Help us in the garden in Waihi, New Zealand

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to New Zealand. I hope it is not too cold for you. We should be able to take workaway guests from about10th of June this year, when it is off season for our B&B.

    We are a retired couple and we live 1km outside of Waihi town on a 1.2 hectare (4 acre) property with a stream running through it and a pretty waterfall. We have spent around 15 years (in the weekends) developing a small native forest, ponds and wetlands, orchards, flower gardens and extensive organic vegetable gardens on our land. We live in a newly built 3 bedroom house and we have a barn which is our B&B that we welcome workaway guests to stay in on the off season. We love to cook and we are comfortable with all cultures. We speak English, of course, and Japanese fluently and little bits of other languages. Much of the food we eat comes directly from our land and our hens provide us with eggs all year. The garden is a beautiful place to work and play in and there are many wonderful beaches, walks, and cycle tracks very close by. The Waihi Gold Mine pit-rim walk is also very close to our place.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We work in the garden and eat together with our guests so they can benefit from lots of English practice and fun learning all the 'garden language' we use every day. We can teach Japanese language and Japanese written script (kanji), ikebana (Japanese flower arranging) , cooking, seed-raising and general gardening skills, care of hens etc.
    The area we live in has strong gold-mining history which is very interesting, and in fact the stream that runs through our property was the first place gold was found in Waihi.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Welcome 2024 Workawayers. This year we are mainly looking for someone who can make fences, put a gate in, dismantle existing fences etc and possibly would be able to use recycled wood to construct garden beds. We know this is very skilled work so would be a great bonus, but, don't worry, we also have many general gardening projects for those without specialist skills, including creating a beautiful picnic area beside our waterfall.
    Working couples are preferred as the accommodation is very spacious.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Japonais: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are language teachers and are interested in the study of linguistics. We enjoy interacting with non-native English speakers

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have an accommodation which sleeps 4 people. We will cook for our guests and we can cater for vegetarians. We are also happy to share cooking if our guest would prefer.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have extensive knowledge of our local area and it has beaches, mountains, gorges, gold mining history, antique and collectables shops, lots of cafes and restaurants and there are two reasonably large cities just over 1 hour away by car. We like hiking and can take you on some of the lovely walks in the area.
    There is not much public transport in our small town but buses do go to and from the main cities like Auckland and Tauranga. We have an electric bicycle which we can make available for our guests.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have unlimited wifi in both our B & B and our house and have basic computer repair skills.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space for a large motorhome to park for an extended length of time. We are happy to share facilities and to cook for anyone using a motorhome

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 222392852748

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help with gardening and DIY in Remuera Auckland, New Zealand
Aide dans une "ferme d'aventure" en Nouvelle-Zélande