mis à jour   Last minute

Play games and help around the house in Marion, North Carolina, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 48 fois
  • Activité récente: 3 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    Hello! We are Grace (they) and Mike (he), a mid-30s married couple living in the mountains in western North Carolina. We used to travel extensively (we've done a year-and-a-half of WorkAway as volunteers ourselves!) and have recently bought our first house, which we are trying to make into a lovely urban homestead. We are both creative people who love playing and designing board games, making music, and trying new things. We are looking for people who are excited to hang out, try new things, and learn as they go more than we're looking for people who are experienced volunteers (though of course your experience will be welcomed and respected!).

    Our space will work really well for couples, friends traveling together, families (we don't have kids but we love kids!), and independent travelers who are okay having long chunks of time for themselves. If you need a lot of time to yourself to work on a creative project, we might be a really good fit! For those traveling with pets, our home is unfortunately not set up to be pet-friendly.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We invite you to join us for a taste of small-town mountain life and fun times in an extremely nerdy household!

    We have the most incredible view of the mountains from our backyard, so we hope you will come and relax and recharge here. We are new to this area but would love to show you the things we love about it - going for hikes, hearing live music, and going to local festivals.

    We play a lot of board games and would LOVE to play games with you! It's a great way to socialize and enjoy time together without a lot of pressure. If you are a board game designer (really specific, we know) then we have a lot to additionally offer you. We can connect you with our local playtesting groups, would love to test your games at home, and can possibly even help you get to conventions as we attend most of the big ones. We ran a mentorship program for board game designers so we're all about fostering those connections! And if you've never designed a board game before... you might just be a game designer by the time you leave!

    We're both creative people in general and have various DIY interests, so we can get crafty together - we love trying new projects and would love to learn any skills you want to share! We have an entire music room where you're welcome to play anything you like, and Grace can teach you beginner ukulele if you would like (there's a meetup group downtown we can jam with every Saturday!).

    We would love to provide you with a space to work on your own creative projects, as we know how important those are. So if you're working on a novel or an art project or are writing music and need a lot of space and time to do that, we might be a really great fit for you. We'll want to hear about your progress and cheer you on!

    We are both native English speakers so we can help you practice your English if that's something you're working on.

    We are also an LGBTQIA+ friendly household. :)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We like to have clear expectations, so we are going to aim to have you help us with a small list of regular tasks and then assist with one bigger project while you're here.

    For 2023, our big goals are to do improvements around our home (especially in our large neglected yard) and move towards making this place more of an urban homestead. We have gardens we want to create, plans for a chicken coop that needs built, dreams of a polytunnel, and a million rooms to paint around the house. We would love to have your help with the projects that interest you the most! We will be working alongside you and figuring it all out together, so you'll be joining us for the adventure.

    For daily tasks, we have a ton of yardwork that needs kept up with, so you'll probably be mowing the lawn and helping trim bushes and things like that. We're only on an acre of land, but there's a lot of yard to keep up with! Basic housework (sweeping and dusting, doing dishes, cleaning rooms/surfaces, watering plants, etc) and cooking meals (if you enjoy that) will round out your list of tasks.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have multiple large bedrooms available with 1-3 beds in each, so we will find a room that fits your needs! You will most likely have your own bedroom but may have to share a bathroom with other travelers.

    We'll eat dinner together most nights, breakfast together a couple of times a week (unless you prefer to sleep in), and have supplies for you to take care of your own lunch most days. We enjoy cooking for people and are happy for you to share your cooking talents with us if that's something you enjoy! We can accommodate a pretty wide variety of diets (Grace is vegetarian, Mike is not) so just let us know what you need. The kitchen will be yours to use as you need!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live up the hill from Marion, NC, which is a pretty small town. If you enjoy walking, we'll be a great fit as we are less than a mile walk from everything major in town (multiple restaurants and breweries, the post office, the arts co-op, etc). Mike works in the very hip-and-happening Asheville, NC, and would be happy to give you a ride along on his way to/from work so that you can explore the city on your own.

    We are chill folks looking to connect with others and to give opportunities to a community that has given us so much! We look forward to meeting you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have strong wifi throughout most of the house, but we have limited three-pronged outlets as the house is old. We can be sure to set you up with a welcoming workstation if this is something you need!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 243533461534

Feedback (2)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Have a fun and memorable experience and learn how a local family lives in Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Help on my homestead in the desert near Mesa Verde National Park, USA