Help transform our farmhouse in the orange groves by a beautiful beach, just a walk from town at Oliva, Valencia

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 375 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.01.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    358

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Latest Update: we now have the house filled with a nice group of people, but workerawayers can camp for free in the gardens of the house without actually working in return..just let us know if you would like to visit

    Rare opportunity to stay in a lovely and peaceful location a short walk or bike ride from town and beach. Help us to transform the 4/5 bedroom farm house and the extensive land/gardens, creating a Workaway project in the house and a free motorhome/camper van/ camping facility in the grounds where visitors, like workawayers, will do some jobs in return for staying. The house is already partly restored by star workawayers Maria and Toff who come each year to design and establish very special gardens and pools and eco projects.

    Oliva is a small and unspoiled Valencian town famed for its blue domed churches and convents, its busy markets and many famous festivals and fiestas. It has been saved from over development by the protected Orange groves near the beach...where our house is quietly nestled! Up the road is Gandia famous for its beach disco scene...and down the road is upmarket Denia, where you can take the Ferry to Ibiza, Palma and other islands.

    There are neighbours 60 meters away from the house and the orange groves are in a quiet place on the edge of a seaside urbanisation, but mature trees screen the house so that all you see is the mountains beyond Oliva....so it could feel lonely at night if you are not used to country living....likewise we will be looking for at least one person who is familiar with running off grid country houses.......however we will make sure that other people are around and that professionals will attend in emergencies.

    Stay in your own room or share with friends or workawers or have a pitch in the grounds for your Motorhome or tent. The house can hold upto 6 or 7 people and the camping area a similar number and upto 3 big motorhomes/vans .Over the next months we are finishing improvements inside and outside the house. Inside is still being decorated however the kitchen, bathroom and some bedrooms are finished to a useable and comfortable level. Solar power and generators power the house . Some interesting workawayers visit the house and also in future (only like minded) motorhomers and campers will be invited for visits and stop overs, to add to the social atmosphere.

    Monthly update: nightingales are singing their beautiful tunes all night in the grounds, glow bugs are flying and glow worms are glowing like fallen stars in the gardens at night ...hoopoes are regular visitors and everything in the garden is growing in front of our eyes!! :/ On our land there is an almond, a couple of walnut and also pecan nut tree, there are two pomegranate trees. There are some orange trees and apricot trees. There is a huge amount of bamboo canes of the type that can be used for construction or musical instruments. However, more canes need to be cut to create space for camping.

    Wifi is good via roving account and spanish phone deals or alternativley the local bar (10 mins by bike) wifi etc skype and SMS is often used.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are early retired, mature and responsible and we have a lot of experience in managing voluntary projects and looking after volunteers. We may not always be present at the project, but friends will be around to oversee projects and cover expenses. There have been amazing Workawayers at the house so far..likewise Motorhome travellers...many have bags of wisdom which boils down to "don't worry, be happy!e njoy life" We attract people from many parts of the world as does Olvia with its beautiful markets and amazing festivals. There is never a dull moment ;)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Gardening and Landscaping:
    *️️️️️There are a massive amount of canes that still need to be cut and stored.
    *️️️️clearing overgrown garden sections with handtools and barrowing weeds and rubble.
    *️️️erecting and maintaining 2 meter fences

    DIY:
    *️️️️️ interior and exterior plastering/rendering and painting
    *️️️️️off grid solar and pumping , plumbing and electrical skills
    *️️️️ general building/DiY/ off grid savvy e.g unblocking drains, using the generator, power tools.

    Well supervised children and pets are welcome. We are also interested in land/ house sitters with their own motorhome or people used to off grid country living to stay in the house

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation in the house will be in shared or private bedroom although camping and camper vans are also allowed to stay for free in the gardens.

    For motorhomes there is a standpipe tap, toilet emptying facilities and pleasant pitches to set up on. Guests often opt to share shopping and some meals etc...It may be also possible to use the house facilities depending on who is at staying in the house at the time.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are the usual sea sports available nearby and a wealth of culture to see and participate in. There is a discerning community of ex pats who have organised a wealth of free English Speaking courses and activities in Oliva and nearby in Denia and Gandia. There are currently 2 bikes available for use by workawayers to go to the beach and town. There is a local dog who visits when he feels like and stays as long as he likes, he is big and fierce looking but is a big soft bear!

    There are plenty of supermarkets: Mercadona, Aldi, Consum...etc...and very a large street market on Fridays

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Flexible hours equivalent to 25 a week








N° de référence hôte : 214468315437