mis à jour  

Rejoignez-nous et aidez-nous dans nos projets de construction et de rénovation, dans le Sud Ouest de la France

  • Enregistré comme favori 2449 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Please read our feedback to get an unbiased view of what to expect from staying with us and why so many workawayers extend their stay or come back for a second, third or fourth visit. A lot of our volunteers have come to think of us as their second home. You need to have a good level of English, be fit, strong and healthy and able to use logic, reason, common sense and the correct mental attitude. If you believe you have these qualities, then you will be in for a good time.

    We are converting a barn and are at the final stages where we need to do the plumbing, run electrics, put up plasterboard, lay tiles etc. Experience is a bonus but not essential but if you have plumbing skills, you'd be very welcome. This year we will be concentrating more on gardening and landscaping, general maintenance of our old manor house and general help in the house.

    Very important: Please read our profile in full and check our calendar before applying, as it saves disappointment and we don't have to decline your application. Everything you need to know is contained in our profile and sometimes repeated to ensure you don't miss any important parts. We have a large dog who can be boisterous but not aggressive.

    Sorry but we do not accept families, groups or people who want to bring pets and people with any health issues, including pet or food allergies. Nor can we cater for anyone with special dietary requirements including vegetarians, gluten, wheat or lactose intolerant, any other eating disorders, religious dietary restrictions (Pork/Beef) or picky eaters as we are catering for large groups. We are sorry but we do not make exceptions.

    This is an exchange. You need to come with the attitude that you are here to help us. We have a duty of care, so making sure our volunteers are happy and have a good time is our main concern. We have grown up children and grand children and we try to look after everyone who stays here in a way that we hope our own family would be treated if they were staying with hosts.

    If you cannot get out of bed in the morning, suffer from mood swings, struggle to socialize or have an aversion to hard, physical work, this is not the place for you.

    The tasks are hard but we laugh a lot. You will be joining a family environment and treated as a member of our family. Meal times are important as we all sit down together to eat and talk and find out about each other. Strong bonds are made in this way and many strong friendships have been made between us and between workawayers.

    You need to be strong and fit, have common sense, logic and reason, initiative, a sense of humour and come with a good work ethic and be prepared to help us on site and in the house.

    We are an Anglo Franco family (English is spoken most of the time). You will not get the opportunity to practice French much and you need a good grasp of English. We live in an isolated, large rambling house in the middle of the stunning Dordogne countryside in South West France for the past thirty years. Having your own transport will ensure you have a better time as we cannot guarantee taking you out every day to see the sites and visit villages.

    From April- October we normally have approximately 4/6 volunteers staying with us in male and female dormitories. Minimum stay 2 weeks but longer stays are preferred. Please state whether it is building, gardening or housework that you are interested in and when you wish to come.

    You'll have fun learning useful skills you will use throughout your life. Someone with construction experience would be fantastic.

    Please make sure you read our profile in full before applying. We will know if you have not taken the trouble to read our profile in full. We want you to apply because you feel we are best suited to the type of experience you are looking for and not sending a blanket one fits all request to dozens of hosts. We ask for a minimum of two weeks stays but we prefer longer stays. We can't accept dogs, families nor groups of travellers or anyone with special dietary/health needs which includes vegetarians.

    Our daughter and her French husband and their two young daughters and our eldest son and his two little boys live near by and are frequent visitors to the house for dinner and the occasional cup of tea. Workawayers are always included as part of the family at these events. This is usually the only time we speak French as a family.

    Our part of the Dordogne is spectacularly beautiful. Wild boar, deer and wildlife are abundant and Buzzards and Black Kite are to be seen circling on the air currents on a daily basis. There are rivers and lakes to swim in, as well as canoeing and two great swimming pools about 30 minutes away. Rock climbing, walking, horse riding at local stables, picnics and caves (about 2 hours away) to explore as well as historic towns to visit. There are local markets as well as historic town centres and buildings to interest everyone. There is little night life, so our fire pit is the central focus of evening entertainment.

    We have walnut, apple, pear, cherry, hazelnut and plum trees. We have about 10,000 sq. metres of land.

    During the summer months there are music concerts everywhere. There are also lots of village fetes and lots of local things to do. We live in the middle of the countryside, miles from anywhere with no public transport , but we do try to ensure you get the chance to visit some local attractions and do fun things locally in your non working time. Having your own car will ensure you get out more as we cannot ensure taking you out everyday.

    We have had several volunteers here at a time and have had some wonderful times together. The help can be hard but the atmosphere is terrific and most people have really loved being here. Many workawayers stay much longer than they originally planned.

    Please note: Not suitable for dogs or families with children. We provide three main meals per day (we are meat eaters )and plenty of it. No one leaves the table hungry. We do not provide wine or beer as a staple and we cannot cater for anyone with special dietary needs. Please do not apply if you are a vegetarian. We have cats and dogs and can't take people with any allergies as we live in a very rural area.

    IMPORTANT: Please quote: REFERENCE 123. When applying so that we know you have read our profile in full.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Julia and Paul are English but have lived in France for thirty years. Our children are married and or have French partners. They visit a lot so you can practice your French. You will also pick up a number of new skills that will prove useful throughout your life.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are currently looking for workawayers to help on a renovation projects and general maintenance on our house especially helping in the gardens. Experience an advantage but not always essential . People who are prepared to muck in and fit in with an easy going and friendly family and help with the vegetable garden or general chores when necessary. Our main house is a constant project, we also have an old ruined barn that we are turning into a house.

    People with their own transport would be particularly well suited as we are out in the country and we can not always promise to take you on exploration trips.

    5 hours per day, five day week or equivalent depending on team requirements, with some weekends required (included in the 5 days)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    2 dormitory bedrooms one for boys and one for girls sleeping 2 and 6 with shared bathroom facilities. These are basic, clean and comfortable

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    At home we also need help around the house and in our vegetable garden , general gardening and fruit picking in season. We prefer volunteers to offer help rather than having to be asked. We have walnut, apple, pear, cherry, hazelnut and plum trees. We have about 10,000 sq. metres of land. You will need work clothes and protective shoes and proper work gloves and do remember a hat or cap for the sun. Please ensure you have your health insurance up to date and tetanus jabs up to date. As mentioned we cannot accommodate special dietary requirements ( vegetarians , vegan, gluten intolerant etc, please do not apply ) no allergies. No other health issues either sorry. Whilst we like to accommodate many nationalities we ask for a good level of understanding of spoken English and or French. You will be using tools regularly so you must be able to understand instructions , your safety is important to us.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a recent fibre connection

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day, five days week or equivalent depending on requirements. with some weekends required (included in the 5 days) thank you

N° de référence hôte : 618152215451

Feedback (163)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)