living areas. There is a spot for a camper van with wifi access.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20 hours of farm a week, community service which includes clean up and cooking a dinner per week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

















N° de référence hôte : 246111295229