Outdoor help welcome in our family home in a peaceful valley in rural Moutere, New Zealand

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a well-travelled couple, living on a vineyard in a peaceful rural location. Our two adult children are away at university. We enjoy the company of our visitors and like to share healthy food. We're close to 3 national parks - Abel Tasman (coastal), Kahurangi (mountains) and Nelson Lakes (mountains & lakes), as well as bike trails and great walks.
    We have a large garden with several ponds and have a strong focus on conservation. We are planting and regenerating native bush, as well as an arboretum, vegetable garden and orchard.
    We own a small vineyard, but the volunteer work you will be doing will be on our private property, not vineyard work. However, we're really happy to talk to you about the vineyard and show you how everything works, if you're interested.
    Our peaceful valley is isolated, with no public transport. The Tasman District is great for beach and river swims, walks, bush, bike rides, fish and chips on the waterfront, but all are a drive away, usually 10-30 min, so your own transport is essential - please do not apply to stay here if you do not have a car or van.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We always spend time talking to our volunteers and encourage them to walk around the local area and explore the wider region. We offer lots of local information and also love chatting about all the interesting places we have lived in over the years in Europe, Asia and the Middle East.
    We are happy for you to go out in the evenings, although you'll need your own transport!
    We enjoy international cuisine and would love to exchange recipes from your countries too.
    We have kayaks which you can use on our fun pond, but not on the large pond, which is a bird sanctuary.

  • Aide

    Aide

    4-5 hours a day, usually in the mornings, but we're flexible!
    Enjoyment of the outdoors, handy with basic tools and common sense is all that's needed
.
    The tasks we need help with vary depending on season, but include landcare, planting trees & shrubs, mulching, vegetable gardening, mowing, weeding, cutting gorse, firewood stacking, building and maintenance.
    Some of the work is physically demanding, requiring a good level of fitness, as well as strong shoes or boots and suitable work clothes.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My French is very rusty, so I'd benefit from a little practice!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will stay in a separate, very comfortable sleep-out with bedroom, living room and bathroom/toilet next to our house.
    Free wifi.
    The bed is kingsized, so we host couples or single volunteers. 2 friends could either share the kingsized bed or we could put a single mattress into the sleepout's living room.
    Meals will be provided, but we'd also love to try some food from your country too.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located in a peaceful valley in the centre of a rural area, close to 3 national parks. The village of Upper Moutere is 5 kms away (pub, cafe, shop, galleries, fitness centre) and the nearest town is Motueka, about 15 kms away. Nelson is 35km away. Both Nelson and Motueka are vibrant arty towns, with nice markets and cafes. There are walking and cycling tracks, beaches and rivers nearby - all 10-30 mins drive.
    You have to like a peaceful and tranquil environment while you are staying with us, as we are quite isolated.
    You need your own transport, as we are in a very isolated rural area, which is not on a bus route.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The living space for volunteers includes a large living area with good wifi connection, so plenty of space for working on your own projects.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space to park onsite, but no connections, so you'll be much more comfortable in the spacious sleepout we provide for volunteers.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 326137162486

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








A dog, a kid, parks, beaches and vegan food on Auckland's, Hibiscus Coast NZ
Join us and visit our amazing tree house home on a small farm in Cheviot, North Canterbury, New Zealand