Come and help on our farm in Torres Novas, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 237 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.01.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm: is an organic farm, lying in the centre of Portugal. It is a property of 16 acres, made up principally of fig and olive trees plus some fruit trees (oranges, pears, lemons, almonds, etc.). We also have a greenhouse and a vegetable garden which produce various vegetables for the house.
    The surrounding countryside is lovely for those who enjoy walking and we have a swimming pool, where you can cool off in the summer months.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    During our 30+ years of hosting, we have had some 300 helpers pass through our doors, adventurous souls from a huge variety of backgrounds and countries, some for a couple of weeks, more for longer, even up to 9 months! Some enjoy the glimpse of life in the country which we offer, observing how we as Brits cope with living in a foreign country, others have a thing or two to teach us. And there is usually a taste of (classical) music in the background, whether from routine piano lessons or choir rehearsals (Covid permitting).
    .

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help on our organic farm is very varied, changing throughout the year according to the season.

    The times of the year when help is very important are during the months of July and August, in the fig season,which involves clearing the space around the trees and afterwards, picking the figs. Another important time of year is during the months of October and November, the olive season.
    During the the year, help is also very important caring for the land, such as tree-pruning, and also looking after the greenhouse and vegetable garden. After more than 30 years of hosting, our ageing bodies greatly appreciate the extra help!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own small house, separate from the family home, so that helpers can have a place to relax and enjoy their free time in privacy. Main meals, however, are served in our house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You can stay from two weeks to six months or more, though preference is given to volunteers who intend a longer stay, to give more continuity to the work done and to encourage a closer working relationship.
    Plenty of places of historic and scenic interest in the Ribatejo region, , eg Tomar, Fátima, but there is little public transport.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    the internet signal is not very robust

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours a week



N° de référence hôte : 17485138434a