Help us with some DIY and outdoor projects and learn English or French in rural Normandy, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 27 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tina and James and we have taken early retirement to live in France and rent a large farmhouse out in the summer. We have two houses and 5 hectares of land that we need need help maintaining. We live here with our two friendly dogs in a small village in a beautiful Normandy valley.
    We are friendly and used to working with students as James was a language teacher for 30 years and Tina worked with international and Erasmus students in a small university in the UK. James speaks English, Spanish and some German and Italian. Tina speaks English and French.
    We love entertaining and cooking for people and we enjoy art, films, music, culture and travel.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be able to practice both English and French. You can also have one to one English and/or French tutorial from a qualified teacher. All our neighbours are French and very friendly if you want to practice with other people.
    You will gain practical skills such as gardening and vegetable growing, building maintenance and renovation.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for someone who is willing to help around our property in rural Normandy, France. We have 5 hectares of land so willingness to work outside at times is essential. This includes; pruning, cutting wood for fires, mowing grass and weeding. We have a range of garden machinery for you to use after training such as ride on mower, hedge trimmers, rotivator, etc.
    We also have many small DIY jobs inside such as sanding and painting furniture, moving furniture or equipment, painting window frames and small renovation work, nothing structural. Experience is useful but a willingness to learn is more important.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    James was a language teacher in secondary schools for 30 years teaching French, Spanish and German. More recently he gained a CELTA qualification to teach English as a foreign language to international students entering university at masters level.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a large two bedroom apartment with own salon/kitchen, double bedroom, shower room and bathroom. We provide all meals with us but understand you may want some personal time so having you own space gives you the option for privacy in your free time or to prepare your own meals. We love all types of cuisine and look forward to exchanging recipes and if you can cook it would be a bonus.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 6 km from the nearest town, Gavray but we do have a bar and restaurant in the village but no shops. We have bikes for you to use and we will be happy to take you on regular days out to see the area if you do not have your own transport. There is no public transport from the village. We are 20 minutes by car from the nearest beach. We are surrounded by beautiful countryside for walking, running or cycling. The area is also full of history and places to visit such as Mont St Michel, the Normandy landing beaches. Nearby towns of Coutances, Villedieu and Granville have shops, cinemas, swimming pools and bars and restaurants. We go at least once a week on a shopping trip to Coutances.
    We retired early last year and moved from England to live in France. We have two friendly dogs and a cat. We have both worked in education and universities until our move to France. We run a large farmhouse gite in the summer months and

    If you have your own car we have plenty of parking.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large courtyard to park campervans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3-4 days a week




N° de référence hôte : 228563376798