Come experience homesteading in the magical mountains of Asheville, North Carolina USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 488 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    604

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small farm in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. The garden has always been my passion and teacher, and landing myself on these 6 acres to take on horses, water issues, invasives and endless bug mysteries, has been an eye opening experience to say the least! After watching Kiss the Ground, I am inspired to try regenerative farming techniques to get my soil back in tip top shape and to help alleviate some water run off issues, fingers crossed.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Asheville is a diverse community of entrepreneurs, outdoor enthusiasts, tourists and eccentric people who enjoy good food and drink! Asheville is a named beer city USA, with a plethora of craft breweries, amazing dining experiences, hiking and biking galore. Anybody who visits this city, will feel inspired by the magic that exists in these ancient Blue Ridge Mountains.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Every year things change around the farm as we learn and grow about permaculture. We have studied, to name a few: Ruth Stout growing methods (no till), the Garden of Eden method, hugelkultur, humanure, and this year, more focus on cover crops and regenerative farming. I enjoy hearing what you have learned as much as I enjoy offering you ideas.

    Here are some things that happen yearly:
    • Planting more natives: trees of all sorts, shrubs and things that the pollinators thrive on.
    • Plucking out the invasive plants which can be tiresome and boring and endless!

    Spring:
    Pastures: weeding and seeding, clearing rocks and sticks, working with cover crops
    Vegetable garden: preparing soil for vegetable planting, starting seedlings, planting seeds
    Flower gardens: dead heading, clean-up and general yard maintenance
    Animals: barn clean-up, chicken coop clean-up, horse hygiene/care, picking up horse manure for composting
    Composting: picking up grounds from local coffee shop, mixing, blending, moving, making compost tea

    Summer: lots of garden weeding and maintenance, picking vegetables, grass mowing, fence mending, putting up hay for horses

    Fall: harvesting the gardens and canning the goods, drying herbs, seed saving, preparing beds for winter, picking up bagged leaves for the winter chicken coop (and compost)

    Winter: horse and stall care, feeding and watering

    Building: renovation of a workshop; small building projects that come up; perhaps build a duck house in the near future; bird houses

    Pond restoration: planting for the pollinators; removing the never-ending water shield plant

    Self motivation is key, as well as working together!

    **Bonus: Have you read Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer? An amazing read for any homesteader!
    And Kiss the Ground for all your regenerative farming ideas.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    My workaway space is a three season workshop within 50 feet of the main house with a small outfitted kitchen. It's rustic and cozy. In the cooler weather, the heat source is a wood stove. Is this something you have been exposed to before?

    Critters abound around this farm. Think mice, rats, snakes, bear. While they are hopefully not in your room--well, no guarantees really... i have busted a mouse or two--you do need to keep your space tidy, free of food particles and store all food in proper containers... the containers are provided.

    Meals: breakfast and lunch are on your own to fix. In season, eggs and veggies are readily available and for you to partake of. I eat a mostly plant based organic diet, occasionally meat too, and we can cook and clean up together for supper with ingredients provided. There are nights I go out... and let you fend for yourself.

    I enjoy private time as much as social time. Please feel free to do what you need to do.

    Please be considerate of others and tidy
    • I maintain a healthy, smoke-free environment on the farm.
    • Due to chemical sensitivities, I ask you to refrain from using perfumed products, including laundry detergent

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The area is full of wonderful activities to partake of: local artists around town, music everywhere, local shops, Biltmore mansion, mountain activities, the arboretum, river activities, dining out, breweries. The Blue Ridge Parkway is nearby for hiking and biking.

    There is a local bus stop within walking distance of my house to take you into town, a mere 3 miles away. I have one or two bikes to loan out. Uber/Lyft are readily available from my house and town. I can always drop off into on my many errand runs.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















N° de référence hôte : 245456667282