Help us improve our quiet homestead in Minneota, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 22 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.06.2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live on a 19.5 acre homestead. We don't sell anything to the public it is a hobby farm. We raise a couple of cows, pasture pigs, chickens and have a few rabbits, dogs and cats. It give us satisfaction raising food from birth to the table. We want to give our animals the best life then they give us the best nutrition. We are working on fixing up our farm and cleaning it up it was neglected for years before we bought it. Would like to eventually become self sustaining as in not having to be reliant on the grocery store and off grid but that is years away yet.

    We try and grow everything organic in the garden and fruit trees. Looking at doing fodder to feed the animals, the pigs and cows are on pasture with some supplements of feed. Have 2 large gardens and looking to expand them. Would welcome any general help with maintenance, gardening, food preservation. We are starting the process to convert a grainery to a small cabin for when friends visit and workawayers and would also like to build a green house. I enjoy home cooking from scratch, gardening, watching the wildlife, we butcher all our animals ourselves. We are looking for 1 or 2 people at a time, who would like to help here with daily life on a hobby farm and enjoy peaceful country life. We both have off the farm jobs and have fallen behind the with all the projects. Could really use some help with construction in the grainery.

    Work on a hobby farm or really any farm is pretty much non stop with no two days ever being the same. Please don't come if you just want to be a couch potato. We are really looking for people to be family with us, talk at meals, we would like to learn as much from you as we can teach.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can teach animal care, natural and organic gardening, butchering, home cooking, skill building for diy projects and maintenance. We get creative building things such as chicken tractors, we plan on turning a grain bin into a gazebo hopefully this summer. We are converting a grainery to a guest house. If you have talents I would love to learn and exchange our abilities. We really like people that can blend into our family. Talk and visit at meals, learn about each other.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Would welcome help with general maintenance, gardening, animal care, cleaning the farm up, cutting wood, planting new trees, construction on the inside of the grainery, day to day hobby farm life, basically if you are handy, pay attention to details and willing to learn we are willing to teach. Would like self motivated and hard working. Some jobs are not fun but need to be done example cleaning the chicken coop but the chickens sure appreciate it. If you have skills in building a greenhouse we would love to have you show us your skills. It is a project we have not done. If you have questions please ask.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Would like to learn Spanish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have an extra bedroom full size bed, bathroom, Washer and dryer in the basement or cloths line if you choose. Welcome to the food we have and will provide a made meal for supper and dinner on days I do not work. Have most things on hand to make things from scratch. Plenty of eggs, meat, produce and veggies. Absolutely no smoking in the house. Can smoke outside if you choose. We do prefer a nice quiet lifestyle with the peace of nature around. Note the roosters do crow in the morning. We have kayaks for loan, hiking the property, hammock in the woods to relax. We do have a camper that is available to stay in during summer months.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You are welcome to hike the property anytime, their are lots of hills, trees and a creek. A lot of wildlife to be seen, Their is a state park about 15 miles away. Closest town is 5 miles away. We have many small lakes around for fishing and swimming. We have kayaks that can be used, Bikes to ride.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have high speed internet.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of room to park most size vehicles.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or less



N° de référence hôte : 185611979198