mis à jour  

Land stewardship and wild cooking for intentional community in Sooke BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 1575 fois
  • Activité récente: 03.02.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Greetings! I am a holistic chef that has an irresistible call for the wild.

    I live with my family in an intentional community near the ocean and wild rainforests of Vancouver Island. Currently made up of three full-time families, our community stewards 8 acres of land with the intention of living in harmony with nature and one another.

    Besides workaways staying with us on our land, friends and local community members often come together here to learn, grow, and build amazing things!

    We are keen to make use of peoples strengths, and have a wide range of tasks to be done that support the stewardship of our land as well as our way of life. Our value is to live as sustainably and connected to nature as possible.

    You will help by participating in the regular foraging, processing, and preparing of wild foods for us all to enjoy. Garden and land maintenance, livestock/animal care, small building tasks and hands-on skill building work could be on the menu, given the day and season you are here.

    In exchange you will learn nature and culinary skills (including wild food identification, foraging and processing), sacred practices and knowledge for living an empowered and resilient life in alignment with community and mother nature. We all support one another on this land - the cultivation of healthy, conscious, and resilient community is our top priority.
    I am passionate about showing people the way of the land and how to live in harmony with nature. This often includes taking people on culinary adventures, cooking on fire and learning primitive cooking and survival techniques.

    Location:
    The beach is 10min walk from our land and wildness is on the doorstep. Sooke on the edge of the gnarly rain forests of Juan De Fuca, home of some of the worlds best hiking trails. Kayaking, surfing, swimming, biking, yoga are some of our favorite activities that will be open to you, depending on the season.
    Victoria is a 45 minute drive away and there are abundant amenities close by.

    Accommodation & food:
    We are an easy going family who love good food! I am a professional chef and almost exclusively gather from local organic farms and forage wild edibles, regularly creating my own ferments, preserves, etc.. As I will be providing all of your meals during your stay, you will be eating some of the most wild and nutritious food available.
    Accommodation is a well equipped and cozy pop-up trailer next to our family home. It will be outfitted with everything you need and can comfortably sleep up to 4, although is an ideal space for a couple.
    In the summer months there is also the option of camping in a tent (provided).
    We also have capacity to host mobile dwellings such as tiny homes, buses or camper vans. There is ample parking space, we compost human waste, and manage the dumping of grey water systems.

    You will be set-up to be self-sufficient for your stay, with meals provided in your space and interacting on a regular basis with myself or my partner Kaitlyn regarding tasks/daily chores to help with. We will make sure you have regular days off where you are free to enjoy the land or explore what the area has to offer!

    If you're looking for a healthy, safe, community oriented place to stay then you've found the right place.


    Please send me a line if our way of life calls to you!

    Thank you for your interest in helping us nourish others and the earth!

    Chef Tom & family :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My mission is to:
    -Connect people with their food again, through nature, to eat from their land.
    -Offer an example of sustainable living close to nature, and to give a taste of how we used to gather, preserve, cook and dine before modern times.
    -Inspire others in the kitchen, so they go home with a new vision of how to organize their pantry and lifestyle so they can live a better life and heal the world.

    I have over 25 years of professional cooking experience and a decade of land stewardship experience. Interested in learning something specific? From fermenting, bread making, elixirs, detoxing, wildfoods, gluten free, etc.. whatever you want learn I'm happy to share knowledge, just pick my brain. My superpower is culinary arts & living in connection with nature: healing the world, one bite at a time.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Here's a few ideas of help, although every day will be different:

    - building cob structures & animal spaces, fences
    -Painting/general house and land maintenance
    - maintaining our sacred tipi space
    - landscaping, keeping trails open
    - harvesting and chopping wood, starting and supervising fire
    - garden weeding, harvesting, sowing seeds
    - gathering and processing wild foods
    - preserving food, like making yummy ferments
    - helping me cook
    - Please let us know if you have a gift to share, very open and appreciative of different skill-sets!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Independent living in a well-equipped and cozy pop-up trailer next to our family home.

    It will be outfitted with everything you need and can comfortably sleep up to 4, although is an ideal space for a couple.

    In the summer months there is also the option of camping in a tent (provided).

    We also have capacity to host mobile dwellings such as tiny homes, buses or camper vans. There is ample parking space, we compost human waste, and manage the dumping of grey water systems.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Fine Print:

    -We like to have a video interview before we commit to one another to make sure both parties are feeling good about the stay.

    -If you are applying you will need to stay committed to agreed upon dates, if you are not sure if you can commit 100% then please do not apply.

    -Regarding dietary preferences, we unfortunately cannot not host vegans. Due to the nature of what I do, and because we eat what nature provides, this doesn't work for both of us. We’re open to accommodating vegetarians and have hosted many. Please don't take this personally! I do support local-whole-food plant based diets and applaud all who follow their heart in caring for their body/mind/soul however they are called.

    -Because we are a family-oriented community with children, all those who stay on our land must be open to providing a criminal record check (or equivalent fitness for working with children documentation) from your country or province of origin (note that although children will be present and interaction inevitable, direct childcare will *not* be part of your work responsibilities during your stay).

    -Re: smoking, I do occasionally smoke medicinal marijuana blended with other sacred herbs. We do not welcome cigarettes, but have designated smoking areas on the land for organic and/or homegrown, self rolled herbs/tobacco.

    -We have many secret and beautiful nature haunts for you to discover. Our homeland is attractive to many seeking a wilder/more natural way of life. We have many things to share and teach and are looking forward to sharing our corner of the world with you!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Wifi is available. We are open to hearing what your needs are in this regard, although we are primarily looking for help that can be present and available for in-person work and connection on a daily basis.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You will be able to park near the home, access to wifi included

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

N° de référence hôte : 187818291988

Feedback (45)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

















































Come discover wheelchair sports in Montréal, Canada
Découvrez Toronto et aidez-moi à la maison, Canada